We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxing and views to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Casale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Casale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing and views to die for”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We rented 2 of the apartments here, Chopin & Mozart. Our 3 teenagers stayed in Chopin - 2 beds, 2 baths, kitchen with sofa and a small terrace outside. Myself & hubby stayed in Mozart - 1 bed, 1 bath, kitchen, second loo & lovely terrace with a sea view. We had a super time. The place is stunningly beautiful, and Martina the concierge is warm, knowledgable and helpful. My advice for anyone considering coming here would be to bring comfy shoes for all the steps, earplugs if you don't like church bells, and mosquito repellant, because the midges are feisty! If you're after a comfy, relaxing, home-from-home, you can't go far wrong with this place. The pool isn't heated but the terrace is such a sun trap that it's actually very refreshing slipping into the icy water after a hard sunbathing session. The steps - and there are dozens- will either finish you off or make you fit by the end of your stay. Well worth the walk though, because the view do the Amalfi coast from here is breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JulesHH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and the exercise provided by descending/ascending the many stairs to our room and to return to town. An elevator or funicular would spoil the experience. Private except that the pool is veiwable by any paparazzi touring the Villa Rufolo Gardens. An example is a photo in the Trip Advisor visitor photos. Page through these until you see one showing what appears to be a greenish bronze sculpture of a deer with a basin (or dish) on its back - the next photo (by soso0000) shows a view of some buildings beyond the gardens and the pool in that photo is of the Villa Casale pool.

Room Tip: A room closest to the top of the property will provide the least exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a great time in apartment at Villa Casale. Hosts were gracious, especially Martina who was very helpful. Had a nice, cosy apartment with kitchen and terrace overlooking pool and coast. We experienced great thunderclaps and rainstorms and felt secure there. Would highly recommend Villa Casale to anyone visiting the beautiful medieval town of Ravello. Will definitely go back there! Thanks!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an apartment with a view as some of them don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived three days ago and were met by the beautiful & friendly Martina. We are in a gorgeous two bedroom villa with a patio overlooking the pool and sea. The villas are only a two minute walk to the main square. We have dined in the most amazing restaurants, walked around the magnificent gardens and to Scala. Relaxed by the glorious pool and tonight we have the privilege of listening to the Ravello Festival from our patio. Life could not be better. This has been a spectacular three days of our holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JussieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Villa Casale, wish it had been longer!!! We stayed in the junior suite, which had everything we could have wanted. Spacious, and with a fully equipped kitchen should you wish to cook. It also has an amazing private terrace with the most spectacular view out to sea and along the coast. The pool and pool area were immaculate, with plenty of sun lounges. Overall, the general atmosphere was very laid back, we felt very at home, and the owner was so lovely and friendly, as well as the wonderful Martina who couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgable about the local area, restaurants etc. We would highly recommend if you want something a little different and to feel like you have your own little piece of paradise!! Cannot wait to go back.

The only slight negative would be the very steep drop from the shallow pool to the deep pool, it is not a slope, but a immediate drop to about 7ft, fine once you are aware of it, but a shock if you are not, especially if you were unable to swim!! Maybe a float rope across would be a good idea, especially if there are any children or non swimmers around. There is a sign saying 'step' but it is not very big, and has worn off on one side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenT689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were 2 couples and stayed in the 2 suites, both one bedroomed. The luxury suite has a good terrace with incredible views and good rooms except for the kitchen which is miniscule.
The junior suite has a huge, although rather dated, lounge with connecting doors, if required, through to the luxury suite. One end of the lounge has a curious opaque glazed window through to the part of the house retained by the owner. (Evidently the whole house can be re-connected and opened up for her private use at certain times of year). The bedroom is separated from the lounge by heavy curtains and has floor to ceiling windows with wonderful views down to the coast. The terrace is a good size and gets the sun until mid morning.
The best things about the place are its close proximity to the town, the beautifully landscaped and large communal gardens and the pool. The pool terrace and other garden areas have panoramic views over the coastline.
We had a few problems with drain smells in the bathrooms but a plumber remedied most of the problem once Martina was informed. (She was extremely attentive and helpful). It may well have been a problem in the general area but as we have not stayed there before, it is hard to tell.
Internet was reliable in the dedicated internet area down next to the pool.
We would be happy to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
279 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Villa Casale is placed on the hillsides of Ravello with breathtaking views to the Mediterranean 500 meters below. The scenery is so stunning that it is reason enough to stay there for a whole week - or maybe more.
When you wake up in the morning, when look out during lunch, when you look at the stars at night. No matter when the ever changing sky, the many shades of blue water and the spectacular coastline will make you muse and forget time.
The place is quiet, it's stylish and though the kitchen is rather small the suite we lived in is a perfect place for a family or a couple.
You can be lazing by the pool while your eye is wandering on the horizon.
Can I suggest any way of improving this place? Yes! Serve breakfast at the rooftop terrace

Room Tip: Be sure you have rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanticophelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.1 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casale

Property: Villa Casale
Address: Via Orso Papice 4, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Casale 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful villa located in Ravello town centre, within a walking distance from the main square. The Villa is comprised of nine apartments (Studio, bilo and trilo) tastefully furnished sharing private swimming pool and solarium. Max capacity for the villa is 25 people. Ideal for family and wedding parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casale Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing