We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eremo della Giubiliana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eremo della Giubiliana
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We are already planning to return! Our experience was unflawed and much too short. This place was the best value of any hotel we visited in Italy. The staff was gracious and knowledgeable in helping us find our way to other places in the area. We were in search of "Montalbano" and were delighted to learn that "The Shape of Water" was partly filmed there. Angelo graciously opened the suite used for the filming for us to explore.

We hope to put together a small group to explore literary Sicily with local authors and storytellers next year and will base the entire trip from Eremo. The staff's knowledge of area restaurants and wines is awesome. They can also arrange flights, hikes and day trips to natural and archeological sites.

I did use the spa for a facial, 95 euros plus tip. However, not only was it extremely pleasurable but even my husband thinks I look years younger a week later.

Room Tip: We had room 1. It has a great bathtub and lots of space. I didn't see most of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaoelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    99
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
54
265
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

On the plus side Eremo main buildings have an interesting history, are well presented inside and in a quiet location. Reception staff are helpful, dining room staff more mechanical. But the food didn't live up to the promise or the price. Extremely salty risotto was sent back, then reappeared unchanged except for an extra slosh of olive oil - it went back again. Other dishes were ok but not great - and at 20 euro each they need to be much better. Staying in the remote cottages was ok, except the wifi was broken, phone signal patchy and main phone to reception not working - but still overpriced. Targeted at Americans who will overpay for history and nobility.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mary_quont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Well maintained boutique hotel surrounded by well kept grounds and removed from the pace of city life and noise. This renovated and reconstructed monastery in the Sicilian countryside gave a perfect setting for very relaxing evenings after a long day out touring. Its location made it a perfect launching point for tours to Siracusa, Ortigia, Noto, Ragusa Ibla, and Modica. Highly recommended if you want to experience a much more local view of Sicily with the attention of a professional staff ready to go the "extra mile". The staff was attentive to every detail and took extraordinary measures for make our stay enjoyable. They were ever present but did not give the sense of hovering. Details of our stay follow below.
We arrived as a small (circa 12 people) tour group from the states for a three night stay. Greeted on an early evening arrival with a light cocktail as the staff personally escorted each guest to their room followed by a gourmet dinner in the main dining room.
Everyone in our group stayed in the main house and all found each room wonderful but with a few "surprises" related to the nature of the hotel's antique architecture and a European bath/shower. The fact that the lights and electricity to each room depended on the room key also surprised a few people who returned expecting charged phones left after leaving the room.
Our gourmet dinner was very well executed and the hotel's labeled Nero D'Avola a perfect choice. The chef chose bruscette to start with a choice of three toppings to add, each more tasty than the next (fondue of a local cheese or grilled tomatoes or grilled peppers) as an appetizer. He followed with hand made pasta (cavati) with a local beef and porcini mushrooms ragout and a main course of black pork loin with an almond/pistachio wine sauce and grilled potatoes. A dessert of his cannolo (ricotta cream topped with crumbled shell) topped off the meal. The hotel's small size made the service much more intimate than most other hotels or restaurants. The chef and sous chef joined us after the meal for very enjoyable conversation and the wait staff treated us as regulars each night.
Breakfast was the expected continental spread with a fresh frittata added as guest arrived and with a special touch of at least three different cakes that seemed to vary each day. A perfect way to start of the day since we used the hotel as the base for our daily excursions into the local countryside. Service for a specialty coffee (express or capuccino) could be slow since the barista appeared to value our privacy but she responded quickly with a cup when asked.
The hotel was a great place to relax but some in our group wanted to see more of Ragusa nearby and the staff arranged our transport and provided a local restaurant recommendation as well. Their arrangements were perfect and the restaurant a very enjoyable local secret (just locals - not another tourist in sight) at a very reasonable price.
Overall this was clearly the best hotel of the three in which we stayed for a week long tour of Sicily that started in Taormina and ended in Palermo from the perspective of service and the facility itself. I did not rate the spa only because we did not have occasion to use it during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Eremo della Giubliana for two nights in room 11. We absolutely loved every aspect of our stay. No wonder it is rated #1 in the D&K Top 10 Sicily book for luxury hotels!! Not only was the hotel warm and cozy, the staff were wonderful, and it's location met our needs. Gabriella was especially helpful in planning tours and activities for us. Margherita and Marco were very helpful and attentive to specific hotel needs.The hotel is located 13 km outside of Ragusa Ilba so it is centrally located to for visiting other Sicilian towns such as Modica, Noto, etc. We hardly ever eat at hotel restaurants but we decided to eat dinner at the hotel on our first night because we were tired. The restaurant is awaesome! So good that we ate there on our second night, too. In addition, a friend who was traveling with us used the spa facilities for a massage and said she had an amazing massage. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages at Eremo Della Giubiliana for a week self catered. The cottages are set away from the hotel overlooking the hotels private runway. Each cottage has its own private outside area, with sun loungers, table and chairs, BBQ and aircraft parking bay! It was so peaceful and relaxing, this spot is simply beautiful with the most gorgeous sun sets.

The room was well laid out to ensure in the morning you can open the patio doors and look straight outside at the sun rising, with also a large bath to relax in looking out over the runway.

We did see a couple of planes take off, which added to the excitement!

The kitchenette was small, but perfect for cooking traditional italian pasta. We cooked 5 of the 7 nights, BBQing on one of those, and found the Spar only 10mins drive away to be the perfect spot to buy fresh food from, the fridge was big enough to store this all in. We also ate at the hotel restaurant one night, which was simply divine.

Unfortunately there is no wifi over at the cottages, so meant we had to go over to the hotel should we need this. But it wasn't really an issue.

We loved our week here and found it a great spot to visit the local area, including Ragusa. Modica, Noto, Valley of Temples, Nature Reserve Vendicari and River Cava Grande di Cassibile (which is a must!).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wonderful location, food and rooms, each one is individual and viewable on line. Pool area and surroundings a bit rundown and no spa facilities (though advertised). Hotel pet - barked all night and indulgent staff let it ! Its five star plus BUT could have done with more staff, attention, proactive service. Overall terrific but a little short of top rating and value for expense.

Great room service ( complimentary wine, fruit etc) plenty of parking, very secure. Grounds a bit run down and sparse for category

Room Tip: Look at rooms online and make sure you have GPS to find hotel if driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ds213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for two lovely weeks in a cottage at Eremo in August this year, and loved it.

We thought long & hard about what score to give this hotel, because a) we don't often give a top score, and b) the Eremo's not 'perfect', but...

The faults with the hotel have been described by many reviewers - though some of the criticisms seem just bizarre (complaining that the decor is ecclesiastical for instance). The cottage itself was lovely - spacious, very comfortable. There were faults - most notably with the plumbing, but this was fixed graciously and promptly. Most faults are I think a reflection of staying in rural Sicily rather than being a criticism of the hotel though. That said, the renovations were some years ago and the age of some of the room decor is starting to show. Some small touches - like getting new bikes - would help keep the overall accommodation up to date.

The staff were without exception friendly. Special mention goes to Gabriella for her care, conversation & laughter during our stay, to Margherita for her lovely welcome on our arrival, and to Marco for his thoughtful recommendations and enthusiasm (calling ahead to the beach club to reserve loungers for instance).

For me it's those touches - and there were many - that are offered unprompted, rather than simply meeting your requests, that make you feel like 'guests' rather than just 'customers', and the staff went out of their way to make us feel relaxed and welcome. Some hotels are constantly trying to offer drinks, 'extras' etc, which personally I find annoying, and the staff were never overbearing in that way. That again is a feature of Sicilian hospitality I think.

We stayed on a self-catering rate, and so had the flexibility to take breakfast when we wanted. While the range of products at breakfast isn't the most extensive, the quality of each element, particularly the fresh pastries and cakes, cheeses and so on, was second to none, and the location - taking a table either in the restaurant or in the lovely courtyard - was very enjoyable. The pool area was spotless and we enjoyed it, though with the sea 15mins away we made little use of it.

The cottage (really a large bedroom with kitchenette, and en-suite bathroom) was cleaned very thoroughly every 2 days, which was a decent level of service. We had to keep the cottage spotless and all food in the fridge otherwise ants would invade but heh it's the countryside, and the upside of that is enjoying a bbq at the cottage in the evening, watching the sunset with a glass of prosecco, all to a soundtrack of cicadas and birdsong!

We wanted to sample rustic Sicilisan cuisine rather than formal dining and so we mainly ate at local restaurants or had BBQs, and so can't comment on the famous Don Eusabio.

We would love to return to the lovely Eremo in the future. It was a great base to explore the val di noto sites, the beaches, and longer visits to Siracusa (1 hour plus), and Agricento & Enna (2-3hrs).

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage #5, nearest the hotel, which has a slightly more open aspect than the other cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imeanreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
3.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
7.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
64.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
39.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo della Giubiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo della Giubiliana

Property: Eremo della Giubiliana
Address: S.P. 25 per Marina di Ragusa - km 7,5 | Contrada Giubiliana, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eremo della Giubiliana 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to the different programs available you will be able to decide which itinerary to take to discover the island or explore the nearby Mediterranean destinations reachable by private plane from the airfield at Eremo della Giubiliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Eremo della Giubiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Della Giubiliana Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Hotel Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing