We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high flying”
Review of La Casarella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casarella
Ranked #16 of 32 Ravello B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Utterly superb. The view alone is worth it. Simple plain apartments which is all required when out and about. Owners extremely accomodating but not intrusive. Nice touch to have tea coffee bread etc waiting on arrival at no cost.Lovely walk to the apartments and then several steps to the rooms, not for the faint hearted but you need to be a good walker in this area anyway.If we had known before hand the accomodation we would have stayed for two weeks but alas only had one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bill101bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

There are two different levels of accommodation here let through two different agents. Thomson have 5 apartments that are absolutely next to each other and share a terrace that their doors open straight on to so you are very much at the mercy of your neighbours. There is a very superior apartment, by itself, with its own shady terrace which is let by Inntravel. We stayed in this one and while we didn't get a look into the others we would not have wanted to stay in them. You have all the same advantages: amazing view, pool, washing machine, groceries delivered but with more space and more privacy. Taxi to and from Naples included (in fact we had a transfer from Pompeii as we had stayed there for 3 great days first). Lots of first class, and reasonably priced restaurants, handy bus down to the coast to swim. But, as noted by others, you have a walk of about 5 minutes followed by about 30 steps to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OxfordCorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Arriving at La Casarella, you walk along a pretty private path with jaw-dropping views of the stunning Amalfi coast. Then you walk up a flight of steps to be greeted by gloriously colourful gardens and a small but inviting swimming pool, flanked by five simple but pretty apartments with a tennis court on top.

The apartments are decently equipped, perfect for couples and fine for our family of 3 with a six-year-old on the sofa bed, but probably cramped if you have more/bigger children.

The view from each apartment and from the pool area is breathtakingly spectacular, probably among the best in Ravello - and believe me, that's saying something! It was lovely to sit there at night with a glass of wine after visiting busier places like Amalfi or Capri during the day; La Casarella is scented and peaceful, although on music festival nights you can hear gorgeous music floating up from the outdoor theatre stage at Villa Rufolo (a bonus as far as we were concerned but maybe not if you're a light sleeper).

We found Rosa very nice and our little boy squealed in the pool to his heart's content, but children did sometimes get told off for making a noise, which was a shame. I'd also agree that the apartment was too hot at night. BUT we loved the place and I'd highly recommend it for the ravishingly beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Ravello is a beautiful town. La Casarella is set in the most amazing location, up on the hill overlooking the bay and mountains. The gardens are very pretty and pool area/tennis courts etc have spectacular views. The apartments are basic but fine although really too small for 4 and especially insufficient storage for 4 people - we had to rearrange kitchen drawers and put clothes in there! It has no air conditioning so the room is very hot and hard to sleep sometimes. The owners, Rosa and Sara, are friendly and nice to adults BUT have very little tolerance of children making noise (and mine are genuinely pretty well behaved children). I am not talking a lot of noise, and not only during siesta. I am talking pretty much ANY noise. The Thomson reps told me they have repeatedly told the owners all summer that people are paying to be there and that they had to let kids do their thing, but it didn't stop Rosa from giving my kids and everyone else's rows for noise most days. As the owners and Rosa's Italian friends sunbathe at the pool most days with you there is really no let up from this, so we spent most of our pool part of our holiday trying to keep our children silent, as did everyone else with their kids. Given how much we had all paid to be there it would not have been unreasonable to allow them to laugh in the pool now and again - but apparently the pool is "for swimming, not playing in". In summary you can't beat the views and location but if you have kids I would give it a miss unless you have a brass neck and are prepared to ignore the "shushing" as it made for a pretty stressful time around the pool for all concerned. It got to the stage where my kids didn't want to go in the pool as they were embarrassed and upset at a stranger giving them a row when they hadn't done anything wrong, and sick of me nagging them to keep quiet because I was trying to avoid it.

Room Tip: room 5 on the end is bigger than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wonderfully located self catering appartment. Views from terrace are superb, and the fact that the appartments are peaceful makes for a great holiday exploring the Amalfi coast.
Appartments are quite basic & are really only suitable for two, however the setting & outdoor space more than compensate. It is an easy walk into Ravello which has plenty of restraunts & is one of the nicest towns along the Amalfi coast.
The appartments are run by a local family who are happy to supply you with wine, beer & general provisions from their shop (all at very fair prices).
The outdoor pool whilst very nice is unheated & was little used during our stay in May, their are though ample sun loungers / chairs on which to relax whilst taking in the views.

Room Tip: All 5 appartments are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Fabulous views over the coast , the belvedere and Villa Rufolo. The apartments are central but incredibly peaceful. Pretty gardens and wine delivered to your door. What's not to love?

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a private terrace with table and chairs and all face out over the stunning vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sausageBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Lovely self catering apartment. Compact bedroon with not too much storage. Living / dining/ kitchen area fine for 2 people. Terrace with pool and sun loungers. The most fantastic views imaginable. Peaceful within locked gates and a short walk into the square. A very nice place to return to sfter sightseeing. A lot of stairs to get from path to apartments.

Room Tip: To get any palce you need to take a bus to Amalfi then get a connection so always add extra time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank handbagscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.4 mi away
Torre dello Ziro
Torre dello Ziro
#2 of 32 in Ravello
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auditorium Rooms
Auditorium Rooms
#3 of 32 in Ravello
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita
La Dolce Vita
#7 of 32 in Ravello
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Vacanze Vittoria
Casa Vacanze Vittoria
#13 of 32 in Ravello
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casarella

Address: Via Dei Fusco 13, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casarella Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing