We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay despite being a bit isolated.”
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay despite being a bit isolated.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Before mentioning how good this hotel was, I will first point out my extreme disappointment in the lack of an aforementioned underwater treadmill! Obviously it made no real difference to the break, but after reading so many great reviews of this unusual water item I had become quite excited to give it a go. Perhaps as we traveled in April it was too early, the underwater treadmill may in fact be seasonal.

Enough said on that.

If you want to get away from the fast paced Sicilian cities this hotel is perfect for you. The hotel is easy to find once you come off the main road, it is down an isolated track leading up to farm country. The surrounding area is beautiful and the place is a welcoming sight for weary travelers having just had to deal with Italian drivers.

The reception always had a very friendly member of staff ready to help you with all of your needs. We received a very warm reception along with instructions on how to get to nearby Ragusa. Artemisia is quite far away from Ragusa but if you are driving this shouldn't be a problem (except for if you want a drink at night). We discovered two decent traditional pizzerias and restaurants within five minutes by car.

Breakfast was great, I'm not normally the biggest fan of pastry in the morning but found it hard to resist the wide spread presented each morning. There was also cereal, bread and sausage bacon and scrambled egg available.

Our room was a traditional converted farmhouse, spacious comfy and homely.

We had a sample 10 minute massage the one morning and would have purchased a full hour had we been staying for longer.

During the day there were workers building what I assume was to be the new on site restaurant so hopefully if you are going later on in the year this will be complete and if you want a drink you can stay at the hotel for dinner.

There were bikes available as well as a rickshaw that you could ride around the hotel grounds.

All in all a lovely hotel in a great location with lots of friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    78
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
170
291
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Room and bed was a great size. Staff are as friendly and helpful as other reviewers have mentioned. My reservations are: Location is somewhat off-putting and places to eat dinner are a drive away. Breakfast was OK but if you are not a big pastry fan it is a bit limited. Our room was a bit noisy - lots of plumbing effects came through from adjacent rooms and the water went off for some reason around bed time on our second night, WiFi was a bit hit and miss as well. It seemed to go down for periods of 10-20 minutes. Not enough tea bags and mostly they were herbal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmershamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear AmershamM,

thank you for your review. We are so sorry that your room was a little bit noisy and WiFi was a bit hit, but sometimes it happens especially when there's a lot of wind.
You review was for us important and about the lack of a restaurant we provid for starting a delivery service from the very close restaurant "Monnalisa", which delivers food directly at the hotel: in this way the guests can consume the food at the hotel without having to go out.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First, you arrive through a neighborhood that has you second guessing your choice (lots of excellent signage reassures you you're on the right route). Ignore that - you will be very pleased with what awaits you at Artemisia. We are spending our second day here and can only echo earlier reports. You get the impression that the management and staff genuinely want you to enjoy your stay and make every effort to please you. This is a truly relaxing place - the pool is lovely, there is a games room (with English language TV if you really want that) . Best bed & bedding so far in Italy. Thick walls and wooden shutters make for a perfectly dark & quiet, spacious room. Our bathroom #11 was very large & pleasant - our daughter's, #8 also very nice but had a slightly angled bathroom roof so it would have been less good for my 6'3" husband. They showed us several options for our stay - another pleasant touch. Little niceties - lots of towels, toiletries, and a "mini-bar" with snacks & drinks priced at 1€ each so a true convenience. They have an arrangement with the Monna Lisa Restaurant for delivery of anything from their menu - for just a 1€ delivery fee - and you can book the BBQ (charcoal provided) if you want to make your own meal - or they'll make reservations for you at any of the dozens of outstanding restaurants in the region. They also offer bottles of regional wine for sale (or by the glass) at reception. Frankly, exploring the region is why we came so we didn't avail ourselves of all of these options - but it all adds up to a great experience of feeling "looked after." Finally, we just had our breakfast: freshly made cappuccino, latte, etc, freshly squeezed blood-orange juice, a great assortments of pastries, hard boiled or scrambled eggs, assorted cheeses, hams, yogurt, cereal, great rolls, even a gluten free option! for a great start to our day!

Room Tip: #11 which we had includes a sofa/bed which could be used for a couple with a pre-teen. There is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear ASASG_7,
thank you so much for your lovely words: it's a pleasure for us hear that your stay at Artemisia was satisfying and relaxing.
We have no words to add because your description of the hotel is very detailed and for that we warmly thank you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel based on the good reviews and they are well deserved. The room we had was very large, clean and very recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable, had crispy sheets and nice pillows.
The staff was excellent, always ready to help and advise places to eat local food.
We did not have much chances to use the resort facilities because of the weather but every bit seems very cured and well kept. We wish to go back in the summer.
The location is a bit off-hand but this is what one expect from an agriturismo.
The breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever experienced: a large table full of locally grown products, fresh fruit, fresh baked cakes, local cheeses and cold cuts... very great feeling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRCHIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear MRCHIT,
thank you so much for your good review and especially for praising the rooms,the breakfast which is made by fresh and local products.
We're so sorry you didn't have much chances to use resort facilities because the weather but we're glad to host you in summer in order to appreciate and use our swimming-pool with Jacuzzi integrated and our small aquafitness area (underwater bike and tapis roulant).
Greetings from Artemisia Resort's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just spent 8 days in the countryside close to Ragusa enjoying very warm hospitality in a quiet retreat. Our stay was very relaxing and we enjoyed our room, the facilites of the resort - I swam every morning in the 12 m by 7 m pool - and the excellent breakfasts. We enjoyed a bottle of red wine as a welcoming gift and later in our stay some lovely gifts. The service was exceptional as well as clean towels, the room was spotlessly cleaned. One must use this as a base to explore Noto, Donnulucata, Sampeiri, Syracusa, Caltagirone, Comiso and of course Ragusa Ibla - the old town. There are not many restaurants to recommend unless one goes to Ragusa. I did like our stay on this beautiful island and recommend it. Not far is Fratelli Maza (Praga 5 Ragusa) which is where you can sample and buy Sicilian wines.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Timetachy,
we're happy you enjoyed your stay at Artemisia.
The title of your review is very gratifying for us: we do the best in order our guests feel like at home.
Thank you for reccomanding the hotel to other people.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A little outside the lovely heritage city Ragusa is Artemesia Resort, a large property with pool, BBQ, outside eating area and expansive grounds. It is very well kept, spotlessly clean with large rooms simply furnished. Some nice touches such as fresh fruit in the room.
Parking is safe free, and easy inside their own compound- a bonus in Europe.

A bonus was the included breakfast with freshly made cappuccino, homemade jams and the most amazing selection of breads, cakes and other Sicilian treats !
Great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Christo60,
thank you for your lovely words and for appreciating our service like the free parking, the cleanless of the rooms and for exaltin our breakfast all along our main strenght made by local and fresh products.
If you ever come to Ragusa again, please allow us the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed a week in first class accommodation with the best attentive staff that one could wish for as other guest have recorded. The breakfasts were fit for royalty with ample choice and with fresh omelet made to order.Large room and kept in best order each day, meet Valentino and prepare to be impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jame m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Jame M,

thank you for your positive review: we are happy your stay was beautiful.Thank you for appreciating our rooms, for defining ou breakfast were fit for royalty.Thank you also for exalting the kindness of the staff.
The staff is always attentive to the guests and proponed to satisfy each request.
We hope to host you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
32.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
74.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
89.8 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Property: Artemisia Resort
Address: Via Enrico Caruso 13, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing