We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food & very friendly staff!”
Review of Club Med Kamarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kamarina
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food & very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here in May half term and the resort was quiet, not sure how the facilities would cope in the summer months. Our family bungalow in the Villagio had 2 bedrooms and although fairly basic and dated was clean and adequate for our stay. The air conditioning was good, the rooms were cleaned daily and shampoo/shower gel etc is provided. The cobbles in the villagio, while make the village look more authentic are very noisy with the many golf buggies that are driving around and also hard to walk in heals or to push a buggy!

There are many french visitors to this Club Med, this was not a problem for us, all the staff however assume you are french before then speaking english! The staff were very friendly and always happy to help. The resort is massive and it does take a day or so to find everything. There are information boards with the times of all the activities in the village centre but we could have also done with this information in our room for when we arrived.

There are many activities on offer here: a massive swimming pool, sailing and kakaks on the beach, many tennis courts, zumba and other dance/exercise classes,circus skills,football,basketball etc etc These are all free. There are other activities such as scuba diving and quad bikes which you have to pay for. The weather can be windy here though so that does effect the beach activities and restricts the sailing to those who are experienced.

The food here is amazing. I'm not normally a fan of the buffet meal but this was something else and very tasty. The puddings are fantastic! We eat every lunchtime in the smaller Marino restaurant with sea views. It opens at 1pm- get there then or you may have to wait for a table. The pizza and pasta there was especially good.

My daughter (8) went to the kids club one day but didn't go back as it was mainly french children. The kids club however looked fantastic and had many activities to keep the little ones busy all day. The staff there work very hard!

Transfer from the airport is long, it takes 2 hours so be prepared for that!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beecham176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    1,250
    559
    273
    125
See reviews for
1,897
457
124
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Here is the letter I sent club med and still have yet to get a response from them after 28 days - so much for customer service:

Dear Sirs,

I am writing to express my disappointment with the quality of the holiday experience at Club Med. I have just returned from the Kamarina resort in Italy which has left me in no doubt that I will not book with Club Med again (which is a shame as I had a great experience in Martinique last year!). Here is some feedback that I wish to give you so that you can decide if you wish to address this with me:

1) Welcome at airport/resort. My wife and I were met at Catania airport by the rep and was sent to the resort by taxi. So far, so good. However, the Taxi driver got lost and eventually found the resort. We were dropped at the main entrance/top reception. No one was around with no method to contact any staff. After calling the main telephone number and getting no reply, someone eventually arrived at the reception 20 minutes later - this is absolutely terrible and not acceptable! We were driven via golf cart to the room and then taken to the main square for dinner.

2) Room/resort quality. The room was very basic and was in-fact very untidy and in very poor condition. The Shower tray was very stained, mould had taken hold in the tiles and the bathroom fittings were corodded (turning green - copper and not stainless steel used). To make matters worse, on the 5th day of our stay, parts of the concrete on the ceiling outside the entrance to the room collapsed dropping a fair amount of rubble - this could have hit us if we walking under it at the time. I have pictures of all of this if you would like to see them (let me know and I will send a link). I reported this to reception and the maintenance man came to inspect this 24 hours later!! If this had been in the UK, I’m sure health and safety would have had a 'field day'.

3) Staff Attitude. We found that most of the Italian staff were cheerful and helpful. However, the French staff were just awful. We had gone especially to this resort because it was a tennis destination. A French lady who took some of the tennis clinics was especially bad - she we would speak entirely in French and asked if we understood - when we said no, she just continued in French and ignored us. Her teaching method was very bad (We go on many Tennis based holidays, and this was by far the worst from a teaching perspective). Only Marco, the head coach, was a good teacher. He spent time explaining the technique and was the only highlight of our experience with Club Med staff. Other than that, we found that with all the bravado/superficial attitude, they just couldn’t be bothered!

4) Quality of Sports - Tennis. Out of the 20 plus courts at the resort, only 6 had anything near an acceptable surface to play on. Clay coverage was especially bad. If you are going to promote this venue as a Tennis ‘hot spot’, I suggest that you dramatically improve the quality of the courts.

Overall, I am really disappointed with the resort and even with it being ‘all inclusive’, I found this holiday to be very poor value.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in club med Kamarina. It was our first club med experience and probably not the last as it is great when you have kids.

The good
- excellent food, really impressed by the choice and sophistication
- lots of sports activities to choose from. Special thanks to Victor, Michele and Charlotte from the tennis club
- great and huge swimming pool
- kids entertainment
- all inclusive
- nice atmosphere generally thanks to the GOs, and friendly chef du village Remy

The not so good
- the rooms were quite basic, dated and a little bit damp. But this did not compromise our enjoyment of the holiday as we spent little time in the room.
- for three nights we had the company of 200 Erasmus Spanish students partying like crazy - not much club med can do I guess!
- bungalow cost of eur20 per hour!!!

All in all, a great holiday!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank odyssea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived quite late and were taken to the restaurant for a meal but then abandoned. The resort is huge so we struggled to find our room which at 11pm with two small children is not ideal. The room was TINY and although we were told it's an ajoining room it had one bathroom and the only entrance was through the children's room. There is balcony or outside area so we had to go to bed at the same time as our small children. The bathroom was so smelly and shabby and was full of coach roaches.
The pool was lovely and the kid's club was excellent. Most of the GOs were amazing.
I got food poisoning half way through the trip from eating the fish and so was in bed for two days. I told reception and they were completely disinterested, they didn't even ask which restaurant we had eaten in. Other than food poisoning, the food was outstanding.
Overall, I would pay a bit more and go to a different resort, this is tired and run-down and the rooms are of a very low standard and the lack of outside seating really affected our holiday experience. We paid £2,800 for a family of four for 7 nights and I don't think that was particularly good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay more for a larger room - it's worth it and don't buy into the 'adjoining room' c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

visited Sept last year - would not return again to this tired resort. some of the food was of poor quality and was not up to scratch - rather a let down.
No trips were put on for guests as they said there were not enough people to go on them - we were then given the option to go by taxi at a cost of £400 for a day trip (complete rip off) so sadly we did not get to see Mount Etna.
Evening entertainment was complete rubbish - poor music and dreadful singers that should of stayed back in the 1980,s!
This place needs revamping and updating!
also everywhere was thick with flies! especially round the bar areas.
On the good side some of the staff were very pleasant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 875steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

All regular stuff offered in Club Med. Really a family place, a lot of small children... Rooms are very simple in the Villagio, a bit low standard compared to the price. Fantastic pool. Nice stay, however, not the best club med. Great circus team and facilities.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lolapalooza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We traveled to Kamarina at September 18 2013. When we arrived to the club, the employees of the club were greeting us with dancing and music, and serve us a cold fresh iced tea drink.
The baggage was taken to the area of our rooms, near to the agora bar, the center of the village.
The rooms are standart, not something special, but it planned like this to require the guests to go out and have fun.
The main pool is enormous! I've never seen a pool like this one, great pool, area of the pool is well equipped with a good sun beds and umbrellas.
The agora bar is located in the center of the village and active from 10am till' after midnight. Excellent service, plenty of choices, and I full of thank to Anna.
Reception is great, helpful and patient. Federica - thanks for the help. Pay attention - from 21 pm, the reception is full of guests who wants to sign up to special restaurants, like the fish & sea restaurant Volcano and others.
The room was always cleaned and tidy, without compromise,
A lot of attractions all the day - from Kamaran sailing to archery. Great club for families, specially children.
Restaurants, all of them (there is 5 or 6 restaurants) were clean, full of plenty, fresh food.
All the G.O's are amazing people, doing their best to let you have fun and relax.
Totally recommend this club.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RomKalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
80.8 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,785 reviews
29.2 mi away
Serenusa Village
Serenusa Village
#1 of 6 in Licata
2,065 reviews
12.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Catania International Airport Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
2.6 mi away
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Kamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kamarina

Property: Club Med Kamarina
Address: BP 25 | Localita' Scoglitti, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Kamarina 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of Etna, where steep alleyways and flower-filled squares look out over the Mediterranean! Kamarina is where you can appreciate Sicily from beneath the shade of its olive trees. You can inhale the scent of the bougainvilleas as you stroll the paved walkways of the Resort, or freshen up in Club Med's largest swimming pool. In this vast 96-hectare Resort, which offers the pleasures of roller blading, tennis or sailing, children and adults alike can discover a 100% family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kamarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kamarina Hotel Ragusa
Kamarina Club Med
Club Med Ragusa
Ragusa Club Med
Club Med Kamarina Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing