We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic service .”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fantastic service .”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

22 of us stayed at Villa Fraulo for a week at the end of July for our daughters wedding . It was the perfect place .
The staff were amazing , so friendly and polite . Especially Maurizio and his staff
Every morning we ate breakfast on the terrace which has one of the best views in the area .
Rooms were spacious and immaculately clean.
Avoid room 201 , which is the worst in the hotel.
On the day of the wedding we had the Infinity Suite to get ready in. Although beautiful the air con wasn't working. We all thought the deluxe suites were equal if not better .
The Infinity pool was amazing . As was the jacuzzi .
The town square and all restaurants were all within short walking distance.
We would definitely go back. Ravello has to be one of the most charming places in the world. Especially for a wedding .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guests,
thanks for spending your lovely time here.
We appreciated your comments and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you here again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    124
    40
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
281
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Excellent view from the terrace with the restaurant. The Staff is very attentitative and service minded, and does a great job. The food is among the best we had in Italy. You can't find a better location in Ravello, just out the door and 200 meters and you are in the centre. The rooms could have had a better layout, e.g. The walking closet was very inefficient. Soom noise from traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hotel Villa Fraulo is a gem with superb service, great food, a spectacular terrace and pool and a unique atmosphere. You almost expect Jackie Kennedy to sweep into the lobby with her entourage and children as she did in 1963. Ravello is where D H Lawrence stayed for a year and famously Richard Wagner composed works here as well. When we arrived the next door cathedral was a hive of activity for the festival of the local saint and martyr. That was the processionit-it wound its way round the narrow streets with locals carrying a hand-carved statue lit with candles and passed within 50 metres of the terrace where we were having dinner. All three branches of the Italian armed forces were represented as well as the civic band, dignataries, dozens of priests, and ordinary citizens and worshippers. As for the bride there were 27 wedding guests from the North of England staying in the hotel for a week who were just the friendliest and most delightful bunch of people imaginable. As for the staff Maurizio and his team couldn't go to too much trouble to help with the smallest request for drinks or food and always looked a picture of elegance. And as for the free concert on the last night we had a fine view of the stage for a ballet performance from the terrace while we sipped a nightcap overlooking the sea and twinkling lights.

Room Tip: Sea view of course - it's unforgettable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A wonderful view from the room/balcony and terrace used for breakfast/ drinks and sun loungers. The staff are really friendly and helpful and make the hotel a very relaxing place to stay. The breakfast included a healthy choice of fresh fruit, vegetables, eggs cooked to order and lovely cakes. Really loved having a Bellini on terrace in the evening too. Deluxe rooms had a lovely Tempura bed/pillow and gorgeous bath with jacuzzi and shower with extra jet sprays. No tea or coffee maker so take a travel one if you like tea in bed. The hotel is just a short walk to the main square for lots of good restaurants and shops. Can recommend Salvatore just across the road, Vittoria, Cumpa Cosimo and Figli Papa. Lots of sites to see nearby like Villa Rufolo garden where they have music concerts, Villa Cimbroni garden and the Duomo. For further afield the bus stops near to the hotel or Andrea does really good taxi tours ask at reception. We can recommend the mozzarella lunch and Paestum one. Slight road noise but didn't bother me at all. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all we wish to thank you for spending your lovely holiday here, in our "Home".
We always try to do our best making your experience as much unforgettable as possible.
We hope to welcoming you here again

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have recently returned from a lovely stay at the Hotel Villa Fraulo in Ravello. What a lovely hotel. It is situated in the perfect place .... two entrances, one leads out onto a lovely street with a short walk down an easy hill (with a few steps) right into the main square; the other entrance is right by the bus stop if you wish to travel down to Amalfi and also close to the taxi rank. The 6th floor terrace has views it would be hard to beat anywhere in Ravello and the Infinity Pool is wonderful!

We found everything about this hotel great .... the staff in particular were very nice and genuine from the housekeeping ladies to the staff on front reception (Linda in particular). The hotel is kept immaculate and our room was lovely - it was on the 2nd floor and whilst there was some noise from the road outside it was not a nuisance as some have implied in their reviews. the air-conditioning worked perfectly and was silent (I think the first time I have experienced this in any hotel!).

The service is excellent. Maurizio and the lads who wait tables for breakfast and lunch (amongst them Michelangelo and Paolo) were really courteous and helpful.

We ate in the hotel only on one night, our first .... the food was absolutely excellent (delicious in fact) but the atmosphere was a bit lacking because there were very few diners. Having eaten now in several of the restaurants in Ravello during our ten night stay, including the hotel Rufolo (where we did not rate the food at all) and Villa Maria, I feel Villa Fraulo should try to promote their restaurant more (I don't think I saw one advertisement for it while I was there other than on the website) .... the quality and setting (the restaurant is beautiful) compares more than favourably with any restaurant we tried in Ravello, including the view - which some rely on too heavily!!

All in all we had a fantastic holiday at the Villa Fraulo and will not hesitate to stay there again when we return to Ravello.





.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRG_2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guests,
we thank you for choosing our hotel.
Thank you for your wonderful review: it means you appreciated every single part of our Hotel, our aim to do all our best for our guests.
Next time you will be here, we will be very happy to welcome you.

Wishing all the best
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

There are lots of great things to say about Villa Fraulo. First - that view! Honestly, it takes your breath away. Breakfast on the terrace is something else - watching clouds go by at eye level, watching light dance on the ocean, it is remarkable... Michaelangelo was our waiter and he gave us great service and lots of tips of where to go in Ravello. The food was great too!

Life is so peaceful here. This hotel is in a great spot - in a cute cobblestone street with gardens outside, and literally 1 minute's walk to the town square.

The lobby has lots of quiet corners to sit, nice big windows so you can soak up that view, and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Beds were big and comfortable, block out curtains and thick glass sliding doors meant undisturbed sleep! Bathroom had great water pressure!

At times the decor can feel a bit overbearing - lots of heavy gold, lots of white marble and white leather, but that's the style in Italy really! The layout of the hotel is a bit disorientating too - it feels like two buildings combined into one (some rooms require you to get into 2 elevators, the air-conditioning in your room needs to be turned on by phoning reception - that sort of thing). Also, the rooms on the lower floors still get the incredible view, but they also get street noise when you have the glass doors open. Try to stay in rooms higher up if you want peace and quiet. The pool was refreshing and beautiful, but I wish the indoor part of the pool had been heated. Still, there was a sauna and a big sun terrace to make up for it. I'd totally recommend staying here!

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise, ask for a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Mr Taylor,
thank you for your review.
We are happy you appreciated our lovely terrace: for sure you were suspended between the blue ocean and the sky.
We hope to welcoming you again in the future to really enjoy the most beautiful view in the world!

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is one of the most beautifully-styled hotels we've stayed in and superbly well-located in Ravello. Extremely helpful and welcoming staff, well-appointed rooms, excellent facilities. Breakfast on a couple of days was slightly short of crockery, but this was soon remedied! We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLS-B777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing our hotel.
We hope we made all our best to make your holiday unforgettable.
Hoping to welcome you here again, we send our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing