We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful little oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a wonderful little oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

we stayed at the Artemisia for 4 nights late July/ early August. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was very clean and well furnished and the breakfast had a superb range of pastries etc. The air-con (as in all the accommodation we stayed in) was ok but a bit underpowered. There is a barbecue area which the staff will prepare for you with advance notice so you just have to bring the food (and the wine of course!).
The pool is very clean and well maintained with plenty of comfy loungers. There is also an under water cycle and treadmill to help work of the calories from breakfast. As far as location is concerned it is a little outside Ragusa so a car is necessary but it is very close to the main autostrada if you want to visit other places in the area (we thought Marina Ragusa was wonderful). There is also a good supermarket very nearby.
There are bikes and table tennis for the more energetic but we just loved being by the pool. Any negatives? Well, we were a little unlucky that there was a work man in the next door property using a jack-hammer for the first 2 days of our stay so a bit noisier than expected but not the Artemisia's fault. Also, there were some folk from outside the resort using the facilities but it did not really spoil our enjoyment.
The Artemisia is somewhere I would thoroughly recommend. If you want to see how the modern tourist should be treated this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingblade1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    76
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
161
275
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from staying here whilst on holiday in Sicily, and really enjoyed our time at Artemisia. The staff are all absolutely wonderful, they are so friendly and very welcoming. They really do go out of their way to help you. Our room was lovely, generously-sized, clean and comfortable, with thoughtful touches included, such as limoncello and fresh fruit. The breakfasts at Artemisia are delicious, with a wide range of foods to choose from. The cakes and pastries in particular are stunning. The pool area is relaxing, and the gardens are so peaceful.

There are some lovely restaurants in nearby Ragusa Ibla, which is beautiful and definitely worth visiting. There are good beaches on the south coast (we particularly liked Donnalucata and Marina di Ragusa) which are not too far away from Artemisia, and places including Siracusa and Mount Etna were a reasonable drive away.

We can thoroughly recommend Artemisia for exploring south-east Sicily.Thank you so much to the staff for the time, care and attention that they give.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Paul H,
thank you very much for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Wow - what a place!

The rooms are lovely - large, modern, clean.The bed was comfortable and the lighting was good. The airconditioning could have been better, but after travelling Sicily for 2 weeks, this was definitely the best place we stayed - and the least expensive! Great value for money!

The courtyard, the pool area and gardens are wonderful and clean. Too many small children at one point - but other than that very peaceful, quite and relaxing:)
The service is fantastic - the staff og out of their way to help - always smiling and attentive!
There is no restaurant - which is a shame, but breakfast is very good and they make salads and paninis at request for lunch. We arrived very late and the staff offered to order some pizzas for us. We ended up eating pizza and drinking beer at a table by the pool - very romantic!
The resort is located about 20 minutes from Ragusa Ibla (which is very charming), so you need a car to get around. We had booked a table and Il duomo and didn`t want to drive back at night so we left the car and took a taxi to/from the restaurant (40 euros) The driver was fantastic and did a little tour of the city on the way and picked us up after dinner.

We decided to stay one day extra and would have loved to stay even longer. The place is great and the area has so much to offer - great beaches and a lot of them within 30-60 minutes away (we went to Mazarmeni, Sampieri and Randello), great cities (Ragusa, Modica, Noto, Siracusa), wineries etc!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Siri B,
Thank you for all the positive feedback you have given about our hotel, breakfast and staff.
We are pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay at Artemisia Resort. Your satisfaction is the best reward for all the efforts we make every day to ensure that our guests have a great stay.
Thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and for choosing us.
We would like to share your fantastic comments with our friends on Facebook.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Slightly out of season in April but was excellent just the same. The staff were very friendly and polite and breakfast was excellent - do go there to lose weight!. Excellent pool area where we ate our own food a couple of times - no problem with staff. Shame there is no restaurant but we found a good restaurant in the nearby Domus Aurea Resort. They were doing some improvement works while we were there but as they started after we finished breakfast and were finished by the time we got back in the evening it did not bother us. A car is essential if you intend to travel around.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h1tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear h1tee,
We would like to thank you for your review and for the compliments of our hotel and staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The place is a little way out of town and, whilst there are signposts, it's as well to have your satnav working to ensure that you arrive without too much trouble. There is also no restaurant so you will need to drive ( or take a cab) to get to a restaurant if you wish to have a meal out in the evening.

Having spent over a week travelling around sights of Sicily, we chose this hotel as an out-of-town location for a more restful couple of nights. We got a warm welcome from reception on arrival and the room had a rustic style but with modern facilities. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was delightful, particularly the patisseries, and the pool area was wonderful for refreshing oneself after a hot day of sight-seeing. Just a pity it doesn't have a restaurant.

It is a good base for travelling out to the SE of Sicily. Unfortunately we were woken at 7.20am on our second morning by a road breaker some 100m or more away which meant that everyone was early for breakfast and we were on our way to Siracusa earlier than expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank york1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We are a couple which travels allot along the coast of the Mediterranean sea.
We very much enjoyed our stay in the Artenmisia hotel.
A quite and pleasant hotel not far from the beautiful sandy beaches of Sicily.
The hotel is located in the south western part of the island, a very quiet location.
The hotel is clean and the hospitality is great.
The staff are polite and professional
We didn't miss a thing at the hotel and every request was filled right away.

A very pleasant place to stay
gadi v

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Bracha and Gadi,
First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that our services and staff were appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very impressive resort on the outskirts of Ragusa - car essential. Staff are superb, nothing is too much trouble. Massive pool with an underwater gym....

One minor negative - sound proofing between rooms cannot cope with loud Italian TV programmes

Room Tip: not room 9...above breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMark69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear KiwiMark69,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
32.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 74 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
74.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
9.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Property: Artemisia Resort
Address: Via Enrico Caruso 13, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing