We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay !”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay !”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We were so glad to have stayed at Fraulo for our 3 nights in Ravello last week.
The place is gorgeous and the view is spectacular.
The rooms are great, the bathrooms were very nice and the service is what all hotels should be....superb.
The terrace is wonderful to enjoy and the pool is refreshingingly chilly after a long day.
The breakfast was good and the whole experience was really nice.
No complaints at all.
There are some very nice places to stay in Ravello and I would say Fraulo is one of the best overall, dollar for dollar.
Ravello itself was a great place In itself and was a nice relaxing place to enjoy after the hustle and bustle along the coastal towns.
The restaurants in Ravello are just excellent and was never disappointed.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Your comments are precious because they allow us to provide services more than excellent.
Hoping to welcome you again, we send our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    121
    40
    13
    14
See reviews for
75
276
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Been meaning to write this for over a month but I just never got around to it... The hotel is hewn into the rocks and creates a really pleasing multi level experience. The views are gorgeous, the rooms are extremely clean,. comfortable and spacious. I had a standard room and was so impressed by the Tempur mattress. The air con worked , which as the rooms front on to the road ( a tad noisy but not terrible) was rather good. I only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was fine if not outstanding.The staff were ,without exception, all totally charming, professional and very helpful. Villa Fraulo provides ( by Ravello standards) excellent value for money and I'd be happy to recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: the rooms face the road so be prepared for some , minor, noise. No big deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comments.
Your experiences allow us to increase our professionalism: we always hope to give the best to our guests.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at Villa Hotel Fraulo, along with many of the wedding guests, at the end of July. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the food and service was excellent, the staff being on hand when needed. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The location is perfect for a wedding at the town hall, being being just a short walk away. The entrance and gardens directly opposite the hotel make it a perfect setting for photographs. Anyone thinking of having a wedding in Ravello would find it hard to better this hotel and a reception at Villa Eva, which in our experience was out of this world and could not be bettered!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for writing: we really appreciated that.
We hope to welcome you again in our beautiful Hotel and we send our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is the first 4 star hotel I've booked in a while, but I choose it from the photos because it looked clean and comfortable and not too over the top Italian grand, it was also quite reasonably priced for the location. I was not disappointed. It would take very little for this hotel to become a 5 star establishment, all the ingredients already seem to be in place. The property is lovely, with its own natural assets, a beautiful marble stair case, large light open rooms and stunning views.

We arrived very late (middle of the night) after driving from Naples, the porter was fantastic and after showing us to our room was happy to organise sandwiches, cake and hot drinks. I booked a sea view deluxe room which was a real treat and well worth the extra money. The balcony was huge with two sun loungers, table and chairs. The bathroom was also large with a lovely power shower. When we opened the curtains in the morning the views were breath taking. Ravello is a small pretty town with lots to see and some really good quality shops. Its not far from Amalfi and we drove there for a meal one night. The restaurant across from the hotel was also very good and reasonably priced.

It was a lovely experience to sit and have breakfast on the terrace in the morning, although maybe some wasp traps would have been helpful. The breakfast was good but I would have liked a few more cooked options. The service was friendly and helpful, as was the attitude of the staff in general. I can definitely recommend this hotel for location, facilities, and ambience.

One suggestion: I would love to see a break with tradition and find tea and coffee making
equipment in the rooms, I think this was be a lovely gesture, and would really enhance the comfort of guests who are accustomed to these facilities in UK hotels.

Room Tip: Worth booking the sea view rooms. Take a travel kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for spending your holiday in our Hotel.
Your experience is precious as it allows us to increase our professionalism and provide
services more than excellent..

We hope to welcome you again
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

It is the street with all the old and great grand hotels and with the same view but at half the price. The view from the drinking terrace is breathtaking and swimming in the infinity pool is like swimming on the edge of heaven. The rooms are new, fresh and sound proof and also with a view and a small terrace. Everything works just fine including the WIFI and the bed is comfortable. Parking is a squeeze - I don't know how the concierge does it but that's Ravello, and just watching the parking and the parking inspectors is entertainment in itself. The front desk is impeccably helpful as is the drinks waiter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
We hope to welcome you here again and we will be very careful to ensure that all your inquiries will be satisfied

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a charming location. The staff are very pleasant & room spotless. I'm not sure of the full rate as I booked on laterooms.com but it was certainly good value. Breakfast is to be taken on a terrace overlooking the surrounding hills & of course the coastline. Probably wouldn't have morning coffee here though, head to town for this. If you are looking for a hotel in quiet Ravello a stones throw away from the town square & the Villa Ruffolo this is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLouiseWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisoc
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at Villa Fraulo for one night during our short visit to Ravello. What a lovely place we found it to be! I entered the hotel from the upper lobby, because this is where my GPS has lead us (there is a much easter access from the bottom), and after walking for the last 100 yards, entered a well appointed lobby with breathtaking views of the Amalfi bay. The hotel lobby feels simple and unimposing, but it is far from it. The materials used are high end marble and tile, the designer furniture is very stylish, the paintings on the walls are modern and original and create an extremely organic space that magnifies the already unreal experience of this gorgeous town.

All other parts of the hotel are equally well thought through. The terrace with breakfast tables, the beds for sun bathing next to the pool are the intricate part of the scenery. The breakfast staff was able to prepare a perfect serving of eggs "over easy", which during my ten days in Italy, happened only once.

Finally, the service is friendly and unimposing, as expected in a four-star hotel. We did have to call to ask to turn on the airconditioning that was disabled from the front desk. Overall, a wonderful experience managed by the people who love their town and the property that they offer.

Room Tip: If you can, stay away from room 201, which is the only one that has partial sea views. Every other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing