We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Montalbano country in South Eastern Sicily”
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel was our base for our long weekend tour of Montalbano country, having been fans of the series on BBC to help to improve my Italian! This is a recently well converted country farm location which has rooms in the main and outbuildings which are warmly and sympathetically decorated in the local style. The rooms are large and very comfortable with a large bathroom with great double shower. There is also free WiFi - if indeed you find the time for your iPad in this wonderful part of Sicily! Our breakfasts were something we really looked forward to each morning as we were able to drink freshly squeezed Sicilian orange juice and sample the locally prepared sweet and savoury cakes, as well as enjoying the fresh bread rolls and croissant. The staff were particularly warm and friendly and did not disappoint our high expectations of the welcoming Sicilian culture. Nothing was too much trouble for the small team who looked after us from arrival to departure, from the welcoming fruit in the room, (replaced daily) and the small bottle of Limoncello liquor whose flavour set the scene for a wonderful long Montalbano weekend! Will definitely be coming back to this unique and wonderful residence.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Nicholas,

thank you for your positive review: we have no words to add to this fantastic description about the hotel;thank you for exalting our main strengths such us the breakfast, which is copious and fresh.
We like welcoming our guests with a gift to make them feel at home and special.
We're glad your stay at Artemisia was wonderful.
We hope to host you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wanted a taste of beautiful south-eastern Sicily over a 4-days break, and thanks to Artemisia and its staff I got way more than what I bargained for.

Framed in the middle of the countryside, yet conveniently close to both Comiso's airport and Ragusa - Ibla, this resort made our stay really pleasant and relaxing. We were spoilt by its beautiful setting — peaceful, slow-moving countryside, surrounded by dry stone walls delimiting a bunch of orchards and well kept gardens; how restful it was to read a book sitting on that rocking two-seater, or on one of those stone benches carved under an almond tree. The large outdoor swimming pool was very enticing, despite it being the wrong season (February).

The room was beautiful: very spacious and comfortable, good quality queen-sized (I think) bed, lovely stone walls, floor spot-lights and a snazzy one-way (inside to outside) glass entrance door for extra-light at no expense of privacy. Bathroom was well equipped too with modern fixtures and finishings.

The inclusive buffet breakfast was generous in quantity and variety, with most (if not all) fresh items being typical of the area and locally sourced, and all being delicious.

The staff deserves a separate mention: Valentina and Noemi's courtesy, competence, helpfulness and friendliness were beyond any reasonable expectation; the personal touch and smile they invariably offered can't be listed on a hotel web-site or meta-search engine.

The perhaps only short-coming of this magnificent structure — i.e. the lack an on-site restaurant, whose absence I didn't even notice yet was remarked by a few previous guests — is caused by sluggishly processed paperwork and is being obviously resolved.

To conclude: lovely structure and setting, far-from-usual-staple breakfasts and attentative staff. I couldn't have asked for more. Hope to see you soon, Artemisia!

Room Tip: Can't think of any: they all looked really enticing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sconti555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Responsabile reception at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear sconti555,
thank you for your lovely words about the hotel.We're glad your stay here was pleasant and relaxing.Thank you also for praising the comfort of the rooms, the breakfast which is fresh and generous with the aim to axalt an let know Sicilian products.
Thank you also for appreciating the courtesy and competene of the staff!
We hope to host you again in summer to use our swimming pool.
Best Regards,
Noemi & Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

An outstandingly good hotel in a great part of Sicily. Room was spacious and relaxing - large comfortable bed. Staff - so welcoming and friendly, and the same team on reception and at breakfast etc. Amazing breakfast with diverse range of cakes and savoury items. And staff really went out of their way to accommodate a gluten intolerance. Free wifi that worked well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Grafton_traveller493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When we arrived to this beautifully built resort, I felt like I had died and gone to heaven. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, the staff warm and friendly, the grounds beautiful, the pool beautiful and the simple wine with cheese and salami plate we had was great. We arranged to each have a massage by Luisa and we weren't disappointed. This was one of the best massages I have had traveling the world. This is just a great location to unpack, settle in, enjoy a good book and see the local sights. Can't say enough about this location. It is super and so is the beautifully presented breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for three nights in late October as part of a 10 night holiday tour of Sicily.
On arrival we got a free upgrade from a triple room to a vaulted family apartment with two separate sleeping areas (Artemisia's Room 1).
The apartment and the resort grounds were both beautiful and tasteful, creating a very relaxed peaceful environment for our stay.
The swimming pool was a good size, and beautifully clean.
The staff were delightfully helpful throughout our stay, and nothing was too much trouble. A few examples:
-they provided detailed directions to Ragusa Ibla, explaining where to park for free, and pointing us to a selection of good restaurants/trattorias/gelatarias in the old town
-they organised a local winery tour for us at short notice, phoning the Cos winery, making an appointment for us, and providing driving directions and a map.
-they provided their barbeque support service one evening, which really did provide everything except the food itself.

In summary, this really is a rather special hotel, doing everything right for its guests. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic accommodation. Why only classed three star a bit of a mystery. Great welcoming staff, lovely rooms with character. Set in spacious grounds with free table tennis table, swing ball, bikes to hire, exercise bikes, a nice size swimming pool with underwater exercise bike and treadmill. Free wifi, possibility to BBQ on an evening (even encouraged) with then providing plates etc. Would make superb base for week or for few nights.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We chose to use Artemisia as a base for exploring the towns of Ragusa, Modica, and the surrounding region. The property has a great setup - lovely patios, a wonderful pool, and spacious rooms. As others mentioned, the breakfast is superb and resulted in a lot of return trips to try each one of the excellent pastries. Finally, the staff are friendly and very helpful - we arrived back quite late one night and they went out of their way to set a table for us on the patio making sure we had everything we needed to enjoy the wine, meats, and cheeses we'd picked up from the markets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
74.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
3.4 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
3.9 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#6 of 37 in Ragusa
569 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Address: Via Enrico Caruso 3, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing