We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently enjoyed three stunning nights at this delightful hotel in the beautiful hill top town of Ravello and wished it was for a much longer stay.
I was fortunate to be given the honeymoon suite and had the most glorious view across the bay.
Breakfast was just right and served on the terrace
The staff were all so helpful.

Room Tip: Try and have a room overlooking the terrace and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    116
    36
    11
    14
See reviews for
67
260
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed in the Fraulo for 6 nights in May . From the very efficient and professional welcome , to the breakfast service , a truly memorable experience .
Hotel personnel including Francesco , and all others , made reservations , provided recommendations and helped with any request . Top notch .

Rooms - we had a superior , provide a nice balcony view for early AM wake up vistas . Definitely a "splurge" , but the memories will linger far after the cost is forgotten .

Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBHMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having visited Amalfi before, we wanted to come back to Ravello. The hotel is built onto the rock and the main entrance is on the 7th floor and ideally situated, only a short stroll from the town square and its Cathedral, shops and restaurants etc. The accommodation consisted of a sitting room, bedroom and bath/shower room. Both rooms led onto a (morning) sunny balcony with chairs and table looking out to sea towards Salerno; one of the most famous views in Italy.
The staff were more than excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace restaurant was a treat but we only had dinner at the restaurant once and were a little disappointed with the food. One meal is not a fair test though. There are many other restaurants, in particular at Villa Cimbrone, also with great views.
Amalfi, Positano, Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii and even Capri are easily accessible from Ravello. Altogether, a great break.

Room Tip: Sea views are always best but only sunny in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian60London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. We chose to stay in Ravello because we were attending a cooking class with Mamma Agata closeby and since I didn't want to be late to the class, I thought we should stay local. Mamma Agata actually recommended this hotel to us. Originally, I had chosen to stay in Hotel Caruso because it was my birthday and I wanted to splurge. Instead, I opted to have dinner at Caruso and stay in Villa Fraulo. That was the plan...We checked in and it was a bit of a ghost town. I am not going to lie, I was disappointed in the hotel at first. We pulled into the front of the hotel, or what we thought was the front of the hotel, and we were unable to get into the hotel. I was wondering what sort of place we had decided to stay. There was a phone outside straight to the front desk. The woman from the front desk came down and let us in. Apparently, the front entrance was on the other side of the hotel and since they had renovated and added on a building, there was a bit of a maze to get to the main hotel. The hotel is beautiful. It is all white and it is just so gorgeous. We chose to stay in a suite because it was my birthday, it wasn't much more money to choose the suite, the suites are incredible and the bathroom alone is worth the money. We had two balconies with an unreal view of the ocean and lemon groves. We were there at the start of the season (April) so it was quiet and the weather was perfect...70s. This hotel is steps from the center of town. It is small but it is very quaint. There was a music theatre that was made of stone and steps from the hotel. They were having a concert one night that we were there but it was too late by the time we realized it. However, I would recommend looking into the concert schedule..I think they are twice weekly in the Summer. It looked amazing inside...very old and very interesting. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to enjoy it. The music sounded beautiful too. When we were exploring the hotel, we went up to the bar to have a drink and it was pretty much dead. There was a wine room with a candleabra lit up on the single table in the room. Surrounded by hanging dried salamis (which the chef hand makes) and bottles and bottles of wine. I said to my boyfriend, imagine if they would let us have dinner in there for my birthday? He asked the bartender/waiter, Mauricio, and he offered the room to us that night and whatever other night that we wanted to eat in there. We reserved for the following night which was my birthday. When the next day arrived, we went exploring the coast in a car that we rented. Ravello is set up high which makes a nice contrast for scenery from the surrounding cities. We came back and prepared for dinner in the special room. When we got off of the elevator, I was so mad with my boyfriend for not calling Mauricio to remind him of the reservation. The door was closed to the room and I assumed he forgot. He came over to the elevator and greeted us. He is so, so nice! He led me into the wine room. It was filled with candles and candleabras all around the room and table. He seated us on the single table. He offered up any of the sausages from the ceiling and cut it for us on the cutting board accompanied by sundried tomatoes, cheeses, etc. We chose a wine and sipped on it while we enjoyed course after course of the most delish food. Mauricio offered us a different menu if we couldn't find something that we enjoyed on the first one that he offered. He took the chef into the room and introduced us to him. We praised him! Minutes later, Mauricio brought in a special made FULL birthday cake for me. It was an entire cake which was all decorated in white and looked like a mini wedding cake. They sang to me and we sipped on Prosecco and cappuccino after that.....It was an experience like no other. We had such a great time. I felt so special and so privileged. Mauricio really took an interest in making the room beautiful, the food to our every liking, and treated us like we were honorary guests. It was one of the best birthdays that I have ever had. For that memory, I cannot thank him enough. This is a beautiful hotel, great location, and service comparable to none. AND, the beds are so comfy- they have the posturepedic mattresses.

Room Tip: Ask for Mauricio in the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I've now stayed in at least five hotels in Ravello and would put this one as my second favourite (first being The Caruso, but that is reserved for special occasions!). The people are extremely friendly and helpful. We asked for tea/coffee facility to be put in our room and this was granted immediately. The view is stunning, but then a lot of hotels in Ravello do have the same view. What sets it apart for me was the wonderful breakfast. As we were the first guests of the new season (and for one night the only people in the hotel!) we had our breakfast delivered to our room. There was enough to feed four! pastries, croissants, cake, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc., We then asked for mushroom omelettes for the following morning, expecting only to receive that, however, we still got all the above AND the omelettes! Also the room was lovely and clean with an extremely comfortable large bed. I'm sure that you would not be disappointed with this hotel, however, only one small downside, the infinity pool is very small and certainly you would not be able to sunbathe around it. If that is not so important to you, the I would definitely highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a lovely time in Ravello and Villa Fraulo was fantastic! The staff were super friendly especially the boys in the restaurant/breakfast area. I have been drinking espresso with lemon peel ever since. The beds are fantastic and never slept to well in a hotel before. would for sure come back in the future.

Room Tip: get the slightly larger rooms as my friend stayed in a slightly cheaper room and it was quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdalenaNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

we had a beautiful time in this hotel,the staff is very attentive,a special mention deserve maurizio and his team they made our stay anforgottable.ravello is a lavely small village,there is a lot to see and very friendly people

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#13 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#15 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing