We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis!”
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at Artemisia for two weeks at the beginning of June. Our plan was to base ourselves in what promised to be an interesting area of Sicily, and to enjoy the benefits of culture, sea, sand, countryside and peace. All our expectations were met- and more. Artemisia was comfortable, calm and so welcoming, and the staff were totally professional and utterly pleasant and warm.
Breakfast was excellent- yes, we got very used to eating a range of delicious home-baked cakes and tarts for breakfast, with freshly made coffees, in addition to fruit, eggs, bacon etc, with a variety of breads and croissants. There was also a constant supply of home-made jams, local honeys, and local delicacies to enjoy. We rarely needed lunch! Freshly made coffee was always available on request.
We especially enjoyed exploring Ragusa Ibla, and returned on several evenings to eat at trattoria which were recommended by the well informed staff. Eating out every night can become a chore, however, and we decided to try the barbeque at Artemisia, which was most enjoyable. The staff prepared the charcoal etc, and provided condiments, oil and vinegar etc, so all we had to do was buy our food in the local supermarket- and this turned out to be a treat. Do have a go if you stay here. The food was delicious, and the prepared table under a spreading carob tree just perfect to relax and drink the local wine after the sun set.
The pool area is one of the best we have ever experienced, and was meticulously maintained. The setting is tranquil, surrounded by rose gardens and peace.
We slept well in our spacious, airy room, waking to the sound of birds and cattle- utter peace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rathfarnham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear rathfarnham16,
We would like to thank you for leaving such a positive review. We feel lucky that we welcomed you as our guests and we are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We want our guests to relax and enjoy their holiday, so we are very glad you had a nice time here at Artemisia.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

From the moment we arrived unti the moment we left 8 days later, the thing that really stands out about the Artemisia is how great the people who work there are. They are unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful. In particular, for us, Valentina deserves a special mention. She made a number of dinner suggestions and reservations for us, all of which were very good. She also helped with printing boarding cards and arranged for us to have an early breakfast on our last day for which we are very grateful.

We had 'the residence' which is a detached cottage of stone, slightly apart from the main building. It has a double bed on a mezzanine level, and on the ground floor a spacious living room, with sofa bed, dining table and chairs and a kitchenette. There is also a very nice shower room. On arrival there were little gifts of wine and some pasta and pesto in case we didn't feel like eating out on our first night. Everything was spotless, our towels and sheets were changed every day too.

Breakfast is a very good spread of breads, croissants, many different cakes, cheeses, ham, salami, fresh fruit etc. There was also freshly squeezed orange juice on request, in addition to the usual carton variety.

The pool area is well appointed and kept very clean. A great place to relax. For the more energetic there are exercise bikes, 'normal' bikes and even an underwater bike and treadmill. In fact there is also a four seater carriage style bike that kept some of the noisier English children occupied and away from the pool area (a blessed relief).

The hotel is well located to tour the South East of Sicily, including the many Montalbano locations and you can even get a guide from the hotel on where some of the more famous scenes were shot. You would need a car to travel out to eat in the evening and it's worth noting the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.

Finally it's a really quiet spot with no road noise. We would certain return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Arthmonster,
thank you so much for your fantastic review!
It's a huge pleasure and honour for us to receive such nice comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Lots of greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Eveything looked new and well kept. The rooms are spacious and confortable, the bathroom is good and the service was excellent - the people were very friendly and did not hesitate to give us various tips on the region. For us, it was perfect because we would do day trips to the nearby cities.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Gabigu,
your review is very important to us and to potential guests, so thank you so much.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Delightful place.
Easy to find, easy to park. Service was very friendly and with a smile.
The room was very spacious and modern, extremely well equipped with bed, sofa and table, and very clean. Equipment included hair dryer, safe deposit box and a kettle (and tea)!
Buffet style breakfast was very good indeed in both quality and variety including a gluten free option in addition to the usual pastries. There was a swimming pool, free table football, free table tennis, free cycle hire. Even so, the resort was quiet and not crowded.
We felt more comfortable here than anywhere else we stayed in Sicily and wished we had stayed longer.
Downside? It's 2 kilometers to the nearest restaurant/pizzeria.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Peter M59,

we would like to thank you for your delightful and detailed review.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Artemisia Resort.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I gave everything 5/5 except 4/5 for location, but if you've got a car, everything is easily accessible. The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated, with a kettle and a selection of teas. Comfortable, the people are lovely and welcoming, and the breakfast is fantastic, really really good. There's also a swimming pool, which lights up and changes colour at night. It was too cold to use it when we were there, unfortunately, but it'd be wonderful on a hot day. We only stayed one night, but I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadameGateaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear MadameGateaux,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Artemisia Resort.
We’re pleased you appreciated our rooms and our amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that you can finally take advantage of our pool with Jacuzzi!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast property, a few kilometres outside Ragusa, but we found it very easily, it's well signed from the main roads.
We were welcomed warmly by the smart ladies who seemed to be running the place and shown to the most enormous room we've ever had, more of a mini-house! We had a single bed, table and chairs, a kitchen area and a bathroom with a huge shower downstairs, and a massive double bed and a TV upstairs on a mezzanine. The pillows were the most comfortable I've slept on for a long time, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets were of a very good quality.
There is a big pool with plenty of sunloungers and more shaded places to sit, a few facilities for children and some exercise bikes. Even though it was only mid April, it would have been rude not to use the pool!
Even though there isn't a restaurant on the site, we were given directions to a pizzeria.
The breakfast was delightful, a mixture of Sicilian sweet things, many home made, and meats, cheeses and eggs.
Our only regret was that we were only there for 1 night, it's somewhere which could tempt us back to Sicily in the warmer months.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear Yorkshire Brigadier,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Artemisia Resort and that the room, the breakfast and the pool were to your liking. We would love to share your review on Google +.
We look forward to your next and hopefully longer stay with us.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

If you have a car, you must stay at this outstanding hotel. Location is a bit outside of Ragusa, but the place is amazing. Rooms are beautifully appointed, even 8 jet spray shower. We wanted a light mean for dinner, and they served an enormous and delicious antipasto. The grounds and the pool are lovely. This hotel deserves five stars! The service was impeccable.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear hrk_9,
Thank you for your amazing review and for choosing to spend your holiday at Artemisia Resort. We are so happy to read that you had a really nice stay.
We would very much like to welcome you back.
Best Regards,
Federico Cappuzzello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
2.4 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
532 reviews
74.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,074 reviews
3.4 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Address: Via Enrico Caruso 13, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £51 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing