We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Castello Vecchio
Ranked #10 of 142 Ragusa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a great time at castello vecchio. Virginia was an exceptional host. She is very kind, helpfull and interested. Breakfast was also great, including a delicious homemade pie. The castello itself is beautiful and full of history. It's central location makes it an ideal place for trips inside and outside Ragusa. We would warmly recommend the place to anyone.

Many thanks Virginia!

Rosa & Wilko

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roosmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello V, Proprietario at B&B Castello Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Rosa & Wilko,
it was a pleasure to host you!
Hope to see you here again
All my best
Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in a beautiful villa. It was a privilege to stay there, in an atmosphere that brings Visconti's film 'Il Gattopardo' ('The Leopard') to mind. Any photographs of the house simply do not do it justice. Nothing was too much trouble for the Signora who owns the house, who helped make our stay so enjoyable. Such genuine hospitality and kindness are not always easy to find nowadays. Our dog was warmly welcomed, too. There are magnificent views of the Cathedral dome, as well as of the surrounding countryside. It is centrally located, yet there is plenty of space to park the car, and it was great to be able to leave it there and wander around the town on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houston424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello V, Proprietario at B&B Castello Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2014

Many thanks for your rewiew, it was a pleasure to host you, hope to see again.
All my best
Virginia Arezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Castelvechio is situated on the top of the hill of Ragusa Ibla, with parking facility in front, not a luxury in this medieval part of town. Our host kindly called us ahead to inform us of the different activities related to the Holy Friday and arranged for a guided visit the next day. The breakfast served for all guests at the dining table provided a really welcome and authentic ‘feel-at-home’ feeling. Our host is born in this family house and we were treated as family guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TanguydeLestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Very nice b&b, comfortable, easy parking, nice rooms, beautiful view of the dome of the church of Saint George. The owner is a very nice and cordial person. Excellent breakfast with some typical sicilian food products.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arezzomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello V, Proprietario at B&B Castello Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013
Google Translation

Grazie per l'ottima recensione, a presto Virginia Arezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This B&B is a quite large and impressive house at the very top of Ragusa Ibla, the older and generally more interesting (to a tourist) of the two Ragusas. While not exactly easy (my GPS kept trying to route me through pedestrian-only streets), finding the B&B is not difficult. As long as you keep gaining elevation, you'll start to see signs for Castello Vecchio; once you hit the top, you'll have reached your destination. The location is actually quite good for accessing the main sights of Ragusa Ibla as it is just a short downhill walk to reach the Duomo, etc.

As mentioned by others, parking is no problem and that is a real advantage in this otherwise crowded town.

Virginia, the owner and proprietor, met us with plate(s) of fresh strawberries. We found that this is the kind of hospitality you can expect at Castello Vecchio. While not extravagant, and certainly not ostentatious, the hospitality is warm and genuine. This is not a B&B that was purchased and 'created' for guests such as some I have stayed in. Virginia grew up in this house (in fact, we were given the room she used as a child) and it is most definitely a home.

Breakfast was typical Italian/Sicilian with coffee/tea/juice and some fresh breads. Virginia did ask for and try to cater to our requests. She speaks enough English to be a gracious hostess but I wish that I spoke some Italian to better converse with her and learn more about her history and that of the house. She did give us a short tour of one of the more formal rooms and it was quite impressive.

Room Tip: The normally quiet piazza outside of the B&B can attract scooter riders on the weekends. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreetoRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Castel Vecchio or "Old castle" B&B is a large house built on the site of a castle that was destroyed in the 18th Century earthquake that destroyed much of the region. The "new" house was built by the current owners grandfather in the 1800's and would have been an amazing "high society" house in it's day. It commands the top of the hill overlooking Ragusa and still is an imposing residence.

The owner (and her 2 cocker spaniels) are welcoming and interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 24 hour free parking is available at the door (unusual in this town of tiny streets) and it is easy to find - just keep going until you reach the highest point.

The room, with views across the valley was large and spotless, and the en suite bathroom modern and clean. There was no noise or passing traffic as the road ends at the house. Breakfast was minimilist but adequate and learning about the house and family history in a mixture of English, Italian and sign language was fascinating.

All in all a B&B with a difference.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toys_with_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello V, Proprietario at B&B Castello Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Many many thanks, also if a little bit late for your review, my first review!
All my best
Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giancarlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.1 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
0.2 mi away
Sabbinirica
Sabbinirica
#1 of 142 in Ragusa
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giardino Sul Duomo
Giardino Sul Duomo
#4 of 142 in Ragusa
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Locanda La Meridiana
Locanda La Meridiana
#3 of 142 in Ragusa
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel dell'Orologio
Hotel dell'Orologio
#8 of 142 in Ragusa
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Castello Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Castello Vecchio

Address: Piazza Solarino Dottore 2, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Ragusa
Price Range: £52 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the top of Ragusa Ibla, on the highest part of the city, the B&B is located in a noble building on the ruins of the Cabrera's Castle, the Counts of Modica and Lords of Ragusa. In a very central position, with the University in front of it and through its windows it seems that you can almost touch the S. Giorgio's dome. Four wedding rooms and a single bedroom, with a distinguished furnishing, an excellent breakfast will offer our clients to enjoy themselves and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Castello Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Castello Vecchio Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing