We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in a very beautiful town. I was impressed from the moment I arrived. Parking wasn't a problem and the staff were very friendly and helpful... Plus, to top it all, I was upgraded to the royal suite. The views from the private terrace were lovely. The hotel is very close to town's square... Though do get clear directions to which set of stairs lead to the square from the hotel! This hotel is definitely on my list when I return to Sicily and Ragusa Ibla.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 148Traveller202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    64
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
108
259
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place has been quite recently renovated. It's a very old building which sits at the top of the cliff in the old town. Access is nigh on impossible by car. You need to park at the bottom of the cliff and then gain access through an entrance at the bottom and then a lift. As soon as you enter the long cool tunnel at the bottom you know you're in for a treat. Once out of the lift you enter the small but modern and clean reception area. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. The rooms - of which I counted only seven - are spacious and also modern. Sleep quality is superb. Importantly, the air-con is very effective! From the outside of the hotel entrance it's a short 5-minute walk to the duomo. Highly recommended. And at only 99 euros a night, a real bargain for what you get!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megahose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We decided to book one night here at the last minute for my birthday because we were dining at Duomo. On arrival we were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was a lovely surprise. Two huge bathrooms with a spa and massive shower. It also had a lovely private terrace with a great view. The hotel is also in a great location. Staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-JK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonygofly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A real little gem in Ragusa Ibla. We have just stayed there for the past week and were well looked after. It only has 7 rooms and is quiet, clean and stylish. If you are after an hotel with all amenities this is not for you. It is a cross between an hotel and a posh B&B. there is a restaurant but you can only get a buffet breakfast. The staff are what makes the hotel work, as they could not have been more courteous and helpful. There is good wi-fi and the aircon is effective and quiet. we had a superior double with fantastic views across the valley. Parking is also an asset as the hotel has a lift through the cliff to a road below the city walls to easy and free car parking. This is a good location to enjoy the Ragusa area with the beach a 25 minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonygofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had an excellent time! Service was perfect, food delicious and generous, atmosphere was most delightful! We would return in a heartbeat! Everyone was very professional and kind and they attended to our every need. We received excellent directions and help navigating around the town, and were given details about local events and hours of operation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkhsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we received 5 star service, The receptionist Ivan is kind and attentive to every need. Luca is just as wonderful. They gave us maps, spoke about the highlights and were very warm and friendly. The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. There is a small fridge with drinks which was handy. Breakfast was delicious...with savory and sweet. Our eggs were cooked to our liking...nothing was too much. My husband and I have traveled around the world and this hotel stands right up with our top 3 favorites in the world. If you are traveling to Iblea...look no further. HIGHLY RECOMMEND you stay here. Parking on the street was fast and easy. Thank you all for a great stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Gina4487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A boutique hotel with a wonderful location, super-helpful staff, and user friendly modern design in an old setting. All of Ibla is within easy walking distance of the front door (which is at the top of the hotel) and we found Ibla has more interesting sites and features than Ragusa. Also plenty of good local restaurants.
Everything in Ibla and Ragusa is on slopes, so a BIG ASSET is the lift up the five floors of cliff from the main road/car park level (where you arrive) to the reception and bedroom levels at the top. We always left the car in the free (and evidently safe) car park at lower level.
Very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st_giorgio_palace_rg, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Giorgio Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mr. Richard, thank you very much for posting a review so full of beautiful words for our hotel and our staff. We were pleased to meet you, welcome you and recommend you the best baroque beauty of Sicily. We hope to have you again as guests.
Thank you.
Ersilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 39 in Ragusa
528 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,946 reviews
7.1 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
447 reviews
7.5 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#6 of 39 in Ragusa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio Palace Hotel

Property: San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Address: Via Avvocato Giovanni Ottaviano, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Giorgio Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Giorgio Palace Hotel, the only prestigious 4 star hotel in Ragusa, located in a building dating from the eighteenth century, has frequently hosted important personalities of the time among them the presence of Don Luigi Sturzo. Located in the heart of Ragusa, a few steps from the beautiful Piazza Duomo, stands the majestic Cathedral of St. George one of the highest in the world of sacred baroque, enjoys the best location for those who want to go walking in the center of the city and visit palaces, museums and monuments. The dining room, with a breathtaking view of the valley of Santa Domenica, was built in a former convent of the Franciscan where stand the majestic stone vaults of Ragusa. The atmosphere is that of a charming residence, style marked and familiar atmosphere, all coordinated by a staff attentive, friendly and always helpful. Returned to its original beauty thanks to a painstaking restoration completed in 2010, the San Giorgio Palace Hotel offers rooms and suites of the most luxurious in the city and is a fine example of modern reception for the most demanding tourist. Opening the door of the hotel have the feeling of a dip in the past, cleverly fused with the comfort and technology. Worth noting is the old garden and the spectacular and unique natural tunnel entrance, 42 meters long, which, with its incredible freshness and eco make the path to the elevator full of wonder. Our goal is to make you feel at home, ensuring the efficiency of a 4-star superior service and the uniqueness of your travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Giorgio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Palace Hotel Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing