We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had a lovely peaceful stay at Villa Fraulo. However there were a few disappointing things. Make sure you get a room high up in the hotel. We had a superior deluxe sea view room - which was lovely inside - however right next to a busy road - which was very loud and woke me up at 7am every morning. The view however, was magnificent - really special. The rooms were cleaned well daily and the cleaners were very nice and friendly. Buffet Breakfast was good, but not the best - could have done with replenishing as some of the food looked a bit stale. The sun lounging area was nice - lovely loungers and a great view - although the pool could have done with cleaning and heating. It was freezing and had a little mould at the bottom. The staff were lovely - always chatting and helping us with routes to visit other places in the area.
We were so relaxed we ended up eating at the hotel one day and not venturing out - the food was good. We hired a car for our stay - and the roads are so thin to get into the hotel it was a struggle to not scratch the car! The staff will help you get it in if you aren't the best or most confident driver. It is €25 a day to park in the hotel, which is quite expensive but there isn't
a way around it. Despite this the hotel was lovely and a treat in Ravello.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picturegirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having honeymooned in Positano back in 1989, we finally returned to the area to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary at Villa Fraulo and we were delighted with the hotel. Choose a deluxe room or suite if you can because the views and the bathrooms are wonderful! The hotel is well positioned just a short walk from Ravello square which is a wonderful place to sit and watch the world go by.
What really makes this hotel special is the staff who are all extremely friendly, but not intrusive. Maurizio's cocktails are perfect, you could spend a month working your way through the extensive drinks menu!
The views all around this area are spectacular and there are so many places to visit. A highlight for us was walking to Atrani, Amalfi and back. We also enjoyed the boat trip from Amalfi to Positano. Positano is still beautiful, but is a lot busier and more commercialised 25 years on. We preferred Ravello which is more laid back although I believe Positano is quieter in the evenings when the day trippers have gone home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dthingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Charged 80 Euro a day to pull out the lounge for our 10 year old and the pool was not cleaned for at least a month with algae coating the inside area of the pool! Not great but let's see after 4 days!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smcc8114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Loved this hotel and the friendly staff. Our guess is that the staff have personally invested in the success of this property because they work tirelessly to make sure each guest feels completely attended to and that all needs are met. We were particularly charmed by Giuseppe and Paolo at the terrace dining area. Rooms were clean, large and the showers had very good water pressure. We would return in a heartbeat as this hotel and Ravello are charming. Only wish that the pool was heated because even in June, Ravello felt a wee bit chilly and the water was like ice! My husband wants me to add that the breakfast was fantastic!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

i enjoyed my 2 days in villa fraulo.the hotel is 3 minutes from the main square in ravello. all the staff at the hotel are very nice and all speak English.my room was great with a terrace overlooking the coast.the shower had good pressure and the bed was very comfortable.the breakfast was very good made even better on the terrace.if I return to ravello I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We write few reviews but Villa Fraulo have excelled themselves and if this review makes your mind up to choose Villa Fraulo as your hotel of choice then you will not be disappointed. Greeted at the reception and taken to the balcony brought tears to my eyes. A view that cannot be put into words. As a 4 star hotel adjacent to five star hotels, you would expect an inferior aspect. Not at all. The terrace looks out beyond any of the other hotels and as such your view is never obstructed. The quality of the fixtures and fittings are incredible throughout the hotel with marble tiles floor to ceiling, a choice of piped music in your room, fantastic artwork, superb walnut furniture throughout the hotel and bedrooms. You will have read about the quality of the beds. All I can say is that we are buying one for our house.
The staff... I always feel not that the staff are there to serve but to make our stay special and we are grateful that we are able to share their fantastic location with us. We felt that everyone went out of their way to make our time special. They succeeded.
If you like cocktails then let Maurizio entertain you. His knowledge and ability to create the drink for your mood is fantastic.
As a holiday location I would recommend it to anyone but especially to those who like walking and do not mind showing a bit of sweat! Take the opportunity to walk the paths down AND up the myriad of options from Ravello to the coast. The views, aromas and destinations will astound you but if your final destination is a restaurant then I recommend you take a dry shirt!
If you intend to visit Pompeii and Vesuvius then think about taking public transport from Ravello to Amalfi to Sorrento and then the train to Pompeii. Fantastic views along the coast road and great to mix with the locals and at a quarter of the price. We also took the off road drive up to Vesuvius. If you have a bad back, don't do it. If you want a thrill, sit in the back of the vehicle!
Capri is something you need to do if you have the time and budget! Great views but that goes for the whole of the area.
Our highlight was without doubt the treatment we got from the staff at Villa Fraulo and the hotel itself and will we go back? Yes, without doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Minouri. If you can get an upgrade, the suites are unbelievable with ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachelandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location and the views were excellent. The hotel was clean. The furniture and overall decor was dated. The service was poor. At times it seems like the entire hotel was staffed by one or two people. The poor man at the front desk had to chase down spare towels for us and even brought coffee one morning. Sometimes we would call the front desk and nobody answered.

Maybe it is better during the peak season - but we were very disappointed with the service during our trip at the end of April.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJavadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: £154 - £790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing