We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Place To Stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a lovely room with a balcony on the first floor. The outlook was quiet and pretty, the room clean and bright, with very modern furniture. The hotel is on the edge of Ragusa Superiore on the way to Ragusa Ibla, giving the best of both worlds. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early on our last morning and hence miss breakfast. Without asking we were offered and given a much appreciated 'packed' breakfast. There is also a nice terrace to relax in after a day wandering around the sites. We would stay here again should we return to this part of Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalkanBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    80
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
144
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here in early May and loved the sunny rooms, balcony with a view of Ibla, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast. Not easy to find if you come into Ragusa on the old road but a great location once you have parked up.

Room Tip: go for a superior room, best views higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandlousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wi
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid March 2013 at La Dimora Di Piazza Carmine in Upper Ragusa. The hotel has large clean rooms, with desk and sofa. The bathroom was spotless and average size for Italy. The balconies have a great view of Ibla Ragusa, the old town. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Santa Maria Scale the stairs leading down to Ibla Ragusa. The hotel is new and in excellent condition. There is bus service from the old town Ibla to within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The main area of Upper Ragusa is a couple of blocks up from the hotel where you can find many restaurants and stores.
The staff is outstanding, they are very helpful and eager to provide you with information about what to see and do not only in Ragusa but Modica, Noto and the surrounding area. The hotel works out well as a base to visit the entire area. We were able to find parking right on the street in front of the hotel each night. The friendliness of the staff alone makes it highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a of view of the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiMadcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We enjoyed the hotel very much. Lovely big room, terrific bathroom, nice and quiet. The hotel is not manned during the night, but they give you the keys and an emergency telephone number should you need it for any reason (we did not!).

Ragusa is in three parts on three different levels; the hotel is in the middle bit (centro), almost on top of the stairs down to the oldest part of the city. The walk downhill is beautiful (and there is a bus service (and taxis) to take you back uphill, should you feel weary by the end of the day).

The staff was exceptionally welcoming, the breakfast very good, and the parking free.

Room Tip: Their superior rooms have a lovely view over the old city and the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingebjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at La Dimora di Piazza Carmine only one night, but it was a perfect stay. From the welcoming to the end, we enjoyed everything.
The hotel is new, the white and brown decoration highlights the historical aspects of the building. The room we had was big, very comfortable ; the bathroom was just amazing !
We loved this place surrounding Ragusa Ibla.
To recommend !

Room Tip: Ask for the 108, it has a great balcony surrounding Ragusa Ibla
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this lovely new hotel. The rooms (there are only nine)are modern with clean and efficient lines, the breakfast is yummy and the staff, especially Isabella Sanzo the manager, is extradinary. You feel welcomed and pampered. Breakfast can even be served in your room if you'd like. The hotel is in Ragusa but looks directly at Ragusa Ibla and is only a 10 minutes walk to Ragusa Ibla. The view of Ragusa Ibla from our bedroom window and balcony was breath taking. We had the junior suite on the top floor of this lovely old, renovated building so it is a bit larger than the other rooms, but all the rooms are beautiful and many have balconies and direct view of Ragusa Ibla. Of all the places we stayed during our two weeks in Sicily, this hotel ranks at the top.

Room Tip: The junior suite and the superior rooms have a remarkable view. If you wnat a larger room ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noraintoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#6 of 37 in Ragusa
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
0.3 mi away
Mediterraneo Palace
Mediterraneo Palace
#14 of 37 in Ragusa
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dimora di Piazza Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dimora di Piazza Carmine

Property: La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Address: Piazza Carmine 17, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dimora di Piazza Carmine 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Dimora di Piazza Carmine" is situated in the charming old part of Ragusa, Baroque's heart and UNESCO's patrimony. The nineenth-century building was the former seat of the "Barn of the Modica's County" and it is located in the graceful Piazza Carmine. Here the time is marked by the bell tower of the old Sanctuary in front of the hotel. The modernity of the interior design and its baroque architecture represent a perfect alliance, and they make the hotel pleasant and original. The attention in the choice to every detail gives to all rooms an high level of comfort for our guests, who will experience a very emotional journey to discover the beautiful places of Sicily. The strong point of "La Dimora di Piazza Carmine" is certainly its fantastic terrace which offers a striking view of Ragusa Ibla, where guests will have the opportunity to taste the delicious breakfast based on authentic Sicilian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Dimora di Piazza Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dimora Di Piazza Carmine Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing