We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with excellent setting and staff - it is a hidden gem - get in while you can!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I first stayed at Hotel Palumbo 2 years ago and then again this summer. Everyone I knew who had been to the Amalfi Coast area had said their one regret was just doing a day trip to Ravello and not staying for a few days, so I was determined not to have this regret. I was also determined to stay in a beautiful setting and really be able to enjoy the physical beauty and views of this village in the hills. The first trip (summer 2009), I was originally booked into a very over-priced hotel nearby and then luckily read online that there was a lot of construction going on in the area below and that the view was blocked and terrible from this other hotel (which this hotel did not mention at all). The view was very important to me, but I also wanted to be in a lovely hotel, as this was to be a big dream vacation for my husband and myself - our first extended 17 day trip without our 4 kids. I cannot tell you how thrilled I was to switch my booking to the Hotel Palumbo on the advice of friends and things I had read online - first of all, the view was not blocked at all by the huge crane and construction - the view was breathtaking and gorgeous AND the hotel was absolutely stunning. Not only is it a very historic setting with the piano that Wagner composed on in the lobby (which my husband was thrilled to get to play), but the decor is gorgeous! From the common spaces to the unbelievably gorgeous rooms - it is breathtaking! The rooms were well sized and have lovely balconies and bathrooms - rich and beautiful fabrics, comfortable beds, and lovely furniture and decor - and all of the rooms had better views than the 2 more expensive hotels nearby (we went and checked after we got there to make sure we had made the right decision!). And, the staff were amazing and attentive and friendly. it was such a pleasure to stop by the desk for information or just to chat. There was no snobby attitude - just excellent service with a smile and the staff always went above and beyond to help us with directions, arrange tickets for the Ravello festival, etc. They were truly fabulous! Breakfast was wonderful and served in an idyllic setting overlooking the sea. My husband and I toured around the other hotels and were SO GLAD that we stayed at Hotel Palumbo! There are times when you hear that this place or that place is "THE" place to stay, and it is true - we stayed at IL San Pietro while in Positano, and it certainly lived up to its reputation, but I cannot say that about some of the other hotels that are lauded in Ravello. The truth is that the Hotel Palumbo physically has a better view - the new Ravello Festival indoor theater does not block the view and Hotel Palumbo is exquisite, but not snobby or rude. The Staff, the setting, everything is just perfect! I returned this year again, but with my husband's sister. It was her first trip to Italy and despite staying in Positano, Amalfi and Capri, our stay at the Hotel Palumbo was by far her favorite and mine. Ravello is so gorgeous and such a beautiful, charming, small town, you want to have a beautiful setting to stay in and the Hotel Palumbo is that hidden gem - it is fabulous! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Ravello. Also, it is important to note that since much of the town does not have car access, you should really be careful about where you stay and if you will be able to access it well with luggage, etc. This was another plus for the Hotel Palumbo - it is in an area where a car can still get close enough to bring your bags the 20 feet to the entrance. It is also literally a 2 minute walk to the main piazza, so the setting it perfect to easily access the main area and the Ravello Festival at Villa Rufalo, if you choose to go to a concert there (which I recommend doing!), and yet it is on a quiet pedestrian street so you won't encounter noise at night. It was a perfect setting and I cannot recommend it more highly. Oh, and by the way, I don't work for another hotel - this is an honest write up from a well-traveled middle aged american.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opinionatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

We felt in love with Ravello the minute we got there!!!
We check in at 12am and the air conditioning and the freezer were not working. They said that by time that we came back from our day tour everything was going to be fix. For our surprise when we came back the room had no elecricity at all. No lights no nothing!!!
At 11:30pm they finally turn on the lights but no TV, no freeze and no AC. We slept with the windows open. The hotel didin't even offer a bottle of water!!!!....believe me that in July in can get really hot!!!
We did ask several times for another room but they where "over book"....
However they did charge the whole fare to our credit card without our conset!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alina518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The views from the veranda and breakfast area are astounding and the food at the restaurant is probably the best you will find in Ravello. The staff was very helpful in setting up future stays and guiding us around town. We loved Ravello so much we stayed an extra night. IT did help that we here in off-season (October) so our rates were half the normal rates. Even at that rate, it isn't cheap. For the full room rate, I would expect a little more - but for the rate we paid it was fantastic. Oh - one warning - do not have your laundry done here; a total ripoff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I have mixed feelings about our stay at Hotel Palumbo. My reason for booking was the proximity of the hotel to the gardens where we attended a concert. The building is a beautiful mixture of historical layering, columns from 600 bc, remnants of the original medieval 11th century structure with a strong Moorish influence combined with furniture from 17th and 18th centuries. Our room opened directly onto the entry area and was split-level with the bathroom downstairs. This could create a problem for some people visiting the bathroom during the night. We were happy enough with the room decoration and the view was stunning, but the bathroom desperately needs updating. There was a balcony close to our room off the sitting area and we enjoyed lunch here during our stay. Breakfast is a sumptuous affair and most of the guests choose to sit outside on the balcony overlooking the Amalfi Coast. Walking to the breakfast room takes you through rooms full of antiques which evoke impressions of life here in the past. On our first morning we must have arrived at breakfast during the busiest time and found that the buffet needed replenishing. There was one waiter delivering a la carte dishes to guests joined later by a second waiter. They were run off their feet and it was obvious when I asked for fruit that it had been waiting in the kitchen ready to be brought out. We were unaware that dishes ordered from the menu were included in the buffet cost. The next morning we decided to have breakfast earlier and arrived to an empty restaurant. The service was impeccable but still with the one overworked waiter, not what you would expect from a five star hotel! We found the staff very friendly but my husband was quite unimpressed when told that the Wifi which is not free, was not working for our entire stay. We had pre-booked dinner at the hotel but cancelled when we read the menu and saw the prices. The parking was expensive at 30 euros per day but on the Amalfi Coast there is no other choice. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Palumbo, it was a unique experience enhanced by beautiful Ravello, a calm haven in the midst of the frenetic Amalfi Coast at Easter.

Room Tip: Visit Villa Cimbrone gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We booked Palumbo through Luxury Link and were slightly concerned at some of the reviews about the hotel being worn down. Those concerns are somewhat true and on that alone the hotel doesn't really deserve 5 stars. But, those minor issues pale in comparison to our other issues with this hotel.

Our package from Luxury Link included a jr suite with a sea view, bottle of wine, wine tasting/tour from their vineyard and fresh flowers in room on arrival. The suite is not very large so I can't imagine what the regular rooms were like, but again not a big deal since there was a bed, somewhere for our bags and two chairs. The view from the balcony was quite nice though and that is the main reason you come to Ravello. The flowers were anything but fresh and not there on arrival, and the wine tour consists of them leading you into a room with wine in stainless steel tanks and then after an awkward two minutes of pause they ask if you have any questions. For your troubles you get to taste the white and red in small plastic cups that we took back to the hotel bc there really was no wine tour or tasting. The bottle they give you in the room is the same white.

Still all minor stuff, but then we asked why our air conditioning didn't seem to be working. We were informed that it is not turned on yet bc this was not hot weather for them. It was 80 degrees during the day and when you are staying in a room with large windows up high it becomes a solarium in the morning. I tried to ask for a fan, no luck there either. The next morning at breakfast we heard another couple asking why the AC was not working. We were both told maybe they could put in on that night. To no one's surprise that did not happen.

Whenever we asked to speak to the mgr there was no one there that could help us and of course the AC was never on the whole time we were there and we woke up early and sweating every morning. We respect their culture that they may use AC less than us, but we had called two wks prior when we saw the forecast to make sure they had AC and when multiple guests ask you to turn on the AC at a 5 star hotel I can't imagine there is any answer but yes. As another example of the luxury of the hotel, we asked for an umbrella when we were heading out as there were thundershowers. The answer: Sorry, the other guests have all the umbrellas.

Our biggest regret was we had booked through Luxury Link and couldn't just walk out after day one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Excellent value in this old Palazzo. Stunning ocean views - particularly from our room. Friendly and welcoming staff. Room was lovely and bed particularly comfortable.
Beautifully laid out hotel. Dinning room was a bit formal for us and overpriced. Need to update dinner menu and produce local cuisine nights or seafood specials.. However breakfast was always good with those stunning views.. Nicholas & Sarah

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

On our trip driving around the Amalfi coast this April, we were recommended to visit Ravello and we booked The Palumbo because of its high star rating and valued rate .And we were not disappointed. The service was good,although although the hotel does not have dinning facilities open ,we asked the reception to book us dinner and they were eager to comply.
The lobby is spacious and open onto the sea with great view below.They have garrage parking which is nearby for a fee. Have a look around the Hotel Sasso next door. It is really glamorous but at much higher rate. Nice village a 3 minutes down and two extremely beautiful garden tourist spots nearby not to be missed.Excellent for photos.

Room Tip: Book room with sea view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugX50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 16, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ravello
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £156 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...My family's dream...My own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing