We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Belvedere Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Famed for its superb selection of fresh, local Mediterranean dishes, Belmond Hotel Caruso's Belvedere Restaurant offers diners an unforgettable experience. Chef Mimmo di Raffaele takes guests on a tantalising journey of discovery. Traditional Italian specialities inspire innovative dishes. Dine in the elegant indoor dining room, the atmospheric outdoor terrace, or in the al fresco area close to the pool, surrounded by ancient rose bushes.
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch whilst staying in Amalfi.
We both had the taster menu which from start to finish was a taste extravaganza.
Staff were lovely, a great mix of professionalism, warm & friendly & did spend time chatting to us but not intrusive.
The view was stunning, not to forget.
Our favourite hotel is the Splendido in Portifino which we have stayed at a few times & this is on par.
Grazie a tutti

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadySkiQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belvedere Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Sirs,

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch at our Belvedere Restaurant and to read all your words of praise for us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon to Belmond Hotel Caruso!

Saluti da Ravello,

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    30
    13
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Fabulous menu, fabulous setting but don't expect it to be cheap!
The best gin & tonic in the world (but ask them to peel the lemon not slice it!). If you want a special meal, then this is one of the places I would recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beachy1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belvedere Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Sirs,

I would like to thank you for sharing this amazing review on Tripadvisor.

I am more than happy to discover that you enjoyed your special meal at the Belvedere Restaurant and very honoured that you consider our Gin&Tonic the best in the world!

Hope to welcome you back soon to Belmond Hotel Caruso.

Kind regards from beautiful Ravello

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Need to Improve Service and Food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful settings abound in Ravello, and that's what the Belvedere has going for it. Sadly, the service here does not match that of the Hotel Caruso to which it is attached. Some servers were attentive and efficient, while others were abrupt and unhelpful. We had to ask three times to order a glass of wine, and instead of offering us a wine list,each time the brusque server told us that the sommelier was coming (except he didn't for 25 minutes while we sat thirsty). Several mistakes were made in our orders as well. While the food was beautifully presented, it was oddly bland and flavorless. The best dish by far was the simple Spaghetti Ravello with San Marzano tomato sauce. The Belvedere is not worth the very high prices it charges, so put your Ravello dining dollars toward one of the many superior restaurants in this lovely town instead.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belvedere Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comment on Tripadvisor.

First of all I am pleased to discover that you found some waiters attentive and efficient and that you appreciated the presentation of our dishes.

At the same time I deeply apologize for the problems you experienced. Please rest assured that this an absolute exception as all our restaurant staff are very passionate about their work and our service as well our fresh Mediterranean cuisine are usually very appreciated by our guests.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our Belvedere Restaurant.

Kind regards

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“special ambiance”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying in the Hotel for a week so had the chance to use the restaurant 3 times plus breakfast each day. For me it was my favourite place to eat. It is fine dining but not in a Michelin kind of way. Much more simple ingredients, local and cooked beautifully. Lots of little interim dishes means that you are always full and satisfied by the end. The view from the balcony is the very best in Ravello. Most important of all is the service and ambiance of this restaurant. All this is orchesrated by the really excellent Restaurant manager Giovanni who's attention to detail and style makes this such a special place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belvedere Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your sharing your great feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so delighted to read that the restaurant Belvedere was your favourite place to eat and that you appreciated so much our food and attention to the details.

Also Giovanni was very happy to read your fantastic review and sends you together with his staff his kindest regards.

All the best,

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but maybe trying a little too hard”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The terrace has lovely views and the wine list is excellent. But in my opinion, the menu tried a little too hard. Southern Italy should be excellent ingredients served simply. Leave the complex haute cuisine to Parisian/New York/London chefs…again, just my humble opinion. In contrast, the lunch by the Caruso pool (same proprietors) really got it right. Excellent dishes made with high quality ingredients, served simply and with that same incredible view. Truly a treat. If you're going to pick lunch or dinner at this fine hotel, and it is truly fine, I would choose lunch. All that said, if you're looking for a fancy, multi-course meal, with white glove service this isn't bad, just didn't match the surroundings. Personally would save my Michelin-Star-like meals for a big city destination… This is a warm weather vacation spot. And a beautiful one at that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belvedere Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time to convey your feedback.

It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed not only your lunch at our pool restaurant but also the stunning views from our restaurant terrace during your dinner at the Belvedere restaurant.

I believe that the spectacular atmosphere, our attentive service and our excellent local Mediterranean food makes a dinner at our Belvedere restaurant an unforgettable experience. To satisfy every taste, our menu contains over twenty five different dishes, ranged from simple basic to more fancy ones.

We would be more than happy to welcome you soon again at Belmond Hotel Caruso!

Best greetings from beautiful Ravello,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belvedere Restaurant also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Belvedere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing