We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kamarina September 2011”
Review of Club Med Kamarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kamarina
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Reviewed 3 October 2011

It's a Club Med, so you can't expect a very luxurious room, with a hot tub and a king size bed. But the room was nice, clean and more than enough for someone that just uses it for sleeping a taking a shower.

The food was good, much better than any other Club Med I've been, but the main restaurante was too crowded.

The hotel was huge, very beautiful and pleasent.

The animation could be better but I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jferreira20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

Went to Club Med Kamarina from Sept. 3rd to Sept. 17. Being a Sicilian native myself, I was quite disappointed to see other Sicilians act so cold and indifferent towards their guests. The food is not bad, but having to eat 3 buffet-meals a day, it was quite a bit too much. A place like this, should have at least 4-5 restaurants "a la carte". After a few days of buffets, you start getting fed up of the same food, although not bad. You go there to see how Sicilians cook and treat others, and after living what we lived these past 2 weeks, I'm a bit ashamed of calling myself a "Sicilian". I was born to respect others and always keep a smile on your face, and after 51 years in Canada, I decide to go back and visit my native country, and what do I find? No respect, no smile, a bit arrogant and bad mannered. Apart from "Lucia and Anna" in the reception area, along with "Francesco" from the outside pizza stand, everyone else was cold and arrogant. I asked one waitress to get us some water and she directed me where to get it myself, at the entrance of the restaurant. The air-conditioner didn't work most of the time we were there, unless we restart it ourselves (if we happen to be in the room when the power went off), and if not, the room would feel like a furnace when you walked in after a few hours at the beach.
Couldn't have been more disappointed than we already are. I don't think my husband and I will ever go back there. This vacation was for our 40th Wedding Anniversary, which happens to be on September 11, and we spent it in the heat, fighting for food at the buffet and not a quite good choice of drinks. The guests are very rude as well and ill-mannered.
I suppose I don't have any nice things to say about Club Med Kamarina, except the village is quite nice. There is no transport from one place to another for people with walking diffuculties, like myself. They should have less tourists, more services and better Sicilian food (so they call it).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filomena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We looked for an affordable seamless base to explore the Baroque cities rebuilt after 17C.
earthquake. Kamarina worked very well....Travel arrangements were faultless. Seaview room
in hotel building quiet,clean and well-appointed. The building has full facilities. A nice walk thru the manicured extensive tropical gardens, leads to the "Villagio" with chalets, shops, all
offices,clinic and pool. This is where the action is...The 3 restaurants are elegantly catered but the natural ventilation and crowding could cause discomfort. The staff is very friendly,attentive and reliable.Travel staff successfully helped organise trips. Even if you are not "sportif", this facility offers a great way to see this fascinating area. All arrangements handled efficiently and as is usual for Club Med... most of the drinks are on the house!

Room Tip: For elder travellers without kids the hotel is quieter and not exposed to the noise and music. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

just returned from an excellent family holiday in kamarina club med resort. sterling silver. our kids a 13yr old & an 8yr old loved every second. both of them enjoyed the activities. very family orientated. they begged us to extend by another week but obv with our commitments we couldn't. food is good. best of 3 restaurants in our opinion is the Marino Cavallo thou the Dune is more convenient for breakfast & lunch as it's closer to the main area/pool. staff are simple great and very helpful. the agora bartenders are superb. special regards from Malta to Gianni! hope to see him on our island one day soon.

the only 2 complains - toooooo manyyyyyy flies and the street paving as hubby twisted his foot more than once.

on the whole 2 thumbs up for kamarina club med & its friendly staff. we miss you bigtimeeeeee guyz!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank maltesekiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I spent 2 great weeks in this club with 2 children - 11mo and 7yr old. The club is fully equipped for vacations with babies - we were provided with Baby bed, bath, bottle warmer, central restaurant ( canteen) had freshly prepared baby food, trollers are provided at request. "adult" food is great as usually at clubmeds, rooms are quite spacious by clubmed standards. my elder daughter loved mini-clubmed, even though she does not speak french nor italian. I would rate my stay at 5 stars - we truly loved it and intended to return.
However, the impressions were spoiled during the last day: clubmed lost our luggage and we left the club without it in wet swimming suits. We were kicked out of the room 6h prior to departure - they did not allow late check-out - left our properly marked luggage at the designated place and went to the beach. 1 h prior to departure we found out that our luggage was missing. We spent 2 nervous hours at the reception desk and had to leave to the airport as is. It later turned that a driver of an earlier departing group took our bags and left them in front of the airport unattended. We were lucky to find them x hours later but it did not improve our opinion about clubmed luggage handling procedures - my advice is to never separate with your bags!
Other things to note:
They offer babysitter service- it costs 16 eur/hr, 2 hr min. Babysitters are professional and nice, but do not speak English. Also, it is not clubmed service and be prepare to pay in cash.
Bungalows are quite far from the beach - it took us 15-20 min with 2 kids to get there. Hotel is right on the beach, but that beach is not stroller accessible - there are stairs. Also, hotel restaurant does not offer fresh baby-food - only jars. Bungalow's canteen as a good selection of freshly cooked baby good - but only for lunch. For dinner they heat up lunch food. Once they ran out of it by dinner and we were offered jars. But it happened only once. They also have a separate children restaurant near the "bungalows canteen".
For bungalows you have a trade-off between proximity to the pool/reception/restaurants and quietness of the room -closer rooms are more noisy - you can hear night disco/shows
They cook

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Irrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have just arrived back from Club Med Kamarina and we truly enjoyed it. We are a family with three kids ages 10, 6 and 4. The kids enjoyed themselves tremendously and tried out most of the sports on offer with the exception of the younger one who was too young for canoeing.
The food is excellent and varied. There was always something different to try out. The good thing about it was that you know exactly how much your holiday was going to cost and you do not even need any spending money which is great if you have kids who are always hungry or thirsty!!
The only "but" is that there was no air-conditioning or fans in the restaurants. When we were staying there was a heat wave and it was a torture to eat in the restaurants. That is a pity because whilst our bungalow was equipped with three air-conditioners, it was literally hell to sit down and enjoy your meal. This is the only reason why I did not give 5 stars instead of 4.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We actually hated it. We are a family with a 3 yr old and a 8 month baby. Minimum we carry one stroller, often 2 for when the older one falls asleep.
The pavement down there is a nightmare. Definitely not thought for strollers/wheelchairs. The place is way too big, so you spend half the time walking. And the rooms are old...
Petit Club med for the 3 year old was the biggest disappointment. They have something nicer at the Mini Club Med (4 to 7 years). But the Petit (2 to 3 yrs) was very sad.
Plus it was August and everything was packed (lines, etc...). Oh and if you dont speak italian or french, you are in trouble, really.
This place is for italian or french families with kids of 7/8 yrs or older. Otherwise don't go.
We decided to cancel the second week and take a plane back home. It was THAT bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
12.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
691 reviews
82.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mediterraneo Palace
Mediterraneo Palace
#11 of 37 in Ragusa
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
54.9 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
14.1 mi away
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#22 of 37 in Ragusa
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Kamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kamarina

Address: Bp 25 | Localita' Scoglitti, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range: £169 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Kamarina 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of Etna, where steep alleyways and flower-filled squares look out over the Mediterranean! Kamarina is where you can appreciate Sicily from beneath the shade of its olive trees. You can inhale the scent of the bougainvilleas as you stroll the paved walkways of the Resort, or freshen up in Club Med's largest swimming pool. In this vast 96-hectare Resort, which offers the pleasures of roller blading, tennis or sailing, children and adults alike can discover a 100% family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kamarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kamarina Hotel Ragusa
Kamarina Club Med
Club Med Ragusa
Ragusa Club Med
Club Med Kamarina Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing