We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchantment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eremo della Giubiliana
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enchantment!”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We loved this hotel. The garden of almond, fig, and olive trees surrounds a cool spring fed pool. It felt like we were staying in the home of an Italian nobelman. We stayed five nights and ate at the onsite restaurant every night. The food is delicious and prepared with vegetables and herbs grown in the kitchen garden. They produce their own wine, olive oil, marmelades and even soap. We took a wilderness baroque tour one day and enjoyed it immensely. The onsite spa is another attraction. It was the perfect respite from the three weeks of traveling Sicily. It is our new favorite place in Italy. We love the location, out of the city where you can ride bikes on stone lined country lanes. It is everything we like in a hotel. It also has access to a local private beach. If serenity and relaxation is what you want, this is the place. Hiking is available in local parks. Short trips by plane on the airstrip next to the hotel can get you to Malta or even Tunisia. This place has it all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a7correll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    104
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
54
272
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

What a marvel of a hotel -- easily the best we found in a month-long tour of Sicily last November! It is like some secret garden, a cloistered serenity -- not surprising perhaps, since it is in fact a beautifully restored former monastery, made of the cream-colored limestone that is echoed in the characteristic stone walls of the surrounding fields.
Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and immaculate. (I had a trivial criticism of the latter, understandable only to tall male guests, that the toilet seat refused to remain upright without manual assistance). Our room had a terrace that looked out over the gardens and the surrounding farmland -- one more manifestation of the Eremo's trademark tranquillity.
The staff were just as you would wish -- attentive, intelligent, with an old world courtesy that is an antidote to the hardships of travel. And the food they served merits a professional review. Many of the dishes are authentic Sicilian recipes we have found at no other restaurant. And then there's the breakfast -- a long, long buffet table heaped with extraordinary foods, the estate's own jams and honeys and butter and eggs, as well as a well-varied supply of the cereals that travelers expect.
This is the best way to see Ragusa, with its serious challenges to overnight parking. We had no problem in driving up to Ragusa Ibla, squeezing into a parking place on the street, and spending the day strolling through its tangled streets. The hotel is also well situated for a daytrip to the Villa Imperiale di Casale (103 km) or, for that matter, a one- or two-day ferry excursion to Malta.
Altogether, you seem to go to the Eremo as if you had suddenly learned you had some aristocratic cousin who implored you to come visit his and your ancestral estates. You don't give ratings to experiences like that, but as a hotel, we rate it, American style, as an A+.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pertinax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

What a pity. A lovely quiet setting but no real polish to the thing,. More like a three star than a five star. The managament were more Basil Fawlty than top notch and the prices and accomodation were not as grand as they would like you to think. Poorly trained staff, amateurish. Rooms at cottages were OK but not high spec - as if done by a someone who knew little about DIY. A disappointment, sadly!

  • Liked — quiet garden
  • Disliked — poor spec and service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VlLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I rturned to Eremo della Giubiliana for an holiday. I staied in a suite: the suite "Torre del Canonico", it's a shining room with a marvellous terrace: a perfect refuge to relax.
the news experience it was the Comfort Space, it isn't a SPA, but it's similar. I tried the indian ritual massage, it's a massage with olis of patchouli, nutmeg, cedarwood, and jojoba (it sounds strange!).
Oh boys! relax, relax and still relax! A scient of Est, I'm enthusiastic, I admit, it was my firtsh time in a welness center, but it is a really discovery.

  • Liked — the wellness treatment
  • Disliked — the hot of sicily
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travel0843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2008

The hotel is so beautiful and quite, the perfect place to relax. It's like livining in a museum.

Service is excellent, real 5 stars! The General Manager, Rosario Rubino, is a superb landlord!

The place to stay when in Sicily!

  • Liked — the place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOBMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

During my last travel in Scily, I stayed in Eremo della Giubiliana, near Ragusa. This is an old and historical building very fine and sugestive. There aren't work in progress during my stay in Eremo.

Everything was silent and quiet: I read in TA about noise in the hotel, cause works, but these works are evidently finished.

Everyting was perfect and I had a special emotion flying on the Eremo with a private plane: sicily from the sky is amazing.

It was a little break during my trip! I was here for a work in Ragusa, but this hotel conquer me. I hope to came back for a leisure trip!

  • Liked — The hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travel0843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford ct
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We expected a lot from the frequently rated No 1hotel in Sicily. What a dissapointment. And, it was overpriced to boot. They are clueless about service and what is expected at a "5" star hotel. For example, upon a return from a long walk (longer than expected due to their bad directions) at 2:30 PM we were very hungry. We were told the chef had left. No offer of fruit or even a piece of cheese or any leftovers from breakfast. And the hotel is in the middle of nowhere so we ate a cereal bar from our travel bag....and then felt ripped off at dinner. Easily double the price of what it should have been.

The rooms were small and the bathrooms smaller. It did have a certain amount of charm but that is about it. Find someplace to stay....probably in the old part of Ragusa.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rocket41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
3.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
39.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
7.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
89.7 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
64.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo della Giubiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo della Giubiliana

Property: Eremo della Giubiliana
Address: S.P. 25 per Marina di Ragusa - km 7,5 | Contrada Giubiliana, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eremo della Giubiliana 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to the different programs available you will be able to decide which itinerary to take to discover the island or explore the nearby Mediterranean destinations reachable by private plane from the airfield at Eremo della Giubiliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Eremo della Giubiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Della Giubiliana Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Hotel Ragusa
Eremo Della Giubiliana Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing