We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful view, beautiful house, wonderful staff.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Infinity Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity Pool
Rocky Beach View of the VILLA PRINCIPESSA (Left side of the picture)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
33 reviews
Infinity Pool
Rocky Beach
View of the VILLA PRINCIPESSA (Left side of the picture)
Infinity Pool
Infinity Pool
Infinity Pool - Jacuzzi
Infinity Pool
Infinity Pool
Solarium
Private outdoor area with BBQ
Private outdoor area with BBQ
Livingroom
Livingroom
Livingroom
sea view from the livingroom
Entrance of the villa
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
First bathroom
First bathroom
First bathroom
Chromotherapy shower
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bathroom
Third bedroom
Third bedroom
Third bathroom
Terrace - sea view
Kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ravello, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Momtravel...
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful house, wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our family had the most dreamy vacation at Villa Princepessa for a week in August. The villa perfectly caters to every need. The sea is 200 steps down and the pool is 100 steps up, with transporting views the whole way. The villa is on three levels with the well-stocked, open kitchen on the lowest level; the living room on the street level; 2 bedrooms one level up; and the third bedroom on the top level. All the rooms are very spacious with ceilings ranging from 12-18 feet high, except the top floor room which is gabled but equally lovely, very private and has a small balcony for sitting. Every room has views out over the sea. The house is very tastefully furnished with a mix of antiques, some original to the 250 year old house, and new clean white sofas. The living room has wifi, a PC and a wet bar and beautiful tile floors. The bedrooms have one king, one with two twins and one with a double/queen. All have their own beautifully equipped bathrooms. Every level has 10 ft tall doors leading out to a little balcony. We ate al fresco in our own garden terrace and enjoyed the tomatoes, basil, rosemary and squashes from the garden. There are also figs and eggplant, if you can find a ripe one. The staff is SO friendly and helpful and responds immediately to any questions/concerns. There are extra towels for the sea/pool and they even came to clean and provide new linens mid-week. There are air conditioning units in every room which we preferred not to use during the day to catch the sea breeze, but did use at night and they were very quiet and worked well. The bedrooms are all on the back (sea) side of the house away from traffic noise and so were very quiet. We walked daily 10 minutes into Minori for dinner or to visit the butcher/fishmonger/market etc for our own cooking. The 1157 step walk up to Ravello was also a hit and a good workout! Either a bus or a ferry will take you to Amalfi. We took the train to Salerno from Rome and then a ferry to Amalfi and a short taxi to the house. It was a very peaceful way to travel, and the ferry is wonderful; plus we avoided the very windy roads which, though beautiful, induce carsickness in our kids.
The sea platform is absolutely heaven -- the Mediterranean is so mild and lovely. The kids jumped in off different levels and we all snorkeled along the cliffs.
I honestly cannot imagine a better place to stay on the Amalfi coast. Thank you to Vincenzo, Norma and Franco for making our stay absolutely perfect.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: View, high ceilings, sea platform
Liked least: crazy moped drivers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This villa is an excellent choice if you travel with a larger group. The view from the villa is breathtaking. Rooms are great. Most of the mornings we gathered outside for a coffee before we walked down 202 steps (through vegetable and fruit gardens) to the ocean. Great area to swim. The best trip was when we got picked up by boat from our platform below the villa to go to Capri. Franco, who works for amalfi vacation, is extremely helpful. Everything he suggested ( incl the boat trip) was fantastic. Best seafood in town at ristorante Giardiniello.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great views, access to ocean, short walk to town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schmid Family
Ontario, CANADA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CanadianB...
Canada, eh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Principessa is an absolute delight. Perched on the mountainside, with tremendous views, the villa is a little slice of heaven.

I need to warn you upfront - it's not for everyone. The main road through the Amalfi Coast is right outside your front door. Cars are mere inches away and they will blow their horns relatively early in the morning. The villa is also spread out over four levels - the kitchen on the lowest level, followed by the living room and then the bedroom floor, with two bedrooms. The fourth level is the attic, which is now a third bedroom. You briefly go outside to access it. There are three and a half baths - but none have a decent sized shower, although that's not unusual for Europe! You can get parking at the villa, but its in a garage down the street. A pretty tight fit and someone has to stand on the road to help you back out.

With all of that out of the way, why would you want to stay here? Because its a gorgeous villa, with decent furnishings, tons of charm and incredible views - with exceptionally friendly and gracious people willing to support you in whatever way you need.

The location and value is hard to beat. The villa is about 800 meters from the town of Minori, down the hill from Ravello. Minori isn't all that special - quaint and lovely, just not a whole lot to see and do. You need a car or driver to see the best of the Amalfi Coast but that would be true no matter where you stayed. Positano is only 30 km away - but a hour on the switchback roads. Positano tends to be where a lot of people stay but you'd likely pay double the rate for a place of this size and quality.

The villa has access to a swimming pool at a related hotel down the street. You can also head down to the villa's dock. It took a bit to get down there - winding through a maze of stairways and gates, but eventually you find yourself on a dock/platform right on the water. There aren't many villas that can claim that. The villa also has two lovely terraces - a large garden terrace and a small terrace just outside the attic bedroom.

There were seven of us in total - 4 adults and 3 kids (ages 10 to 17). The villa is large and we had plenty of space. We ate out for lunch and dinner but made our own breakfasts - Minori has a number of "marketos" you can buy food at including some cheese and meat shops.

We had plenty of questions about the area when we where there and the staff were always helpful. They were a cell phone call away and had plenty of tips and suggestions to make the vacation all that much better.

If you want old world charm with plenty of space and good access to the rest of the Amalfi Coast, then Villa Principessa could be the vacation villa for you!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Fantastic location, incredible views, large well appointed rooms and attentive staff
Liked least: If you don't like being inches from the Amalfi Coast road, don't stay here
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2013
Dear Madame.

thanks for your nice review left and we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.
We are open mind and we take into consideration what our guests write about our accommodation, that's why, we are so happy to inform you that a new bathroom is available and working for the guests staying in the villa principessa.
The half bathroom, mentioned in your email, is now a full bathroom with a chromotherapy shower and we also renovated/updated the other bathroom and now even the other 3 complete bathrooms are equipped with a comfortable sized shower. So each bedroom has it's private complete bathroom and there is one more complete bathroom at the same level of the dining room/kitchen

thank you for your precious advise, much appreciated.
we hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thirkej
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cannot imagine anywhere better to stay on the Amalfi coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place is lovely! Views are spectacular, terrace is a wonderful place to waste a day, you can walk down to the sea or up to the swimming pool, and Minori is a few minutes stroll away. The rooms themselves are great places to be - we had several happy evening dinners around the kitchen table, and waking up to views across the sea was wonderful. Vincenzo and Norma were helpful and informative. We had a lovely time.

Ground floor is a small hallway, and an impressive large double height sitting room, with big sofas and a dining table, and a balcony looking over the sea. Downstairs there is a shower room and a big kitchen, with a sofa in the corner and a table for 8-10 people. Outside there are two terraces, and 144 steps take you down from there to the sea. Upstairs two bedrooms and a bathroom, one of them has the most amazing trompe l'oeil decoration. More stairs and a small terrace take you up to a self-contained bedroom with a shower and kitchenette. Below the kitchen is another self-contained studio, which we rented for some of our party, but I guess might be taken separately. A minute's walk to the apartment complex, and then another 130 odd steps up there is a 30 ft swimming pool, with stupendous views across the coast.

The setting is great - views to Minori and Maiori, and the other way towards Amalfi. Sitting watching the sun set was superb, especially the day that there were dolphins 100 yards off shore! It's a 5-10 minute walk into Minori for local shops, and you're 5 mins drive from Amalfi.

The villa is right on the road, so if you stand by the front door you sometimes feel that the buses are going to drive right inside, but you quickly stop noticing them, and the bedrooms are on the side away from the road.

The wifi works, but the TV has Sky Italia, so very few non-Italian channels, if that matters to you. There is a tumble dryer and a washing machine and a dish washer. If you have a car, you definitely need to rent a parking space, which is 50 feet down the road, and generally to be aware that driving on the narrow road along the Amalfi coast isn't for the faint hearted.

Overall, we're looking for an excuse to come back next year!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Views and setting
Liked least: err, I guess that it's right next to the road, but it wasn't a big deal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
DC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
loreenbel...
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a fantastic time. There is so much to do in this area... or you can just sit by the pool and enjoy the view! The Villa Principessa was wonderful. It was very large and clean - even though it is 200 years old! There are lots of stairs so it wouldn't be good for small children. There was a beautiful garden with BBQ and tables for dining. There was a cute little patio on the top floor and balconies with the most beautiful views! The access to the pool was across the street - the street is the Amalfi coast! It was worth the 3 min. walk though. I highly recommend contacting Vincenzo to arrange a boat rental to take you to Capri and Positanto. He also arrange airport transfers and a driver to Pompei. Norma was wonderful and arrange taxi's to Ravello and Positano. It is cheaper than a normal cab. Walking into Minori was a daily highlight and don't worry, those cars won't hit you! It was a dream vacation. Thank you.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the noise of the road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing