We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We had a lovely stay here - the room has been finished recently, and the rates during the soft launch are very good. Lovely views from our room as well as the reception. One point is that the reception can be very hard to find when you first arrive, but once you get your bearings it's easy to walk around Ravello and the hotel location is good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldaggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    119
    39
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
272
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This is a new hotel, with a view over the Amalfi coast. Our room, as do all rooms Apparently, HAD to magnficent view, and even in the early months of April, morning and night we sat outside on Our terrace. Clearly we benefitted from Being early customers in a building Which still HAD a lot of finishing touches Being Made When We Were There. The staff were lovely .. WAS nothing too much, But then again, the hotel was full to from. All of the staff were local, and HAD immense pride in the hotel and area. We were there to walk large sections of the Amalfi Coast (Which is Strongly recommended for Any Individual Reasonably fit - use Julian Tippett's book), and coming back to the hotel Each night Proved very restorative. The Children Were Embraced and appreciated the staff's friendliness, as well as the Substantial breakfast on the large terrace. The concert on Saturday evening Was a Chopin recital - a real treat. The only shame is the Euro vs. Pound Which Makes Italy at the moment so expensive. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scragsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We sourced this hotel from a travel web site and we were not let down. When we arrived we were surprised to hear that we were the first ever guests at the hotel as they just opened that day. Pompeo/Flora/Matteo & Rosaria amongst others were very friendly and helpful. They ensured that everything was in order. The pool area looks fantastic although unfortunately for us it was not open. It will be a few weeks yet.
We received a complientary drink from the manager and Matteo (Bar Man), all in all made feel very welcome. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace or in a bright room and is nice.
The rooms are comfortable/clean and have everything you require. Location is excellent just down from Palazzo Sasso and Caruso but even closer to the duomo. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Hotel Villa Fraulo is set to become one of the gems of the Amalfi Coast. Set in Ravello, this newly opened, family owned hotel has yet to establish itself. Yes, as previous reviews state, it was supposed to open last year and yes there were a few disappointed guests but now they are up and running and you won't be disappointed. There are still a few rough edges to be ironed out but these are more than compensated by an excellent, friendly staff, a truly beautiful building restored to an impressively high standard and one of the best locations in Ravello, shared by its near neighbours the Caruso and the Palazzo Sasso. The spectacular sea views are breathtaking and their large terrace takes full advantage of this, providing a wonderful location for breakfast or early evening drinks. At the time of writing this review, the pool and spa were yet to be finished but are expected to be in full operation in a couple of weeks time. Likewise, the restaurant was open for breakfast but not yet able to offer dinner. This, however is not a problem, with Ravello offering a good range of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
If you are looking for excellent service, personal attention and a relaxing experience, all set in a stunning location, then the Hotel Villa Fraulo is for you

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniLyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The hotel didn't open their business as scheduled but they made an excellent arrangment for us stay to in another hotel. Not only they upgraded us to a better hotel, they also let us stay there free for one night. The manager is very pleasant to deal with. I am impressed by their courtesy and generousity.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing