We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rustic and Modern Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La dimora di Spartivento
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Rustic and Modern Retreat”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked La Dimora as we planned to use it as a base to travel extensively in the region. The rooms and facilities, located in a series of renovated buildings, wrap a landscaped courtyard provided relief from the windswept ridge on which the buildings sit, giving the hotel its name. The views across the pool terrace to the valley below are stunning and unexpected. The meticulous renovation melds traditional agrarian architecture with modern flourishes, the rustic architecture having been transformed into comfortable hotel rooms and grand public spaces. We were upgraded to a two story lofted suite with a stone vaulted ceiling and a vast window. The room was more like an apartment and quite cozy. A friend had a small single room, monastic compared to ours (although the bathrooms were identically sized) but she claimed it absolutely perfect for her.

The location is remote, just off a state road and with its own exits (and there is helpful signage) so therefore requires the use of a car to make one’s way into Modica or Ragusa or any number of other nearby cities or to find restaurants in the evening as nothing is nearby. For us, the highway did not prove to be a noise issue and made our travels and parking easy. The large pool and deck were modern and beautiful and would definitely be a real amenity in warmer weather

Breakfast was presented in a large room with high ceiling, just off the reception area and was abundant and delicious, complete with homemade cakes and coffee drinks made to order. The barista was always accommodating when we requested yet another cappuccino and while conversing, disclosed that she prepared the cakes every day, flavors rotating, and even offering to make one of our choosing if we wanted. The desk staff spoke English and Italian and was always helpful with suggestions, directions and also with patiently indulging me with Italian grammar lessons which was greatly appreciated. This hotel charmed us and is worth far more than the rate that was charged and remains a pleasant memory and an unbeatable value in Sicily.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimora D, Direttore at La dimora di Spartivento, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
a heartfelt thanks in the name of La Dimroa di Spartivento from this wonderful land, Ragusa, Sicily South East, for such an extraordinary explanation.

We are speechless! Very kind of you.

Thank you once more.

luca guerrieri
the hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    74
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
167
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houthalen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The only place to stay if your're looking best value for money.Do not let influence you by other comments giving this a bad score for the location.Of course you need a car to explore the region!with the airports nearby (CTA/CIY) ideal for visiting the south of Sicily.furthermore a superlative breakfast buffet (rare for Italian norm)and large ,very well equipped rooms.this is (today) TOP level !!
In case you go for a stay, enjoy -Fabrizio

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabrizio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nicely refurbished little country houses made of limestones.
Very nice staff. The buffet breakfast is great with fresh products and home-made cakes.
The hotel is close to a road with high traffic connecting Ragusa to Modica, so make sure your room is not too close to the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YK_Lausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Location not the best: on the highway
Price: medium
Quality: EXCELLENT
Clean, comfortable, cosy, romantic.
Breakfast: it is absolutely the most tasty breakfast that we had during our trip in Sicily. Local specialty: Almond milk, ricotta, honey- delicious. Breakfast was perfect.
There is no possibility to have dinner/lunch there, but it is not a problem.

Personnel in hotel is very-very friendly, helpful. I definitely advice this hotel.
Very close to Ragusa.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

If you looking for a glorified motel then this is exactly what this place is. Even though it is a pretty place it very difficult to find since it does not appear on google maps and it does not offer dinner, so you have to head into town every day, not a good idea if you have a 1 year old boy who needs to sleep by 9pm.

The worst of it all is that it right off the autostrada so you can hear the trucks driving past. The rooms are done up nicely but the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbours speak, not great if you are looking for a peaceful nights sleep.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Nice place to stay in order to visit Ragusa and the coast, these recently converted farm building are on a hill top so the price you pay for views is the wind. The lack of restaurant we can understand as there are many fine eateries in Ragusa, but why no bar to have a lunchtime drink/snack or late evening coffee?
The rooms were nice although we had one VERY big problem in (i think) room 6 or 8, as they go back-to-back with rooms that face the road.
THE DIVIDING WALLS ARE PAPER THIN!
So not just noise from the other room, but actual words / singing in the shower etc with which we could have joined in with if our Italian was better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked a room at La Dimora di Spartivento for three nights of our family holiday in Sicily based on the good reviews and nice photos of the hotel on Trip Advisor and Booking.com. While some reviews mentioned that the hotel was on a main road, it wasn't completely obvious that it is LITERALLY ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY, just down the road from an extremely ugly complex of huge factories and nowhere near any town or place to even get a coffee. To suggest that it is anywhere close to the beautiful Sicilian countryside is pure deception unless the definition of "countryside" is "on the side of a major highway in the middle of nowhere." The hotel's entrance is its own off-ramp from the highway - not expecting that it would be that way (even though the address can only be given by GPS coordinates and a mile number on the highway), we whizzed right by it in our car, and had no opportunity to turn around for more than 10 kilometers. By that point, we determined that this was not a place to stay for our vacation with our two young sons. We ended up turning around and going to the hotel to sit in the parking lot so that we could use the wifi to find another place to stay - management angrily responded to an email I sent about the cancellation fee by claiming that I improperly used the wifi, but I believe that the $250 USD cancellation fee more than compensated for the 20mins of wifi that i used. From what I saw, the hotel was clean and the photos of the rooms make them look perfectly appealing, but the location is so unfortunate, especially for the relatively high cost of the rooms.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank moromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
2.5 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
627 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
4.1 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#22 of 37 in Ragusa
256 reviews
5.8 mi away
Relais Parco Cavalonga
Relais Parco Cavalonga
#9 of 37 in Ragusa
320 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#17 of 37 in Ragusa
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La dimora di Spartivento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La dimora di Spartivento

Property: La dimora di Spartivento
Address: S.S.115 Km 323, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La dimora di Spartivento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an hotel *** set in the Sicilian countryside, 5 km outside Ragusa. It features a large garden with swimming pool and children's playground, and free wi-fi. Spacious rooms and suites are air conditioned, and have a country-style décor. The minibar is stocked with local produce and the en suite bathroom comes with bathrobes. Organic ingredients, homemade cakes, almond milk and much more are served as part of the sweet and savoury buffet breakfast. La dimora provides free parking and is just off the SS15 national road, a 10 minutes' drive from Modica and 20 minutes by car from Scicli. The nearest beach is 22 km away in Marina di Ragusa. A horse riding school is 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your La dimora di Spartivento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dimora Di Spartivento Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing