We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we received 5 star service, The receptionist Ivan is kind and attentive to every need. Luca is just as wonderful. They gave us maps, spoke about the highlights and were very warm and friendly. The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. There is a small fridge with drinks which was handy. Breakfast was delicious...with savory and sweet. Our eggs were cooked to our liking...nothing was too much. My husband and I have traveled around the world and this hotel stands right up with our top 3 favorites in the world. If you are traveling to Iblea...look no further. HIGHLY RECOMMEND you stay here. Parking on the street was fast and easy. Thank you all for a great stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Gina4487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

A boutique hotel with a wonderful location, super-helpful staff, and user friendly modern design in an old setting. All of Ibla is within easy walking distance of the front door (which is at the top of the hotel) and we found Ibla has more interesting sites and features than Ragusa. Also plenty of good local restaurants.
Everything in Ibla and Ragusa is on slopes, so a BIG ASSET is the lift up the five floors of cliff from the main road/car park level (where you arrive) to the reception and bedroom levels at the top. We always left the car in the free (and evidently safe) car park at lower level.
Very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st_giorgio_palace_rg, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Giorgio Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Mr. Richard, thank you very much for posting a review so full of beautiful words for our hotel and our staff. We were pleased to meet you, welcome you and recommend you the best baroque beauty of Sicily. We hope to have you again as guests.
Thank you.
Ersilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the San Georgio with our 4 year old daughter. Had a great time & would thoroughly recommend as a hotel to see Ragusa. Nice to be in the old town. Staff very helpful & booked meals on request. There isn't a garage. Parking is on the road beside the lift. We had no problem & our 4 year old loved the lift and tunnel. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely balcony & great small adjoining room for children (with their own bathroom!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st_giorgio_palace_rg, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Giorgio Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Mrs. Margaret, thanks a lot for posting a review. I really appreciate that you spent your precious time to share your experience with others.
The spectacular natural tunnel is 33 meters long, the coolness and the echo make the journey full of amazement.
I hope to welcome you, your husband and your little Mella Janie again as welcome guests. Ersilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

From our surprise entrance via a tunnel walkway and elevator to a very friendly receptionist our stay was wonderful and stylish. My wife was delighted to be in a Coeliac friendly Hotel. Staff are very considerate and helpful. Our stay was so good at the start of our holiday that we changed our plans to return for our last night. A welcoming bottle of Prosecco was a lovely touch. Highly recommend this Boutique Hotel and is well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st_giorgio_palace_rg, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Giorgio Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks a lot for posting a review. We really appreciate that you spent your precious time to share your experience with others.
We can not wait to welcome you again as welcome guests.
Thank you, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very enjoyable stay here at this excellent "boutique" hotel in a brilliant location. Easy to park on the main road and take the short walk into the hotel grounds and along the "hotel tunnel" to the lifts and then to the hotel reception on the fourth floor (?). Once in the hotel you can leave by the reception and you are in the centre (virtually) of old Ragusa Ibla. Extremely helpful staff and a very nice dinning area with fantastic views over the valley for breakfasts. Superb and individually prepared and served breakfasts. Would definitely stay here again. Double beds only, btw; no twin beds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almostgettingthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We took the advice of other writers and booked a junior suite. It was one of the largest rooms we have ever stayed in with two bathrooms; a massive en-suite shower room and a bathroom with jaccuzi bath. We also had a small lounge.

All the rooms were fitted to a high standard with superb bathroom fittings. Hotel appeared to have recently been totally updated. Smashing!

All the staff were very helpful particularly, Luca, who gave us advice on the best places to visit, local food and wine specialities and the local attractions.

The room has incredible views of a beautiful valley. If you are a fan of the Inspector Montalbano series Ragusa has the church and one of the poiice stations used for the show.

Parking at St Giorgio is free (not the case with a couple of other hotels, where we have been gouged Euros 25.00 per night). And easy to find on the Via Avvocato Giovanni Ottanaviano.

All the sites, bars and ice cream shops are a short walk from the hotel, so forget the car for awhile. Other Montalbano locations are a lovely days drive around the Ragusa district. Please don't miss Scicli (lovely) Punta Secca (The Inspector's house, amazing and Lighthouse from opening credits is just around the corner) and Donnalucata (not a lot here, but simply a beautiful seaside spot, like being on location. We loved it).

Make sure you ask for a room with a view when booking. Recommended. And we really enjoyed the breakfasts. Great place - one of the best we stayed in!

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must - skip the junior suite if budget is tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreelancerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I prepared myself with photos from Google Maps so we easily found the parking spots on the ring road, pulled our wheelie bags up a short slope, and entered through the glass gates into a small but stunning courtyard and entry way. What an introduction to a great stay.
We were happy with our rooms which had firm yet comfortable beds, very nice modern bathrooms and a lovely breakfast room.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is lovely. You step outside the front door into town and you are near the center of Ragusa Ibla (old town). We loved Ragusa. The front desk gave us very good recommendations for restaurants which we walked to. We walked everywhere. We stayed two nights. This was one of the top two hotels in our trip.
We enjoyed the simple continental breakfast and the coffees made to order.
Can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
558 reviews
7.5 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
4.1 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
70.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio Palace Hotel

Address: Via Avvocato Giovanni Ottaviano, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Giorgio Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Giorgio Palace Hotel, the only prestigious 4 star hotel in Ragusa, located in a building dating from the eighteenth century, has frequently hosted important personalities of the time among them the presence of Don Luigi Sturzo. Located in the heart of Ragusa, a few steps from the beautiful Piazza Duomo, stands the majestic Cathedral of St. George one of the highest in the world of sacred baroque, enjoys the best location for those who want to go walking in the center of the city and visit palaces, museums and monuments. The dining room, with a breathtaking view of the valley of Santa Domenica, was built in a former convent of the Franciscan where stand the majestic stone vaults of Ragusa. The atmosphere is that of a charming residence, style marked and familiar atmosphere, all coordinated by a staff attentive, friendly and always helpful. Returned to its original beauty thanks to a painstaking restoration completed in 2010, the San Giorgio Palace Hotel offers rooms and suites of the most luxurious in the city and is a fine example of modern reception for the most demanding tourist. Opening the door of the hotel have the feeling of a dip in the past, cleverly fused with the comfort and technology. Worth noting is the old garden and the spectacular and unique natural tunnel entrance, 42 meters long, which, with its incredible freshness and eco make the path to the elevator full of wonder. Our goal is to make you feel at home, ensuring the efficiency of a 4-star superior service and the uniqueness of your travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Giorgio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Palace Hotel Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing