We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, nice food”
Review of Salvatore

Salvatore
Ranked #14 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely view, nice food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Definitely go for a side table with an outside view - it is spectacular and worth your money!

The food is good, staff is ok (more or less - sometimes they tend to judge guests by the appearance and you need to convince them that you deserve a good table).

Example prices: starter (e.g. octopus salad) 14 EUR, grilled fish for 2 - 47 EUR, house white wine 14 EUR, dessert 7 EUR.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warsaw_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    132
    46
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Ok I agree with the previous reviewers. Ravello is beauty beyond belief and dining in the presence of exquisite natural beauty sharpens both expectation and taste. Menus in Italy can be repetitive- not so at Da Salvatore. The pumpkin gnocchi in pomodoro broth and Sicilian prawns just moved into first place for my all time OMG food experiences! I couldn't decide whether to watch the endless beauty of coast meet mountain or my plate- but a millisecond after the first mouthful I said nice view, stunning taste. Yes the chicken in a jar was also sensational but not in a religious sense like the revelation of the (flour less) gnocchi. Sometimes in life it all comes together- scenery, food ambience and experience. Today it happened. Don't miss out. Then again why am I telling you? Find it yourself!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A jewel in Rovello”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting, varied menu to suit everyone, great wine selection, artful presentation and impeccable service. One of the dishes we tried was a local speciality 'chicken in a jar' which was tender and perfectly seasoned -a true treat for the tastebuds. Desserts were equivalently awesome. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had our wedding lunch at Salvatore's and it was an exquisite experience. The lunch consisted of a four step lunch based mainly on local seaffod and traditional dishes, all accompanied by wine and lemoncello to finish off.
Our party was small but they set a large imperial table by the terrace facing the breathtaking coast. The place was simply but elegantly decorated and table service was impeccable.
The appetizers were a delight to all the senses, pasta was home made and fish fresh. The rum baba we had for dessert had all the guests crying out for more.
The lunch over extended itself for hours and the personnel were always pleasant and attentive.
I really hope to go back for our anniversary and will deffinitely choose Salvatore's to celebrate the event!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.c. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We ate at Da Salvatore five years ago and came back to Ravello specifically to have dinner at Da Salvatore again. It is one of the best dining experiences we've had any place in Italy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salvatore also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Salvatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing