We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Both my wife and I needed a place to relax and rest while at the same time enjoy good food and this in comfortable surroundings. I phoned the hotel prior to driving and I managed to find the narrow side street just before the main roundabout on the first try.

All in all we cannot complain on any of the amenities provided and in fact found the staff to be very friendly and helpful; the food very good and a first class headwaiter to see to every detail, the room very clean. We shall return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorianaFloriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

A well positioned hotel to explore Ragusa and its surroundings, with clean, modern rooms and great service. There is a nice swimming pool and small fitness centre, as well as SPA services, which we didn't try.
The restaurant is in particular worthy of a visit, with its well priced Michelin-star level food!
If you are looking for a no-frills clean place to stay at a great price in the area, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiscell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel is located in a residential area that is rather difficult to navigate. Once off the main rode, you wander through a number of side streets, then suddenly find yourself entering the parking area. The room seemed Spartan but was very modern in lighting and very simple furnishings that worked well. It was fine for a one-night stay. Our disappointment came with the evening meal in what was said to be a Michelin rated restaurant. The meal was very bland and not tasty. The chef showed no imagination whatsoever. The wines and grappa were very good, though.

Room Tip: Go out to dinner elsewhere--this was a disappointing experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was the second time we visited Villa Carlotta. We booked a quad room which was very comfortable and cosy. Service was excellent as always and staff is always very friendly and helpful. One thing you need to keep in mind when staying At Villa Carlotta is to try and stick to nearby villages if you want to avoid long distances and hiring a car would be the best thing to do. (eg Ibla Ragusa, Noto, Vittoria etc) Their breakfast was EXCELLENT. Would love to revisit.

Room Tip: We had a quad which was excellent for us but be careful since the double bed is upstairs and sofabed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneMarie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We chose Villa Carlotta on the advice of friends in order to avoid driving on the narrow Ragusa streets. It is at the edge of town -- don't use your GPS as it takes you onto a road with no access to Via Ghandi. Desk staff could not help us with busses into Ragusa, so we took a taxi to dinner (at Duomo - extraordinary) and also next day to Ibla. We were disappointed later that day to observe busses going back and forth 2 blocks from the hotel. Room was lovely but no bedside plugs ( for those with sleep apnea who need to use Cpap machine). Very good and extensive breakfast with high quality food and service. You really need to drive to find a meal, but there was a pretty decent pizzeria a few blocks away and a bar nearby as well (but after that meal at Duomo, who wanted to eat?) Ragusa is fun to just wander in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

this was our first stop in Sicily. We arrived at Catania and it is about 1h15 driving from there.
The hotel is easy to find, just follow the signs. The GPS will however mislead you to the other side of the road but the road is cut in 2 so you cannot drive to the hotel though the road. Just follow the signs it is easier.
Ragusa is at 600m height so the swimming pool tends to cool down at night and is fresh in the morning. So maybe they could heat it up a bit.
The hotel is modern in a classy setting.
They also have a dependency where they have weddings so the swimming pool closes at 7pm which is rather early we thought, especially if you are travelling with kids.

The only bar they have is at the swimming pool but the bar tender meft at 6pm so we could not have a drink before our dinner, which is a pitty.
We found however a nice local bar not too far (drive from the hotel back to Ragusa town) and at the first roundabout on your right there is this modern bar with lots of locals. If you go there after 6pm and have a drink you also get snack, similar to the Spanish tapas.

We had dinner twice at the hotel and the food is great. Breakfast is also very good.
The restaurant is quoted in theMichelin guide and it is worth its money. It is not cheap but it has Michelin quality and the waiter/maitre d has a profound knowledge of local wines, let him choose for you.

We were with 2 children age 15 and 13 and had a junior suite.
It is not very big but very nice and enough. we don't go on holidays to,stay in our room :-)

I would recommend the hotel, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knarf_from_Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

easy to locate by car. We arrived early and room was not ready, so we had breakfast. Room was ready in the afternoon. We were quite amazed on how tiny the room was, no space at all. We booked a standard room. There was a cupboard built in the room that served as a storage area for housekeeping, obviously access from the corridor. IRoom was clean and modern style. We were only there for one night so we did not ask to change room. Evening dinner, we had the six course meal at the one michelin star restaurant. all courses were simply amazing, presentation and taste excellent. Breakfast was good although we missed the sicilian cannoli that we have found in other sicilian hotels. In general the hotel is design is modern and has a nice pool at the entrance of the hotel, which we never used due to weather. For the price paid i expected more from the room. i would go back to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
3.8 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
2.9 mi away
Domus Aurea Resort
Domus Aurea Resort
#28 of 37 in Ragusa
80 reviews
2.4 mi away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa del Lauro
Villa del Lauro
#24 of 37 in Ragusa
161 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
2.7 mi away
Locanda Don Serafino
Locanda Don Serafino
#31 of 37 in Ragusa
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Gandhi, 3, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £82 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique hotel in Ragusa with swimming pool, Michelin starred restaurant, meeting and congress rooms, garden, car park, internet wi-fi. Villa Carlotta hotel offers suites, junior suites and classic rooms for a relaxing or a business stay. It is situated in a convenient location to visit the baroque monuments of Ragusa Ibla, Modica and Scicli and the most known tourist destination in South-Eastern Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Carlotta Hotel Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing