We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in room 32 on the 2nd floor which was quite spacious with a large bath.

The restaurant was still closed for the season, but breakfast was OK with good coffee.

Service was excellent: they held my hand while I waited for my lost luggage (actually, we drove to Sorrento and took the ferry to Capri, they did call me when it arrived).

Bit of a hike to Mamma Agata's cooking school, so we took a taxi back.

I had previously stayed at Hotel Parsival which has been recently renovated: after dinner there, we saw room # 29 which is quite nice and has a great view.

I would recommend Hot. Palumbo and, of course, Ravello.

Room Tip: # 32 was quite nice, comfy, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psmsmdagreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Palumbo is in a beautiful historic building that has terrific views. Our room was on the first floor with a walkout terrace. The room was clean and comfortable though the bathroom could use some updating. The bathroom tile looked like a cheap job from the 1950's. The room was incredibly quiet since there are no busy roads nearby. The hotel staff was uniformly polite and helpful. The only meal we took in the hotel was breakfast, which was somewhat spartan but fine. Parking is in another building a short distance from the hotel along the very narrow road. BTW, a Garmin GPS will get you there even though the route seems really circuitous. The location of the hotel is great since it's only a short walk to the main square of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I decided to look for lodging at the last minute to fill in a night between Palinuro and Naples........I had been to Ravello to stay once before.....went on line to book the hotel I stayed at the previous time and found it to be sold out......did some searching and found an interesting "hot deal" for a deluxe room for a night at the Palumbo. Five Stars!! Well, let's try it!!! So I booked it. We arrived in the mid afternoon......a drive to the very top of the Ravello town.....the first "high"....entered into the garage area through a driveway just barely wide enough for the car...to the hotel parking entrance and was greeted there by an attendant who guided me in to the parking area.....he took charge of our bags and directed me to the entrance.......the second "high" was the entrance into a lobby that could have been the "Louvre".......really wonderfully decorated with genuine art, a grand piano.....floral arrays......beautiful tiles, a grand first impression. A young woman greeted us warmly and when I announced my name.....we were immediately escorted to our guest room.....to the next "high"...... which was as spectacular a view as there is to be had anywhere......from a small balcony with a small table and two chairs......from which to admire this spectacular sight of the Amalfi Coast from a very high vantage point. The bags were brought smartly and we were in business. Given that the hotel was at the very end of the season and was lightly occupied, the degree of attention supplied with a smaller than normal crew was noteworthy. The restaurant was closed because of the end of season situation......but we were 100 meters walk from the main piazza......and restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Needed neither heat nor air conditioning because of the season. The king bed was fitted with genuine linens....and the sleep was extremely comfortable. The age of the building gives it a few limitations with technology......electrical fittings quite old fashioned, requiring jury rigging to hook up cell phones charger, computers, iPads, etc.., but we managed to get it all done. The wireless internet did work fine once figured out. Bath room fixtures were fine......old fashioned shower/bath fixtures take a little time to understand.....but plenty of hot water......some of the floor tiles were cracked/missing in the room......not a problem but created a sense of needing a little rehab. we were told that the building dated from the duecento (13th century).......so I guess they've done well with it, considering its age. The grounds are beautifully manicured.....lemon trees, many vines, lawns.....the floral arrangements in the breakfast room were beautiful, as were all the rooms. They had had a wedding reception there recently.......I can see how that could be made to be very special. The art in the various chambers is very special.....even the frames are notable. The staff could not have been more helpful or professional. Continental breakfast was included in our rate and really very good.....croissants especially fine. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: I would spend what it takes to have a good view. Without the view, it's just another nice h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We didn't actually stay at the Hotel Palumbo as we were staying in Amalfi, but we visited the Episcopio winery at the hotel. This was such an amazing experience. We were greeted warmly for our tasting and taken down to the winery and they showed us where they made and bottled the wine. We tasted the wine with the wine maker right there. It was fantastic. They had cheeses and olives there to pair with our wines. Afterwards we took our wine out on the beautiful terrace area at the hotel and enjoyed the view. It was one of our favorite things from our trip.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanieEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent a few nights at the Palumbo in early September. It is a grand old italian villa like hotel, simply appointed with some beautiful antique furniture and art work. The view is to die for and you can get lost gazing at it for hours. Our room was a really good sized air-conditioned room with its own balcony to enjoy the spectacular views of the Amalfi Coast. The bathroom was a generous size but bizarrely came with a small shower. Whilst the room was clean the sheets were over starched, coarse and uncomfortable.

Although the Palumbo doesn't have its own pool, guests can obtain passes to visit pools at the other hotels in Ravello. The big disappointment was the food. In fact it is hard to think of having had a worse experience. That said staff did the best to fix things. Staff service was mixed - either very helpful, friendly, and polite, or a complete disaster, so you quickly know who to go to and who to avoid. Even with its faults, the Palumbo is a great dame of a hotel, in a beautiful spot that is hard to find elsewhere. In time I would probably give them another go in the hope that they have ironed out some of their problems. For my partner its a strike.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in room 23 (one floor up to the left of the foyer) or it is 32. I think they do ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eagle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Beautiful hotel more like a private villa, slept on 100% embroidered linen sheets, perfectly ironed! Restaurant,staff and views were first class. Keep in mind this is a 100+ year old property don't expect new.

Room Tip: some rooms have private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rosita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Had a lovely stay at Hotel Palumbo. Breakfast was excellent and so divine sitting on the terrace with great views. The bedroom was cute , quite tight and bathroom had no much space. Great value and close location to The Square. Jacqueline

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#13 of 21 in Ravello
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 16, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ravello
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £160 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...My family's dream...My own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing