We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and Homely Family Hotel full of Charm”
Review of Hotel Il Barocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Barocco
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely and Homely Family Hotel full of Charm”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed in this lovely hotel in Ragusa for three days . Lovely comfortable rooms, best continental breakfast with fresh fruits, juices, meats and cakes during my whole stay in Sicily. Clean hotel with English speaking staff who were keen to please. Nice although small courtyard for sitting out in the morning or evening.

Perfect location to explore Ragusa on foot and whilst there is no dedicated parking, we were able to find places almost outside of the hotel. Recommend one uses a SATNAV to find it with all of the narrow one way streets.

WE will be back again and highly recommend for couples and families

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    94
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
107
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once again, we ended up in a suite at this hotel on our tour of Sicily. The room and bathroom were very large. We had a double shower and a patio and a little balcony. The place and people here are charming even if we had to walk with our smaller luggage up a hill while our larger luggage was transported for us. Everyone in the hotel was helpful, cheerful and accommodating. The only thing I have to say was I was so looking forward to the breakfasts as I had heard they were the best in Italy. Well the choice of pastries was not to be believed, utterly amazing but the other items were rather sparse, a few different kinds of ham and cheese. However, it was an extremely pleasant stay in a well located, charming hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the right side of the desk, was a suite and quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgcglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Tucked away and tricky to find but a quiet location. Well placed for wandering the old streets of Ragusa Ibla.
We had the suite that backed on to the playground but stayed over weekend when school not in session so it was no problem - cannot comment on what this would be like in term time.. Generally the hotel was excellent: friendly and helpful service, very clean and all facilities worked. Heating/air conditioning unit was particularly simple and we valued the heating option in April.
Overall I don't think the suite was really worth splashing out on. Yes it was spacious and had a large shower room but quite dark and limited wifi signal.
Breakfast was fine.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Beutifull place.We loved the hotel ,atmosphere beutifull,actually romantic place .The staff was very helpfull.to sum it up we loved it and recommened it to every one who visit Ragusa Ibla.The first thing you see when you arrive at the hotel is a gorgeous courtyard.If you don't find a car park near the hotel they give you acard that you can park near by without paying.I think that is realy nit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birzebbuga, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This Hotel is ideal for a those who wish to spend a tranquil and a romantic break. The breakfast was very good and the variety of the Sicilian pastries was terrific. We wish to thank the hotel staff since they were very helpful during our stay. We recommend this hotel and we will surely re-visit Ragusa Ibla thanks to their hospitality!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is the perfect three star establishment. Large, clean rooms, competitive prices, situated in the heart of the old city and with a gorgeous courtyard. Highlight: One the meanest and most comprehensive breakfasts served to us during the two week road trip. You can also park your car in the small alley the hotel is situated in, a big luxury in Ragusa which where it is difficult for non-residents to enter and park in the historic centre. Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony which overlook the alley. The main square is (literally) 2 minutes away on foot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Tucked down a side street in the charming old town of Ragusa, this family run hotel is home from home. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home and the breakfast is fantastic. I've never seen a spread like it in any hotel before... all the homemade goodies you could ever wish for and they cater for dietary requirements.
There is a lovely outside courtyard where you can sit and have a coffee or a beer. I love this place and I love Ragusa.

Room Tip: Our room backed onto the sports ground, so if you worry about noise before 10pm then choose another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipthepipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.8 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
9.8 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#19 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Barocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Barocco

Property: Hotel Il Barocco
Address: Via Santa Maria la Nuova 1, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Barocco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the Historical center of Ragusa Ibla, baroque city declared patrimony of Unesco. The hotel is close to the Dome of San Giorgio and offers 15 rooms, all equipped of private bath with shower, air conditioning, TV satellitare, telephone, minibar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Barocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Barocco Hotel
Hotel Il Barocco Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing