We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting and great holiday”
Review of Villa Casale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Casale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting and great holiday”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a wondeful time at Villa Casale. We stayed in the Magnolia Appartment which was superb with loads of space and real privacy on the balcony whilst still being able to look out onto the pool and the lovely gardens. And best of all Casale must have the best view of just about any apartments in Ravello and better than a lot of the expensive hotels as well.
As a group of apartments and with some famillies staying (including the owners family) it is not going to be quiet all of the time which is part of the charm and anyway we spend a lot of the time out and about, even if if was only to take the short walk up to the square for a coffee or a drink. However in the evening about the only 'disturbance' was from the music festival.
The pool is wonderful, with a shallow end for kids but deep enough to swim in when doing lengths, for which the pool was quite long enough. And the view from the pool is great over the sea and lower town is also to die for.
The walk into the towm is only a couple of minutes, but beware, there are lots of steps down from the path and the complex is not suitable for anyone with any mobility problems. Well worth booking the people to take the cases to and from your appartment I think. This means that the parking (always a problem in Ravello) is a way off but the apartments give you a reduction at a local underground car park. However although we spent quite a lot of time in the town it is worth having a car to get out and see things off the beaten track.
I did think quite hard about the overall score but gave it five because we had such a great time. However I did have 3 minor gripes.
1. Meeting up to get the keys is a bit chaotic - the location given to meet the agent is not straigtforward and I ended up calling her 3 times before meeting. There are so many obvious places to meet on the square why choose somewhere obscure!
2. It was very hot when we were there. The design of the apartment means you can't put in fixed aircon but it would be great if a mobile unit or even a fan was provided.
3. Recycling - great emphasis is placed on this. But the days of collection actually mean it is almost impossble to do if you are staying for only a week so you end up stacking everything in the apartment. If it is that important why not just have a quiet corner where all the guests can put their rubbish.
But these are minor gripes. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here and my wife and I will go back again.

Room Tip: Magnolia was wonderful and you get breathtaking views and total privacy. It was more expensive thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonSJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porthleven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

If your going to Ravello this would be a great choice of accommodation if you prefer self catering and can handle a few steps to get to some of the apartments and pool. It was about 85 euros a night for 2 people in June so good value and the apartment was built into a terrace with lots of private space at the front overlooking the lovely pool area which is bigger than we expected from the photos. Parking not included but worth the 15 euro a day valet service on offer. Local cafes very good for simple breakfast and coffee. The little shops in town offer super DIY lunches, choose from local cheeses and fresh bread and meats, massive toms and peppers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliesw0rldtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Enjoyed a pleasant stay, well equiped apartments convenient for the centre and fantastic views. We were there for a family wedding and didnt venture away from ravello.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompsons_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Villa Casale is every bit as good as its publicity. Close to the Piazza Duomo and a wide range of shops, it is peaceful, set in beautiful gardens and with views over the coast far below. Self catering facilities are adequate but with a wide range of excellent restaurants nearby you may not need more than occasional provisions.

Two warnings. Do not take a car to Ravello unless you are prepared for high parking charges some distance from the villa. Some of the publicity refers to the number of steps to get to the property. This has to be taken seriously. You need to be fit enough to climb the 100 steps down and the 100 steps up! But if you are not daunted by this it is certainly worthwhile.

Room Tip: Choice of room depends on number of party
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardAHWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Villa casale must have one of the best views on the Amalfi coast - its in stunning Ravello and the best part of it looking out to sea. Its beautifully cared for with lovely gardens throughout, and a great swimming pool which my 9 year old daughter spent a lot of every day in. It's also a few minutes from the main square - I thought it was perfect in terms of location, view and ambiance.
We stayed in Wagner which is at the top of the gardens with a terrace and full view of the coast - really nice. Apartment absolutely fine, it was a bit cold at times and the heating wasn't on but luckily the sun shined more than it didn't - not sure I would have fancied it any earlier in the season though.
Would certainly recommend - you can spend an awful lot of money on accommodation in Ravello and I thought this was overall very good value for money.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinedinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My family and I stayed in Villa Casale several times. We tried different apartments, Wagner, Magnolia, Zagara and each one was very cozy, clean, well equipped and has fantastic views. From my point of view Villa Casale’s views are the best in Ravello. Plus it’s a 5 minute walk to the fantastic Duomo’s square. And the prices are really honest. There’s a swimming pool and the kids are very welcome. We couldn’t be happier with the choice of an accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed in this complex before so know just how enjoyable it is in sunshine. This review is on the experience in the early season during torrential downpours.

The apartment may not have been occupied prior to our visit and felt damp and cold. However after 2 days the heating began to take effect, and we were comfortable in the apartment. We had a roomy space to lounge about in, when planning our trips outdoors. The rain never let up, except for one afternoon, when the beauty of the coast sparkled in the sunshine.

The walks were all a bit terrifying in wet conditions, so we took our time and saw some lovely churches in the walk between Ravello and Amalfi.

There is no wired access to internet in the apartment, and wifi is available from the garden below us, and as it did not have any cover, you wouldnt want to email in the rain.

I suggest that the owner consider putting the access point in a covered area, or extend it to the apartments with a booster. It would also have been a good idea to heat the apartment for a few days prior to letting them, as it is built into the rock.

The location of the Rossini is superb, as it is very private with its own garden with table and parasol, and looks directly onto the wonderful coastal view. During our stay of course this was fogbound, and with torrential rain. It is hard to predict weather, for instance March had great weather on the coast, and I would certainly stay there again.

Martina looks after guests very well, and will try her best to make sure you are comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casale

Property: Villa Casale
Address: Via Orso Papice 4, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Casale 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful villa located in Ravello town centre, within a walking distance from the main square. The Villa is comprised of nine apartments (Studio, bilo and trilo) tastefully furnished sharing private swimming pool and solarium. Max capacity for the villa is 25 people. Ideal for family and wedding parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casale Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing