We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely experience”
Review of La Vecchia Cantina

La Vecchia Cantina
Ranked #20 of 41 Restaurants in Ravello
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Private parking,open all day long:from 12am to 23pm
Billigheim Sulzbach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I had to become a member of TripAdvisor simply to get this off my chest: My husband Kevin and I went to this restaurant for lunch but I felt really rotten with a throat infection. I asked for a tea and said I could not eat anything because I found it so painful to swallow. Soup was not on the menu... After some 20 minutes Salvatore, the owner of the restaurant, brought me a huge bowl of wonderful, steaming hot vegetable soup that he had cooked just for me! And it was delicious, too. We have been back there a few times since and the food was always excellent. I have read some really bad reports about this restaurant and its owner and the only thing that I can say to the people who wrote these is: you reap what you sow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    86
    30
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had really nice meal with my family of four last week. The pizzas were superb, excellent pasta dinners and good service and casual atmosphere! Would definitely come back again when in Ravello.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cme42thdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulzbach, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Salvatore, will always make you welcome and will make sure that you are looked after, the food is excellent. If you go to Ravello it is a must to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Despicable service and food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived into Ravello yesterday and decided to have lunch at La Vecchia Cantina. We were shown to our table by the waiter. I asked what the fish of the day was, the same waiter (wearing red glasses and one earring) explained what it was, but my friend preferred to have sharing dishes between us so he said I'll come back. He came back straight away but we still hadn't decided so he said, I need your order now as I have other customers waiting! There were plenty of empty tables tho' that should have been the clue! Not at all what we were expected to hear, anyway I ordered the carbonara and my friend ordered a shrimp cannelloni. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw my carbonara it was just scrambled egg with a few bits of pasta and small bits of bacon, my friend said hers was dry. We complained about the dishes but to no avail. A beautiful spot spoiled by poor food and an argumentative waiter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 714Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVecchiaCantina, Proprietario at La Vecchia Cantina, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Google Translation
Scusate nonnina che vi rispondo così dopo 20 minuti di chiacchiere che avete fatto per la terza volta vi chiedo cosa mangiate anche se vi chiedo che tenevo altra gente e voi mi stavate facendo andare avanti e dietro senza combinare niente ma non ho offeso mai nessuno lo faccio adesso però io porto occhialini rosa e orecchino forse perché amo la vita ma voi che ci facevate il 12 maggio a Ravello se la befana viene i 06 gennaio bo me lo chiedo ancora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravello, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing resto with great prices ”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stay away from the centro where prices are double. The food here is freshly made to order, delicious and the wine is also amazing. You would be remiss to EDT anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Daveinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vecchia Cantina also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Vecchia Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing