We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with the most excellent breakfast”
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of May and had a really relaxing holiday. There is a lot to visit and the staff are exceptionally helpful, Valentina was especially helpful in recommending a place to sort out our flat tyre! The rooms are large and cool with fresh towels provided as well as towels for swimming, which is great for reducing the weight of your luggage (if you know in advance).
We got some great recommendations for eating out from the staff, the Quatro Gatti in Ragusa Ibla was especially good.
My favourite thing was breakfast. Fresh food, local food, local delicacies and the honey was to die for - I tried it on the ricotta after watching another resident, unbelievably good.
Although this is off the beaten track it is a great base for this area. When it has a restaurant on site it will be perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear BigDandAl,
thank you for your kind review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week at Artemisia Resort. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Because of the threatened French air-traffic controllers' strike, my husband was short of medication. We were taken to a pharmacy in the car of one of the staff in order to obtain some extra tablets, the traffic being horrendous near Ragusa and the signposts almost non-existent. They also reserved us a room, without payment, for 3 extra nights if needed, in spite of being virtually full for the whole time we were there.
Although Artemisia has no facilities for dinner at present, one has to provide only the food for a barbecue and the staff prepare the barbecue and provide plates and cutlery and wash it up as well!
Everything is immaculate, with thick fresh towels every day if required, and tea/coffee/swimming towels and little luxuries at no extra charge. We were even treated to speciality soap, lavender bag and a small bottle of Limoncello. The price is astonishingly low, and enormous care is taken in maintaining the beautiful grounds. The swimming pool even has submerged treadmill and exercise bike! At night, the underwater lighting constantly changes colour.
I cannot fault this Agriturismo and recommend it to anyone interested in seeing the beautiful UNESCO World Heritage towns of Ragusa, Modica and Scicli, as well as those visiting the area to photograph all the sites where the television series Inspector Montalbano is filmed. Do eat at Castello do Donnafugata (Mafia HQ in the series) and Enzo da Mare. (Montalbano's beach restaurant in Punta Secca,) with its gorgeous beach and photo opportunities galore.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Rutlanders,
thank you so much for your positve review!
We hope to see you again soon for a nice holiday in Sicily
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a happy week in Artemesia and were very comfortable. The staff were all helpful and friendly, always on hand to see if you needed anything, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were amazing, (gluten free products were available) eaten outside in the sun. There was no problem with bringing food back to eat at the resort. The staff only too willing to set a table with crockery, cutlery, etc. They would also order food from a local restaurant for delivery to the hotel. Good pool with lovely shady relaxing areas. Rooms good and kept spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Michael L,
Thank you for your review and recommending us further.
All of us send you a lot of greetings.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoyed our five night stay here. The room was very comfortable and had all necessary amenities. Unfortunately we didn't use the pool because of the cool weather but it looked inviting. We can't say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. They were attentive, welcoming and responded to any request. Even though it was a little out of town, if we didn't feel like driving in the evening after a hard day's sightseeing we could order in pizza or other dishes from a local restaurant and buy wine or beer in the resort, which was very convenient

Room Tip: One nice feature of our room which was on the ground floor was a mirrored door so that you can open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear mandmto,
Thank you for writing your review!
We will all be happy to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thanks to all who reviewed this place it really lived up to all its positive reviews, staff are really attentive and helpful providing maps and recommendations for places to eat (you most go to Ristorante "Il Barocco" in Ibla).

Room Tip: Resort doesn't have a restaurant or fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goaheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear goaheaven,
thank you for your nice word!
Best whishes and lot's of greetings from all of us!
Kind Regrads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We visited Ragusa in search of curtains and linen, and we found an unexpected oasis of very comfortable accommodation, lovely staff and the most memorable breakfasts of our entire European holiday. This hotel was rated the best of our Sicilian accommodation by our three girls-and us.

Everything worked properly, our self contained unit was well heated and the admin staff assisted in helping to source artisan curtain makers. We would make a point of staying here again.

Northern Territory family

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel proper, but rather in the self contained unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Far N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The reviews had suggested that this might be a great place to stay and it more than lived up to expectations. Before we even arrived, we had a friendly exchange of emails to fine-tune details, such as the need for a cot for the baby and the fact that our flight would be later than expected, so our arrival would be late at night. I had also mentioned that someone had a birthday the day after we arrived. We were very late but Federico took it all in his stride, was very helpful and welcomed us warmly, dealing with the admin. swiftly, without keeping us up any longer than necessary. We were very grateful for that! Next morning, a birthday breakfast 'tiramisu' cake, with candle, was presented to the 'birthday boy' to his great surprise and pleasure. And the welcome gifts, including the wine, were such a treat. [Thank you!] The rooms were lovely, with plenty of space, good beds, simple attractive decor and - for the parents/children in the family group - a lovely large room with a mezzanine sleeping area. It was so good to have some fridge space and somewhere to prepare children's snacks.The grounds - with a play space for young children, pretty gardens, pool and plenty of paths to walk round - were just right for us to 'unwind' in after a long journey. The light lunch they prepared for us was excellent value - simple, antipasti-style, but what flavour! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We all agreed that we would have liked to have stayed longer. We plan to return! Some reviewers found the trip to Ragusa from here a bit of a trek, but once you've worked out how to reach Ragusa Ibla, it's well worth it. The centro storico is fascinating, the restaurants very good and the ice cream was awesome, olive oil and beetroot flavours included, yes, honestly!!

Room Tip: If you have toddlers, ask for the family room adjacent to the young children's play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
2.4 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
532 reviews
74.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,074 reviews
3.4 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Address: Via Enrico Caruso 13, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £51 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing