We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”

Villa Maria Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were just strolling through Ravello after a visit to Villa Ruffalo ( which is beautiful) when we came upon Villa Maria restaurant by chance. They have a casual lunch menu which includes sandwiches and pizzas, which is very good value ,as well as a more formal menu. We had the casual menu which was just what we are looking for and we were amazed that we could dine in a place with such spectacular views for such a reasonable price. We had a table right at the railing and sat and relaxed with a glass of wine, a beer and good food and just drinking in the wonderful views. The staff were very good and it really made our visit to Ravello very special and the highlight of our day. Would definately recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    230
    85
    54
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
331 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The sunset views of the surrounding hills - even on a rainy night - from the Villa Maria Hotel and Restaurant are breathtaking and were the highlight of our dinner. We braved heavy rains to navigate the narrow, meandering streets of steps for dinner as it was one of the restaurants listed on our confirmation when we purchased concert tickets.. As we were attending the concert they graciously offered a specially priced dinner. The service was attentive, the menu selections varied. The local wine was outstanding. Yet, having experienced 2 weeks of outstanding restaurants on the Amalfi Coast, we were somewhat underwhelmed with our dinner at the Villa Maria.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank es7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant following a recommendation from a food lover. We had the capraza salad together as a starter and it was delicious - the best dish of the meal ; it was accompanied by very good bread. I had a glass of rose wine which I thought cost too much ( 8 euro). We followed with pasta in anchovies and pesto sauce with cherry tomatoes and sea bass in bread crumbs and lemon zest. Both dishes were very good. We finished with tea and coffee. All these cost us 73.5 euros not including tip which is quite expensive.
The view is beautiful and the food is very good. The main reason for giving 4 out of 5 is that it is a bit overpriced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Tabor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop in Ravello”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

As recommended by our driver, we stopped at Villa Maria for lunch in the way back from Villa Cimbrone. The views from this restaurant were amazing and you can sit right up against the terrace railing. The wait staff was really hustling during the lunch rush, it was evident that they were working hard. Pizza and sandwiches were very good. Frenchf roes actually tasted like hand made, instead of frozen. My wife ordered from the full restaurant menu and it was much more expensive. They supplied a high chair for the bambino and that can be hard to come by in nicer Italian restaurants. I recommend this cafe if you are spending time in Ravello.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch and sit out the afternoon thunderstorm”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We wandered into Villa Maria just as an afternoon thunderstorm squall moved into Ravello to drop a fair bit of rain and wind. Though we were a party of 6, and the restaurant looked fairly busy, they were able to accomodate us at two tables side by side. My husband and I ordered 2 sandwiches and one pizza to share, and it was obvious upon arrival of our food that we had ordered too much. The bacon and onion pizza was great! One of our party members is Celiac, there were a number of options she had for gluten free pasta sauces, and as a bonus, the waiter brought her gluten free bread as an appetizer with the olive oil/vinagrette, the first time she has experienced this anywhere. Despite the turbulent rain and wind, we did stay dry under the plastic coverings and awnings, and it was a great place to wait out the storm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandKEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Maria Restaurant also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Villa Maria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing