We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful menu and a memorable view”

Villa Maria Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Columbus, GA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and a memorable view”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Had lunch at the outdoor restaurant, Villa Maria. The service, food and view were wonderful. Service was great. Be certain to go inside to look at the pictures on the walls of Jackie Kennedy's visit. This is a wonderful place for lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    257
    96
    60
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The views!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After a walk through the gardens of Villa Cimbrone we had a reservation at this fantastic restaurant. The reservation assured us a table by the railing with a view of the water.

Spicey mussels and a pumpkin salad were our starters. The mussels were perfectly prepared and generous. The pumpkin was firm and slightly sweet. The wine was perfectly paired for the dished. The only issue is that I can not get the wine here in the States. Some one needs to rectify this miscarriage of justice!

Our next dished were a mushroom rissoto and a chesnut gnocchi. Both were well prepared and met the expectations set by the first course. Reccomended by our hotelier, this restaurant was the perfect end to our stay on the Amalfi coast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were just strolling through Ravello after a visit to Villa Ruffalo ( which is beautiful) when we came upon Villa Maria restaurant by chance. They have a casual lunch menu which includes sandwiches and pizzas, which is very good value ,as well as a more formal menu. We had the casual menu which was just what we are looking for and we were amazed that we could dine in a place with such spectacular views for such a reasonable price. We had a table right at the railing and sat and relaxed with a glass of wine, a beer and good food and just drinking in the wonderful views. The staff were very good and it really made our visit to Ravello very special and the highlight of our day. Would definately recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The sunset views of the surrounding hills - even on a rainy night - from the Villa Maria Hotel and Restaurant are breathtaking and were the highlight of our dinner. We braved heavy rains to navigate the narrow, meandering streets of steps for dinner as it was one of the restaurants listed on our confirmation when we purchased concert tickets.. As we were attending the concert they graciously offered a specially priced dinner. The service was attentive, the menu selections varied. The local wine was outstanding. Yet, having experienced 2 weeks of outstanding restaurants on the Amalfi Coast, we were somewhat underwhelmed with our dinner at the Villa Maria.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank es7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant following a recommendation from a food lover. We had the capraza salad together as a starter and it was delicious - the best dish of the meal ; it was accompanied by very good bread. I had a glass of rose wine which I thought cost too much ( 8 euro). We followed with pasta in anchovies and pesto sauce with cherry tomatoes and sea bass in bread crumbs and lemon zest. Both dishes were very good. We finished with tea and coffee. All these cost us 73.5 euros not including tip which is quite expensive.
The view is beautiful and the food is very good. The main reason for giving 4 out of 5 is that it is a bit overpriced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Maria Restaurant also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Villa Maria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing