We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Barocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Barocco
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Reasonable hotel - centrally located but parking isnt easy you may to walk 5/10 minutes to get there (in the summer could be difficult). Comfortable, though, small rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    94
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
105
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Our first time to Ragusa. The hotel was very nice, very clean and very central. We had a large spacious room with small balcony over looking the front of the hotel. We found it to be very quiet and slept really well at night. The breakfasts were good. The staff could have been a bit more friendly, but it didn't really bother us. We ate in the hotel's restaurant: IL Barocco up the street from the hotel and the food was absolutely amazing with excellent service and very friendly staff. They have a wine shop next door to the restaurant - nice, but pricey! Ragusa Ibla is a beautiful small town with lots of shops dedicated for tourists. If you want to avoid these, head up to the new town; Ragusa, and the shops are great! There is a bus that takes you up, or if you're feeling energetic and want some excercise, you can climb up the hundreds of steps to the newer part of Ragusa! We did and felt great after it! It's much easier coming back, as it's downhill all the way! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Good sized room, good storage, excellent breakfast
Finding the location in Ragusa Ibla was difficult due to one way, narrow streets but the location was excellent. Not too deep in the town. The less you drive the one way, narrow streets, the better. We parked on the outskirts and just walked to the hotel to check the easiest driving route as if you misunderstood the GPS instructions and took a wrong turn it wasn`t easy to backtrack.
Very convenient to the Duomo and the central piazza and to just wander the old town.Only had two parks out front but parking permits were available if required. Breakfast had a good range of meats and cheeses as well as a huge assortment of cakes and biscuits. The free wi-fi was very handy.
Some of the relief staff didn`t have very good English and we weren`t sure that they understood our questions.


Go To Top

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We really enjoyed this place. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a restaurant half way up the street which is quite good and reasonably priced. They even give you a 10% discount if you stay at their hotel. The breakfasts were very good as well. Parking is a problem - they tell you to park on the street, but the street is very narrow, so you need to drive up on the curb to allow cars to pass by. The location is excellent as we were able to walk into the old district during the day or evening within a 5 minute walk. The interior of the hotel is very clean and seemed newly renovated. Rooms are spacious and it is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Il Barrocco at the beginning of our two week jaunt around Sicily. The staff were very nice, and the room deceptively spacious. Breakfast was excellent, though they ran out of tea bags (except fruit/herbal) and you only get a cup of cofee not a pot (you can always ask for a second cup!!) The hotel is ideally placed for walking around Ragusa Ibla, and their restaurant is fantastic value for money, and the food is great. I can see that parking could be a problem but we always managed to park near to the hotel. I would have like a light by the wardrobe as the area is very dark, and the hotel is a little noisy, you can hear the street noise despite closed windows, and it is a ittle "echoey" - you can hear doors closing and people going up and down stairs, however, we would definately stay here again as it is a lovely small hotel with charm and character, helpful staff and great location for seeing the south eastern corner of Sicily

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddle-Atkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I stayed here for 3 days and it was just a wonderful experience.

The room was spacious and clean, the location good, the wifi free and acceptable and the breakfast was amazing - the only time I've seen so many pastries was at a 5 star hotel.

But beyond everything, the staff were just wonderful. I had a minor medical problem and they came with me to the pharmacy to translate, had special food sent from the restaurant and got me a doctor and then translated. But, even more, it was clear that they cared about me, giving me the kind of advice you give a friend.

I also ate at their restaurant a few times - the food was quite good and it is a lovely place to while away an afternoon sitting and talking. I went to another restaurant recommended in a gourmet guide to Italy and have to say, the restaurant at Il Barocco was better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
574 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Ragusa Ibla is the place to be. In fact, we liked it overall more than any other city from Agrigento to Taormina. And Il Barocco was right in the middle, well positioned for any activity.

Room was fine, if a bit huge, breakfast above average and staff was excellent. Restaurant is Il Barocco, about a block away, which is top notch. Only problem is the parking, basically you find a teensy space on the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.8 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 39 in Ragusa
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
0.8 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
1.6 mi away
Villa Boscarino
Villa Boscarino
#10 of 39 in Ragusa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Barocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Barocco

Property: Hotel Il Barocco
Address: Via Santa Maria la Nuova 1, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Barocco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the Historical center of Ragusa Ibla, baroque city declared patrimony of Unesco. The hotel is close to the Dome of San Giorgio and offers 15 rooms, all equipped of private bath with shower, air conditioning, TV satellitare, telephone, minibar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Barocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Barocco Hotel
Hotel Il Barocco Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing