We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly authentic Sicilian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eremo della Giubiliana
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A truly authentic Sicilian experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is a lovely spot to truly relax. The staff are an amazing group of people, from the incredibly helpful concierge and smiley GM, to the barman and matire d Matteo who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and added genuine class and personality to the place. They are lucky to have him and he seriously impacted the quality of the venue. You will need transport, as the spot is remote, but beautiful and relaxing.

The rooms where comfortable, and the food in the evening was very good served in a beautiful setting by attentive staff. Breakfast was fresh fruit and a lot of cake, but would have benefitted from some greater variety as would the lunch menu. A place to have drinks outside that was not the restaurant would have been a big benefit.

Some of the advertised facilities like the bikes have seen better days, and the boat and private beach feel like they may be a tad overstated. The boat was not available and the beach was a shared affair, some distance from the hotel with an aggressively rude attendant who did everything but make you feel welcome.

The Eremo is still a family home, which in many ways adds to its charm as the family is very much in residence. However, the owner himself does not go out of the way to acknowledge or appear friendly and welcoming to his guests, which is both odd in this setup and a shame as it can undermine the hard work and effort of the amazing and authentic staff.

All in all it is a lovely place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: The single beds in the twin were a little draconian
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
really thanks for your review and the compliments to the staff of Eremo della Giubiliana. It’s very important for us that are investing our efforts in trying to make you feel at home, far from it.
I want to excuse with you for the non availability of the boat you had chosen, but we try to give a service to our guests, with an agency, and maybe the day you decided to have a boat trip it was not available. But I know you have enjoied the sailing trip you have made in Marzamemi.
The beach, it’s not directly managed by us, but we have places for our guests in a friendly beach in Marina di Ragusa. Probably you know that in Italy the portion of the beach cannot be private and especially in July and August, it may appear crowded.
The Eremo Della Giubiliana is an antique private estate and has a long tradition of Hospitality. When the Son of the land owner Donna Vincenza asked her to open the Eremo to guests, he tried to convince her by saying that they had always welcomed their guests there, but she objected that all the people welcomed within the privacy of the Eremo were friends too. The answer was that “once in the Eremo, our guests would become our friends”. So it sounds really surprising that the same person who had this beautiful idea, appeared unfriendly. Probably our guest misunderstood the old education and discretion of the owners.
I again thank you Dear Guest for having chosen The Eremo Della Giubiliana for your relaxing and amusing time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    106
    28
    16
    8
See reviews for
55
277
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arundel
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was a great trip, even at a busy time (August). So much to see in Sicily and it's ideal to hire a car and get out and explore. This hotel was our base for the time we were there and it's is secluded and very pretty. Our room wasn't huge, but there are bigger ones. Again quite a small window, but at least it looked out on to a pretty courtyard. Great restaurant for dinner with live music. Staff were very attentive and friendly, giving high quality service. The owner is always around and will drive guests on any of the tours that are available at an extra cost. We went on one which was fun and otherwise we explored the island in our rental car. Taormina is unmissable as it's the perfect bay to snorkel (we booked a hotel here and in Palermo) so we could venture further out in the hire car. Other must dos are the roman villa and mosaics and the temples, Modica, Ragusa Ibla, Noto. Stunning architecture and delicious food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at Eremo for 3 nights in a suite. The room was beautiful, old stone walls, big comfortable bed and soft linens. We had a little problem with hot water, but once that was fixed we were happy. It is an old convent and has been lovingly restored. Lot's of character and in the country, so it is quiet. A great base to explore the pottery in Caltagirone, the town of Ragusa, chocolate in Modica and the Sea at Ragusa Marina. We did all that in the day and retreated to Eremo at night. The staff was very helpful and want you to enjoy everything in their part of sicily. The dining room is beautiful, but I think you can get better dinners off property. If you have travelled all day and just want an easy relaxing dinner then you eat here which we did one night. A wonderful hotel with a lot of character.

Room Tip: fraterno suite was quiet and looked out onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbied433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Mrs Debbie,
thank you very much for your impressions about Eremo della Giubiliana.
It's a place that must be understood to appreciate the History, and its beauties.
We are pleased you have enjoied your stay at Eremo della Giubiliana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for two nights in early June. We had two rooms , a suite which was very atmospheric and room 8. It is fair to say that room 8 was fairly cheap but realistically a self described five star hotel should not put guests in such a small unpleasant room. (Equally true of its neighbour room 7) When we complained of this on arrival, the manageress started shouting at us that she was full and if we did not like it we could leave! This was a unique experience for me after many years of travel. Clearly she had skipped the customer service lessons!! The rest of the staff were much nicer and went out of their way to be helpful. We had booked an all day tour of the area which was supplied by the hotel and the driver/guide Roberto and Britt who accompanied us were lovely. The day was a great success.
The hotel seemed to focus on the look of things to the exclusion of their functionality. The best example of this is the lack of a shower curtain in the very smart bathroom in the suite. The net result of this was every time we had a shower the floor was inundated and the rug in the middle of the bathroom flour was soaked. Also the handles for the shower were temperamental and needed to be held in position. On discussion with the front desk the reason offered was that the owner who had renovated the very beautiful property would not mar the look of the room with something as prosaic as a shower curtain!! I always thought running a hotel was about hospitality?
Additionally I would expect a five star hotel to offer freshly cooked eggs at breakfast - not the limited choice of precooked scrambled eggs on the warmer. Also, meat and cheese in a warm climate should be stored under a cover not open to the elements and the occasional fly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Mr. Julian,
i'm very happy that you give me the chance of discussing about the incident, because so many times (during your stay) i tried to say goodbye to you, but all of you didn't make eye contact, so it's been very difficult for me to get in contact again with you during your stay.
The reason of your complaint involved the square footage of the room, and how we had have the 5 stars classification. At this reason i would like to inform you that the Italian regulation law contemplate an exact square footage of the rooms standards to be attended to have classification; and as we have had a 5 stars classification by the competent district, maybe we are in truth.
As exposed during our conversation that I tried to keep calm instead of your daughter who raised the tone speaking very quickly, for the first night of your stay the Hotel was full . No possibility of changing the room if not that of the neighbour one (that looks similar). I also informed you that the day after i could have changed the room, but you didn't accept my proposal. My only possibility of satisfing your needs was that of offering you the stay in another hotel of equal category, for the night: and your answer was negative.
Anyway, now i thank you i can give you my personal excuses if my attempt of satisfaction of your needs looked impolite to you.
Only some more things i'd like to precise about the curtain in the bathroom suite, and the breakfast.
The position of the shower is exactly studied after having improved and certainly obtained a perfect result for having an energizing shower without soaking the floor. It's the first time that guests make complain about this. We are talking about suites, where people is expected to have a big and relaxing space, and for that they pay more.
Our breakfast buffet is normally composed of approx 55 kinds of different produce among sweet and salad dishes. The Eremo della Giubiliana involves in his property "Le tenute dell'Eremo" please look at the site "www.tenutegiubiliana.it" a big plot of hectares of land where we produce oil, wine, flower, wholemeal corn, caster of lentils, caste wholewheat, we also bring up animals like turkeys, pheasants, quails, wild rabbits, hens, for our Restaurant needs. Every morning we bring fresh eggs from our farm and scramble them at breakfast, in the buffet , and they are fresh every morning. All our cakes are produced with raw materials from our farm.
I hope i have better explained everything you complained, and should you come back to Ragusa I would be very happy of visiting with you our entire property of Eremo della Giubiliana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Staff charming, if poorly directed. However in a 5 star-luxe hotel, even in Italy, I expect a loo seat (missing in gents loo on G/F), a working flush handle (deficient in women's loo on G/F), a bathroom where the shower does not spill water all over the floor, a CLEAN shower curtain (even though bathroom fittings are 20 years old). Furthermore, I expect to be offered a drink VERY soon after sitting down in the bar, not to have to wait while a gaggle of staff finish their conversations (or, worse, their cigarette - the cook was smoking in the doorway of the kitchen), and - where available - to have cushions placed on the chairs (if only because most of the seats have rotting wooden slats. The swimming pool chairs were covered in bird poo.

The owner (whose spoilt, screaming daughter's misbehavior dominates the dining room) should be persuaded to invest in maintenance of the facility, otherwise to have this grossly over-rated classification of 5 star luxe stripped from the property. Even if the staff are charming ...... And still the centro benessere is "occasional" only, I.e booking required. What a disappointment.

Room Tip: Dont bother until refurbishment has been paid for, not just promised
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were very happy to have chosen this hotel. We stayed in one of the Cittages in the airpark. The only real problem there is that the electrity line is very close, so you have disturbing noise all the time. But as we weren't much in the room, it was ok. The first dinner in the hotel garden was amazing, so romantic, cool after a hot Sicilian day. And the food is gorgeous! Even though we had the possibility to have dinner in other places, they really made us come back every night. And not to forget the best olive oil I have every tasted!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The location of Eremo is mid point between Ragusa Ibla and Marina di Ragusa and the area it is in is nothing special, but dont let that bother you. Eremo is perfectly placed for visits of Baroque towns like Ibla, Modica and Scicli all of which are just gorgeous. Upon arriving at Eremo you know you are somewhere special when you pull up to the gates, use the intercom and enjoy the view of the limestone complex as the gates swing open. It is immediately impressive and beautiful yet small enough not to be impersonal and with the warm welcome including a glass of Prosecco, you quickly settle in. The room was a ground floor suite overlooking the small garden and pool area. Everything about the room was just beautiful, old furnishings, 2ft thick limestone walls, very comfortable bed and free wi-fi. The concierge gave us great daily advice on how to structure our sightseeing and excellent restaurant recommendations. We also ate one night at the hotel which was very good although I enjoyed every meal in Sicily especially down south, so if you prefer to eat out every night I dont think you should feel you are missing out necessarily. Only aspect less than perfect to me was the breakfast which was good but nothing great, however perfectly adequate and didnt detract from the stay at all. Great place, authentic Sicilian rustic luxury is how I would describe it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spurssox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
3.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
619 reviews
39.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
1,198 reviews
7.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#5 of 38 in Ragusa
538 reviews
3.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
37.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo della Giubiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo della Giubiliana

Property: Eremo della Giubiliana
Address: S.P. 25 per Marina di Ragusa - km 7,5 | Contrada Giubiliana, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eremo della Giubiliana 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to the different programs available you will be able to decide which itinerary to take to discover the island or explore the nearby Mediterranean destinations reachable by private plane from the airfield at Eremo della Giubiliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eremo della Giubiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Della Giubiliana Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Hotel Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing