We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautiful new resort. Outdoor pool - a little too cold to enjoy on an October evening but beautiful pool and patio made it tempting. Restaurant was very nice. Bar with outdoor seating. Lovely rooms, very modern. Staff, particularly desk manager, went above and beyond to provide what we needed - he was there both early morning and late evening (he must work all of the time). Wonderful breakfast. Location a little remote if you don't have a car, but very peaceful and nice. Placing a dinner order at the restaurant did take a while, but we enjoyed the beautiful setting and when the food came it was great. Very firm mattresses, a little too firm for me. We had a less than comfortable stay at our last hotel, so staying at this property, where every effort was made to make us comfortable, was a relief.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    285
    56
    20
    10
See reviews for
133
383
9
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I booked this thinking that it was by the sea, but it's actually 14 k away from Marina de Ragusa, off the main road, with nothing around it, so once you're booked in, if you want to eat out or go to the beach, it's a drive. This actually makes the hotel quite ideal for being away from the crowds, fairly quiet, and an unexpected sanctuary from the heat. We had 2 rooms, both comfortable with nice views over the pool, which were very quiet, with double doors opening to a rail. The reception staff were efficient but not very friendly, and for a 'resort', expected a little more information on the facilities (pool, spa, breakfast) but we weren't given any information. The pool was very nice, the breakfast extensive and beautifully laid out (sparkling wine, lovely local cheese, great scrambled eggs), the bar staff had fun making some cocktails for us, but the dinner was a disaster due to the unbelievably poor service (very Faulty Towers). Having said this, when the food did arrive, the fresh tuna was lovely, the fresh pasta was marginally undercooked and the wine pleasant. The service was the worst that we'd experienced in Sicily, but that aside, the hotel was a good choice. I understand that the hotel is geared for weddings and conferences, so double check that these aren't going on when you book.

Room Tip: Check that there isn't a large event going on like a wedding or a conference, and if you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel and weren't disappointed. The staff are very friendly, speak good English and were always helpful.

We stayed in Junior suite on the second floor with lovely country views and sunsets. All you hear are the chirping birds!

Breakfast was abundant but consisted mostly of freshly baked cakes, cereals and delicious croissants.

The pool area and deck is large and not crowded at all with adequate sunbeds and shade.

You'll definitely need a car to make the best of this hotel and visit the nearby towns and beaches.

The restaurant is very good but a bit pricy. Ragusa Ibla is only 10 minutes away by car and you can find a large amount of very good restaurants there.

We travelled with a child and had no problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms farthest from the main road and particularly the top floor roms overlooking the fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at this hotel. Our standard room was large with a lovely large bathroom, at the back of the hotel (and so very quiet), with views over open countryside and the sunset over the sea in the distance.
The selection at breakfast was vast and always plentiful. The food in the restaurant was always of a high standard, and we found the staff very helpful both at breakfast and dinner.
Lovely pool and always plenty of sun loungers, even a small garden area at one end with trees for shade which we always had to ourselves.
Hire car essential, beautiful beaches and safe swimming at Marina di Ragusa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Beautiful resort in the middle of nowhere, but great place to just relax. While the property (lovely and clean) amenities (generous) and hotel staff (professional and pleasant), just avoid the restaurant where the service is half-hearted and sometimes outright unpleasant, and food is even worse (the cursing chef should have been a clue!). Drive to Ragusa Ibla for lunch or dinner. Breakfast was fine and ample. Good location to explore the various lovely towns in the area (Ragusa, Modica, Scicle, Marina di Ragusa).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
225 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

It's a hotel for honeymooners or those who can stay outside of civilisation where they can relax. Quite modern and expansive. Lobby, bar and confernence rooms give you the impression of a much bigger property. Service at the restaurant where we had dinner on the first evening was absolutely disastrous, with the staff having no clue about the service. The restaurant is also not connrecetd dierctly with the main hotel. It appears that staff needs some more training though as in most hotels in Italy, they are very polite and try to be helpful. There is no outside view from the room to write home about unless you think of slightly grassy fields as relaxing and peaceful. Nice facilites for swimming, gym etc. Good service at breakfast though it is rather unbalanced- with countless sweets confectionary-I could not find a croissant that was not sstuffed with sinful calorific and tasty stuffing. It has the potential of becoming a 5-star in my eyes, if service level is improved. its location could be excellent for many though not great for equal numebr of people because of its isolation from the city

Room Tip: Since the view is not much, I would prefer a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineguyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a modern , clean hotel that has a conference center and a large dining room. It reminds me of a Holiday Inn Crown Plaza. Except for the views of wheat fields and round hay bales you could be anywhere, The rooms are very plain and the amenities non-expensive. You would be fine staying there but it is not memorable.The restaurant has some fine dishes but they are rushed with not enough help and my meat came raw. When it was sent back it came back gray.The staff tries very hard and is pleasant. The breakfast is fine.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, the whole area is dead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelartist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
2.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.3 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
6.1 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#17 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#6 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort

Property: Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Address: SP Ragusa / Marina di Ragusa - Km 5,7, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio del Sole Resort is beautifully situated in the hyblean landscape. Those buldings which were once parts of an elegant "masseria" now frame a multi-purpose and uniquely designed Hotel with its restaurants, bars, meeting rooms and Spa. Please come and visit us. Our staff will carefully help you to discover more about Poggio del Sole Resort and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poggio Del Sole Ragusa
Hotel Poggio Del Sole Resort Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing