We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, far from centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel is quite spectacular, with the main part of the building being constructed some 4 years ago. Rooms are large with views either on the pool area or fields. Breakfast is served from 7am to 10am which includes a large table full of different cakes and croissants. However, if you leave too late for breakfast, you might end up without your favourite bread/ham/fruits given that once any dish is finished off by other guests, this is not replaced by a new one. The hotel restaurant serves good food which is affordable. Overall, I enjoyed the luxuries of the hotel, however we did not have a car and so we could not go for walks in the city centre or marina by night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffTheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We used this property as a base to explore southeast Sicily as it is located between Ragusa and Marina Di Ragusa. We found the location, outside of the cities and on a major road, very convenient for touring. The hotel is modern and has an on site restaurant, spa and a very large pool. Breakfast was great here with a large selection of pastries. The staff was very helpful. I would certainly return to this property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, great location halfway between Ragusa ibla and the marina. We had a great room overlooking the beautiful pool, the only problem was with the power shortages that happened during the night but that was beyond the hotels control and only affected us intermittently for a couple of hours. We saw the funny side of it and we're joking with the staff we hadn't been to a disco in ages due to the baby.
The fact that there was 2 local weddings in the 2 nights we were there says it all really, it's just lovely.
We stayed with our 8 month old and they could not do enough for us all. We were going to stay in town but having gone there for dinner for a night, it's beautiful but youre limited in what you can do there and don't think we would have gone back into town for a second time. Besides the dinner we had at the beautiful hotel restaurant was so far superior to anything we saw in town or indeed the dinner we had in town.
The one downside, for ahotel this size and standard, they should have a shuttle in to town in the evenings... It ended up costing us 50 euros for a return trip despite it only being 10-15 min trip either way.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Padontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Everything about this hotel was great. From the service to the rooms, restaurant, friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

During my stay in Sicily i've ended up in Ragusa and Stopped at the Poggio del Sole Resort. The kind staff welcomed me warmly and i've been given a nice room. The restaurant was marvellous, very coasy and the food was so good. i also liked the wine louge area at the terrace....ideal for relax.
Good to know there is a place where you want to go back. Will recommend. Thank You

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyDirection2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed here with a group on a business trip and the professional staff, great restaurant, and modern, comfortable rooms made it a perfect choice. I do wish I had time for the pool (which looked very inviting) and the spa! The decor throughout is chic and we all had a pleasant one night stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusanVanAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We just returned from a 12 day self guided tour of Sicily. One of the highlights was our stay in Ragusa. We searched for a newer hotel that offered a more modern design with a good cross selection of room sizes. We were quite happy with Poggio del Sole not just because of the property but the location. I had initially thought I wanted to stay in Ragusa Ibla and thought I'd be disappointed. But after we arrived I changed my mind and was quite happy. It's a short drive (10 minutes) to the historic town of Ragusa Ibla and probably only 15 minutes from the beach (Marina Ragusa), but out of the fray, (with great parking). The breakfast was great as well as the servers each morning. The Sicilian pasteries were amazing. Lastly, The front desk staff was terrific and professional. Fabiola was so extremely helpful to us with directions, and bookings to restaurants and a winery which made the full experience great.. Thanks!

Room Tip: Spring for a junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
2.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
664 reviews
2.3 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
6.1 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#24 of 37 in Ragusa
268 reviews
5.6 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Domus Aurea Resort
Domus Aurea Resort
#30 of 37 in Ragusa
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort

Address: SP Ragusa / Marina di Ragusa - Km 5,7, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio del Sole Resort is beautifully situated in the hyblean landscape. Those buldings which were once parts of an elegant "masseria" now frame a multi-purpose and uniquely designed Hotel with its restaurants, bars, meeting rooms and Spa. Please come and visit us. Our staff will carefully help you to discover more about Poggio del Sole Resort and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poggio Del Sole Ragusa
Hotel Poggio Del Sole Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing