We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property! Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eremo della Giubiliana
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were met with gracious smiles, refreshment and a beautiful reception after a very long travel day. I had just read an extremely unfavorable review of the property and was anxious about my choice. My husband and I are on a two week independent tour of Sicily that I had personally researched and I was feeling the pressure :)

The hotel is just gorgeous. The limestone is warm and inviting, antiques and interesting items about. The dining room is open and very comfortable. Last night, a young pianist was playing for the dinner hours and he was just spectacular! The waitstaff is lovely. I feel like we have been offered an opportunity to live in an elegant time and place, but with modern conveniences.

Our room is wonderful, full of light if we wish and porches for spectacular views of the beautiful countryside. We travel extensively and prefer the luxury, " off the common path" properties like Eremo Della Giubiliana for rest and beauty. Did I mention the fragrant jasmine? Awesome.

It has been a wonderful stay and I would make this same choice again. We have encountered a few missteps on this trip with disappointing touristy restaurants and sites. Eremo Della Giubiliana has been fabulous!

Room Tip: We stayed in a tower room. Two floors, porches. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Elisabeth,
thank you very much for all the great information you have given in your review about your stay at Eremo della Giubiliana.
The opinion of our guests is important for us to improve our effort to make people stay well, and for giving always the best.
thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

So being used to real 5 star luxury in Italy this was just off the mark. Whilst our suite was beautifully furnished, spacious and a delight to look at the hard bed was not to our tastes so you are warned and although there was a shower, there is no screen or curtain fitted to the bath. The property has been tastefully renovated and sits in a true rural landscape that allows you to explore the likes of Ragusa, Modica and Scicli, a must for any 'Inspector Montalbano' fan. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with the sites, especially Marco and Matteo who have excellent English. The evening meals were a delight with some great varieties in terms of fresh fish, perfectly cooked pasta and meat. Wine was reasonably priced and a fair selection to choose from. The small pool, garden and courtyard allows options to sit in the sun, read and relax and the lunchtime menu allows some choice to eat there as well. Breakfasts are typical for Italy, based on fruit and cakes and it did vary depending on the number of guests in the hotel.The beach down on the coast is typical Italian, shared and it can get busy but you have your own sun lounger and umbrella, but do remember to take a towel from the hotel. It is next to a small beach restaurant that serves excellent fresh fish and lighter snacks. So, overall a nice place to stay, explore and relax but as with most hotels a few frustrating niggles.

Room Tip: It was worth upgrading to a large suite to get the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having read the rave reviews of this hotel, my husband and I were really excited to be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary here. As a special treat, we had splashed out on booking the best room available at a cost of over £400 per night and therefore had expectations of total luxury and faultless service to enjoy for a two-night stay. We had already spent three perfect days staying at Villa Carlotta in Taormina, and as the Eremo was charging an extra £100 per night by comparison, we expected it to be spectacular. This review is made on the basis of value for money. If this was a 3-star hotel, our expectations would have been much lower.

The welcome we were given bode well - Marco on the front desk was very friendly, spoke good english and we were offered a glass of prosecco upon arrival. Our room was very impressive in its sheer size and layout, but it was filled with dark oak furniture and ecclesiastical themed furnishings which lent it a rather sombre and cold atmosphere. It was disappointing that it didn't have access to a patio or verandah, just rather small windows which again added to the overall darkness of the room.

The light-snack menu we were offered for a late lunch was irritating as half of the items listed had stickers showing that they were unavailable until that evening. It's not great to be shown a list of things that you can't have! After lunch we sat outside in the main courtyard area, whereby we were totally ignored by staff and owners alike who were all milling around and could see that we were sitting there. We were not offered coffee nor provided with cushions to sit on the hard wooden seats (they had been removed earlier due to the rain).

At breakfast the following morning, again we were totally ignored by the waitress who instead of coming to our table to ask what we would like to drink, busied herself clearing a table. We were the only people in the restaurant, so this was really adding insult to injury! In fact, during our stay we only saw six other guests in the entire place and so this also made the hotel feel really isolated and lacking in atmosphere. At no time during our stay either, were we asked by the owners or staff whether everything was ok and if we were enjoying ourselves, so we felt rather ignored and 'unspecial'.

The list of things that we found less than satisfactory for a £400+ per night experience are summarised below. I really hope that the hotel read this and take note. If they keep up this level of service and accommodation, I can't envisage them staying open for much longer - especially as they are situated in a region of Sicily that is already showing major signs of economic collapse and less and less attractive to the tourist to travel to.

Breakfast - very average buffet. Overcooked scrambled egg kept warm instead of freshly made to order. Tomatoes curling up at the edges - looked like leftovers from previous day. Meats and cheeses not covered, so flies freely feasting on the food.

Facilities/amenities - No tea or coffee making facility in room. No complimentary bottle of water in room. Very noisy plumbing when running bath and terrible pressure. Bidet plug didn't work. No separate shower from bath. No shower curtain or door to stop the water flooding the floor. Chest of drawers in room was extremely difficult to open and close - gave up in the end and left drawer half-open all the time. Settee and chairs in room for decoration only - as comfortable as a park bench to sit on. Wi-fi only worked in small area of the room. Pool area unenticing as sun lounger beds dirty and grass surrounding pool left uncut - giving overall look of neglect. Bikes, supposedly for guest use, all rusty and some with flat tyres - no helmets provided. No bar or lounge room for guests to relax in - only sectioned area of vast dining room so not cosy in the slightest. Very cheap and scruffy looking dining chairs in dining room.

Service - distinctly lacking. No turning-down of bed (or remake of bed in our case) during the evening whilst we were out for dinner. Complimentary bottle of prosecco provided in room on our arrival but no glasses to drink it from! Plates with knives and forks provided in room also, but only grapes to eat!

Cleanliness - not a high standard. Black mouldy sealant around bath. Shampoo residue from previous guests on tiles around bath. Rug in reception area looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for years.Jacuzzi in bath emitted disgusting black crud whilst I was sitting in the water - presumably dead skin from previous bathers (no apology offered from woman working on reception desk who came to look at it). Stained cups and saucers at breakfast. Flies everywhere.

All in all, we left this hotel feeling that we had paid a huge amount of money for a less than mediocre experience. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank zwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Proprietario at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013
Google Translation

Rimaniamo veramente esterrefatti nel leggere i terribili commenti dei nostri Gentili Ospiti, commenti in cui stentiamo a riconoscere la nostra bellissima struttura.
I Gentili Ospiti hanno soggiornato in quella che forse è la più bella suite dell’Eremo Della Giubiliana, la suite Della Guardia, l’antico corpo di guardia dei Cavalieri di Malta, con grandi ambienti in pietra archivoltati ed un maestoso camino d’epoca. Gli arredi sono tra i più preziosi dell’Eremo con un salotto del 700 in damasco di seta , antichi tappetti persiani e rarissime cassapanche siciliane del 500. La suite è esposta a sud e dà sul giardino “Hortus conclusus” attraverso ampie vetrate che inondano di luce gli ambienti. I pavimenti sono di bianca pietra calcarea, forse una foto può rendere meglio e far capire quanto lontana sia questa suite dalla descrizione che gli ospiti ne hanno fatto.
Potremmo continuare a dibattere punto per punto sugli ingenerosi commenti dei nostri Gentili Ospiti, ad esempio la mancanza di camerieri nella sala colazioni dove gli Ospiti sono entrati prima dell’orario di apertura della sala colazioni stessa, mentre il personale era impegnato ad apprestarla, oppure l’inverosimile sciocchezza della “pelle umana” ritrovata nella Jacuzzi (un anemopatologo da noi consultato ci ha detto che è scientificamente impossibile): si trattava semplicemente di pezzetti di carbonato di calcio a volte presenti nelle nostre acque carsiche.
Riteniamo quindi questi pochi esempi sufficienti a far capire come quanto percepito dai nostri Gentili Ospiti sia lontano dalla verità e dalla realtà dei luoghi, non pretendiamo che la nostra struttura – che è molto particolare, possa piacere a tutti (un sito storico con arredi d’epoca al centro dello straordinario paesaggio dell’altipiano ibleo), a volte chi identifica un 5 stelle lusso con un Hilton può ritrovarsi deluso, ma da ciò a costruire un commento così ingeneroso ed a tratti offensivo come quello dei nostri Gentili Ospiti, ce ne vuole.
Per questo riteniamo di poter dire, senza tema di urtare la suscettibilità dei nostri ospiti, che tutto ciò sia il frutto di una qualche patologia psicotica scatenata dalla particolarità del sito e di cui i nostri simpatici Ospiti sono evidentemente vittime, e che consigliamo vivamente di curare non in alberghi 5 stelle lusso ma in altre strutture altrettanto efficienti.
Siamo rammaricati nel dovere riscontrare quanto sopra e siamo sempre pronti e disponibili ad accogliere qualsiasi commento che possa aiutarci a svolgere meglio il nostro lavoro, ma in casi assurdi come questo, ci sentiamo di dover fare anche alcune considerazioni sulla pur lodevole funzione di Tripadvisor. Infatti l’etica vorrebbe che il cliente riportasse, soprattutto nel proprio interesse, eventuali insoddisfazioni o inconvenienti riscontrati durante il soggiorno al personale dell’Albergo, e poi solo successivamente rimarcare la propria delusione su Tripadvisor.
In questo caso i nostri Gentili Ospiti, non solo non hanno mai manifestato alcun tipo di problema (eccezione fatta per la “pelle umana” trovata nella vasca) ma addirittura hanno fatto i complimenti (davanti a numerosi testimoni) al personale di Reception per la bellezza dell’Albergo e della suite.
Ciò detto appare sempre più evidente come le persone che viaggiano con curiosità e serenità di spirito (sono sempre meno) hanno la tendenza a non commentare positivamente il loro soggiorno ritenendo, forse non a torto, di esaurire la propria esperienza positiva senza bisogno di trasformarsi in ispettori di famose “guide”.
Viceversa i molti (e sono sempre di più) che vanno in viaggio carichi di nevrosi e di psicosi da vita moderna, sentono il bisogno di colpire con veemenza le strutture, che pur inconsapevoli, li hanno delusi, vanificando come nel caso in specie, l’indubbia utilità di Tripadvisor come strumento di crescita e di confronto della qualità delle strutture ricettive.
Infine ci preme invitare i nostri Gentili e simpatici Ospiti per un soggiorno che avremo il piacere di offrire all’Eremo Della Giubiliana e che riteniamo potranno gradire appieno dopo la loro completa guarigione.
Il Proprietario
Arch. Salvatore Mancini Nifosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A beautiful 11th Century monastery, faithfully renovated to a high standard. The hotel is located amongst the country farms and stone walls of this very picturesque part of Southern Sicily.

With just 22 rooms the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The room was smart and fairly simple with high quality antique furniture. The only thing that let this down was the beds were a little hard and the bathroom could do with a shower curtain so as not to flood the tiled floor each time you shower.

The staff were fantastic and really did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable, recommending places to visit, the best local restaurants and making reservations for us at a moments notice. Particularly memorable were Marco - front desk, the General Manager (didn't catch her name) and for me the stand-out was Matteo Di'Stefano, the Maitre'd. What an asset he is to this hotel, from the moment we arrived, late on a Sunday night, he could not have been any more enthusiastic, charming and attentive for the full week we were there.

The pool is nice, set in a secluded area of the garden and the main courtyard a very pleasant place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the fading sun.

The restaurant menu was of a very high standard as was the wine-list. The breakfast would benefit from a slightly more extensive menu rather than just the buffet, to be able to order your preference of eggs etc cooked to order would be a great addition.

Overall a very nice stay, authentic and relaxing.

Room Tip: The kitchen can be noisy in the early morning so choose a room further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaxman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is a lovely spot to truly relax. The staff are an amazing group of people, from the incredibly helpful concierge and smiley GM, to the barman and matire d Matteo who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and added genuine class and personality to the place. They are lucky to have him and he seriously impacted the quality of the venue. You will need transport, as the spot is remote, but beautiful and relaxing.

The rooms where comfortable, and the food in the evening was very good served in a beautiful setting by attentive staff. Breakfast was fresh fruit and a lot of cake, but would have benefitted from some greater variety as would the lunch menu. A place to have drinks outside that was not the restaurant would have been a big benefit.

Some of the advertised facilities like the bikes have seen better days, and the boat and private beach feel like they may be a tad overstated. The boat was not available and the beach was a shared affair, some distance from the hotel with an aggressively rude attendant who did everything but make you feel welcome.

The Eremo is still a family home, which in many ways adds to its charm as the family is very much in residence. However, the owner himself does not go out of the way to acknowledge or appear friendly and welcoming to his guests, which is both odd in this setup and a shame as it can undermine the hard work and effort of the amazing and authentic staff.

All in all it is a lovely place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: The single beds in the twin were a little draconian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Guest,
really thanks for your review and the compliments to the staff of Eremo della Giubiliana. It’s very important for us that are investing our efforts in trying to make you feel at home, far from it.
I want to excuse with you for the non availability of the boat you had chosen, but we try to give a service to our guests, with an agency, and maybe the day you decided to have a boat trip it was not available. But I know you have enjoied the sailing trip you have made in Marzamemi.
The beach, it’s not directly managed by us, but we have places for our guests in a friendly beach in Marina di Ragusa. Probably you know that in Italy the portion of the beach cannot be private and especially in July and August, it may appear crowded.
The Eremo Della Giubiliana is an antique private estate and has a long tradition of Hospitality. When the Son of the land owner Donna Vincenza asked her to open the Eremo to guests, he tried to convince her by saying that they had always welcomed their guests there, but she objected that all the people welcomed within the privacy of the Eremo were friends too. The answer was that “once in the Eremo, our guests would become our friends”. So it sounds really surprising that the same person who had this beautiful idea, appeared unfriendly. Probably our guest misunderstood the old education and discretion of the owners.
I again thank you Dear Guest for having chosen The Eremo Della Giubiliana for your relaxing and amusing time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was a great trip, even at a busy time (August). So much to see in Sicily and it's ideal to hire a car and get out and explore. This hotel was our base for the time we were there and it's is secluded and very pretty. Our room wasn't huge, but there are bigger ones. Again quite a small window, but at least it looked out on to a pretty courtyard. Great restaurant for dinner with live music. Staff were very attentive and friendly, giving high quality service. The owner is always around and will drive guests on any of the tours that are available at an extra cost. We went on one which was fun and otherwise we explored the island in our rental car. Taormina is unmissable as it's the perfect bay to snorkel (we booked a hotel here and in Palermo) so we could venture further out in the hire car. Other must dos are the roman villa and mosaics and the temples, Modica, Ragusa Ibla, Noto. Stunning architecture and delicious food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at Eremo for 3 nights in a suite. The room was beautiful, old stone walls, big comfortable bed and soft linens. We had a little problem with hot water, but once that was fixed we were happy. It is an old convent and has been lovingly restored. Lot's of character and in the country, so it is quiet. A great base to explore the pottery in Caltagirone, the town of Ragusa, chocolate in Modica and the Sea at Ragusa Marina. We did all that in the day and retreated to Eremo at night. The staff was very helpful and want you to enjoy everything in their part of sicily. The dining room is beautiful, but I think you can get better dinners off property. If you have travelled all day and just want an easy relaxing dinner then you eat here which we did one night. A wonderful hotel with a lot of character.

Room Tip: fraterno suite was quiet and looked out onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbied433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Mrs Debbie,
thank you very much for your impressions about Eremo della Giubiliana.
It's a place that must be understood to appreciate the History, and its beauties.
We are pleased you have enjoied your stay at Eremo della Giubiliana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
3.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
684 reviews
7.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
7 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
3.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
39.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo della Giubiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo della Giubiliana

Address: S.P. 25 per Marina di Ragusa - km 7,5 | Contrada Giubiliana, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £115 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eremo della Giubiliana 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to the different programs available you will be able to decide which itinerary to take to discover the island or explore the nearby Mediterranean destinations reachable by private plane from the airfield at Eremo della Giubiliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eremo della Giubiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Della Giubiliana Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Hotel Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing