We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Handy, Very Helpful, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterraneo Palace
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Handy, Very Helpful, Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

At the start of the pedestrian area just across the bridge, this is a handily located hotel. The room was very nice and at a good price. The internet worked well and the included breakfast was well presented and had a good variety.

The most special thing was the help I received from reception staff in achieving my goals. They were flexible as my needs changed and helped me sort out travel issues.

A good experience.

Room Tip: A view over the bridges would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    172
    110
    30
    13
See reviews for
55
129
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Conveniently located near shopping and dining. Best shower water pressure we ever had in Europe. Good breakfast buffet. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I invited more than 30 people for my wedding and advised them to stay at this place for a couple of nights. What to say... Great location, in the close neighbourhood of the historical and cultural center of the city. The baroqque town is in 10 minutes walking through a set of old stairs at which sides you can admire the ancient architecture in a series of churches and historical palaces. It is also logistically perfect since well connected to all the ways to reach surrounding cultural plases. The sea is just at 20 min by car. Free parking is provided to hotel's guest. Rooms are very nice, a bit old fashion but very clean and comfortable. Room prices are relatively cheap, if compared to other places on the seaside in August. Excellent breackfast. Overall, it's a real four stars. Finally but above all, very friendly and nice staff in a typical sicialian style! Reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gianniguastella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I understand this hotel is no longer a Best Western. We were visiting Ragusa, South East Sicily, for 8 days with a party of Rotarians hosted by the local Rotary Club. We received a friendly welcome from Reception. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable, if not a little stark. The staff were attentive, breakfasts were adequate provided you arrived in the restaurant before 8am.

We only dined twice in the hotel restaurant, but then Ragusa has many fine restaurants in both the old and new town and we enjoyed some of the best meals ever in our travels around Europe

The greatest attraction of this hotel is its location. Ragusa and Ragusa Ibla, the new and old towns, have some very fine Baroque Churches and large buildings mostly from the early 18th century, some excellent shops, miles of fascinating narrow streets. The whole town was full of life and my wife and I felt both welcome and safe whether alone or with our friends. Ragusa is the chief town of its province and would be a good base for visiting surrounding towns such as Modica or the smart modern seaside resort of Marina di Ragusa.

Hopefully the new owners of the hotel will bring some TLC to the building. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: .Rooms facing the main street which is traffic free can be a little noisy as it is a favourite for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Once the best hotel in Ragusa, this former Best Western hotel has gone down since the change of ownership. The hotel is now popular with school parties to the extent the dining area is overwhelmed and the whole hotel echoes with childish shouts like a swimming pool.

While we were there the air conditioning was not working, nor was there the advertised access to the internet. We did not find the memory foam beds very comfortable.

The rooms are clean and a good size if somewhat souless with plastic covered seats. The hotel is well placed for visits to Ragusa Ibla and the Montalbano film sets.

Care is needed if using the underground garage as the overhead door is uplifted from reception who do not appear to have visual sight of the operation. In a 4 day stay we were twice almost caught by the door being closed prematurely as we drove in and out.

Care is needed if using the underground garage as the overhead door is uplifted from reception who do not have sight of the operation and in a 4 day stay we were twice nearly caught by the door closing prematurely on the car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking22210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ragusa hotels

Rockport, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The road in front od the hotel was all tore up and dust and dirt everywhere. The rooms were not all the hot, rather cheap! The breakfast was pathetis with luke warm coffee! The waitress kept taking the cups of coffee to the microwave, but you had to wait your turn! I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Located in the modern city of Ragusa, the 4-star (Italian standard) offers very spacious and comfortable rooms (a little bit old fashioned but still very nice).
A car park is available for 8€/day otherwise you would have to park on the bridge nearby.

The old city center is 30 minutes away by walk but is offering an amazing view on the old city (a lot of stairs to climb to come back, but worth it!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieDeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#20 of 38 in Ragusa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittorio Veneto
Hotel Vittorio Veneto
#21 of 38 in Ragusa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
0.6 mi away
Villa Boscarino
Villa Boscarino
#10 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Palace

Property: Mediterraneo Palace
Address: Via Roma 189, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterraneo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ragusa
Mediterraneo Palace Ragusa
Mediterraneo Palace Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing