We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“splendid hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Il Barocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Barocco
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Cramond
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“splendid hotel and location”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is a gem, with gorgeous breakfasts and within minutes of Ibla's sights. My room was spacious, quiet, and with a lovely small balcony. Meals are also available at the neighbouring restaurant: a very good value for money combination!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    94
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
107
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Selected Hotel Il Barrocco for a one night stopover as part of a swing through southeastern Sicily. Proved to be a perfect choice. Our Garmin got us up the hill to Ragusa Ibla and to the hotel with no problems. Parking directly in front of the hotel was not available at the time, but there was plenty of space on the street jst a half block below - Via Montereo, I believe. Parked the car with the right side up on the curb, else others probably couldn't pass.
Made our reservation through Venere - and all was in order at check-in. Our room was reasonably large and well equipped. Was a bit warm on our arrival - so made quick use of the remotely operated AC unit.
After a quick shower, took the short walk up the street to the Piazza Duomo. Gorgeous spot. Ifact all of Ragusa Ibla is an easy walk from the hotel.
The hotel restaurant is closed on Wednesday's - the night we were there - so I found a small market nearby - a bread, some meat, cheese and a bottle of wine was our dinner in the room. Perfect.
Sleeping conditions were excellent and very quiet. And breakfast in the morning included such variety that it was difficult to make a selection -- but all wetried was great.
The hotel management is committed to customer satisfacton - and proudly display their Michelin and Trip Advisor awards on the lobby walls.
Loved the place - just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airpizz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool,england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

great location for a few days in ibla but if you want to get around the area by bus then stay in superiore. lovely building and courtyard and great breakfasts - almost the best ever - and v helpful staff highly recommended if at the top end of our budget range

Room Tip: I think any would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been great for us, the place is clean, staff xtra helpful, and breakfast was an impressive spread.
Will definitely return this summer.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

a lovely little hotel ,tucked away in the the narrow streets of Ragusa Ibla-not to be confused with Ragusa proper.
Excellent breakfast,very helpful staff,clean rooms,and a good restaurant close by,for evening meals.a good centre to the locality-car needed,but parking can be difficult.

Room Tip: some rooms look out on to a football pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPDORNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Il Barocco is a very attractive hotel. It was relatively easy to find, once we managed to find Ragusa Ibla! There was reserved parking on the street outside the hotel. We hd no difficulty but it might be more competitive at a busier time of year. The hotel is situated very close to the beautiful main square. There are several restaurants close by.
The welcome was excllent and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout.
The rooms were good, beds comfortable, bathroom fine, although as with most hotels we stayed at, the shower could have been better. Thoughtful complimentary toiletries, including a razor and shaving cream. The breakfast was outstanding, easily the best we had during our 10 day stay in Sicily - a fantastic selection of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, croissants and bread and a wonderful selection of beautiful Sicilian biscuits, also freshly baked.

The only downside to our stay in Ragusa was that the town was almost dead in the off-season, although this might appeal to some and although we got out of Ragusa Ibla easily enough we got completely lost in Ragusa and spent hours trying to find our way out! Not the fault of the hotel, of course!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Verack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Reasonable hotel - centrally located but parking isnt easy you may to walk 5/10 minutes to get there (in the summer could be difficult). Comfortable, though, small rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.8 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
9.8 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#19 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Barocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Barocco

Property: Hotel Il Barocco
Address: Via Santa Maria la Nuova 1, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Barocco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the Historical center of Ragusa Ibla, baroque city declared patrimony of Unesco. The hotel is close to the Dome of San Giorgio and offers 15 rooms, all equipped of private bath with shower, air conditioning, TV satellitare, telephone, minibar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Il Barocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Barocco Hotel
Hotel Il Barocco Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing