We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main hotel is a beautiful old world building in an incredible setting but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We picked this hotel for a number of reasons. Firstly it provided parking on site and as we were on a two weeks holiday in that general region and had a car, adjacent parking was an essential. Secondly the photos of it, on various sites, were very attractive and it was obviously in a very impressive setting. Thirdly for what was advertised as a five star hotel, they were offering a very enticing rate for a number of nights.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. Ravello is a spectacular destination, well worth a visit, but do be prepared for a lot of steps, both inside and outside this hotel. Overall the hotel itself is a most attractive building with lots of seating areas in lounges, balconies and a large terrace garden - all with spectacular views. The breakfasts were adequate without being inspiring. All other meals were had in other venues as we were attending a wedding, which had functions on a number of days!!
Our room was very good in every way except that it was in an annex 80 metres from the front door of the hotel and in fact was one of four built over the garage for the cars, which meant there were 26 steps to get up to it!
Now the parking - like in other reviews I have read, we were not told anything about the charge of €25 a day. One tip - dont hire a big car, I had to put in the rear view mirrors to get in and that is the case in a lot of the small towns in this beautiful area.
As far as this hotel being rated five star, I dont think it could possibly be as firstly it had no lift and an awfful lot of stairs to climb and the building is obviously very old an a little tired looking in places. Still overall, I would go back, as for the price offered and the friendliness of the staff, it was worth it. But you do need to be mobile!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

Although we have never stayed at the hotel, we did dine there on our wedding night 10 years ago. It was magical!
We returned this year to Ravello to celebrate our 10th and wanted to replicate the experience with friends and family. To say it was incredible wouldn't be saying enough. The service was impeccible. I ordered a cake to share; it was the most amazing pastry I have ever eaten. If you have an event, please ask them to prepare the cake. The food was delicious and well prepared. I would recommend this restaurant and certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We went to this hotel in 2010. The hotel was beautiful with museum likwe qualities but this hotel does not have an elevatior..This is a big dissapointment for seniors..The entrance to the hotel is on the second floor with rooms being 2 floors above and2 below the lobby..The rooms we were showed were small and the bathrooms are connected but on a different level with a flight of stairs. You could not get luggage up to some of the narrow staircases to the bedroom..Overall, the rooms are very disappointing.. Our room had peeling paint and this place needs a face lift . ..
However the staff was very helpful and tried to accommodate us..We expected more from a 5 star rated hotel...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloverover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Hotel Palumbo is a 12th century building which has maintained its historic beauty. The location to town is perfect, as is the town itself. Be sure to ensure you have an upper sea view room to take in the spectacular sights. Our room was clean and comfortable, but remember this is a very old hotel with elegant, but occasionally well-worn furnishings in the room itself. Francesca and Domenica at the front desk were wonderfully helpful during our stay. The staff is very friendly. The highlight of our hotel stay is dining on the upper floor restaurant with magnificent sea views and our incredible servers Pasquale and Aurelio. The service and food were impeccable. Pasquale will regale you his description of the menu offerings, plus his exuberance for all things Italian. He will make your stay at the Hotel Palumbo unforgettable. Be sure to dine at the Salvatore restaurant overlooking the sea for pizza or more traditional fare. A trip to the Limoncello Factory in town has homemade limoncello and lovely packaging if you wish to take some home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We were attending a friend's wedding at a neighbouring hotel in Ravello. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The staff are friendly and hotel has tremendous old world charm and character (Don't come here if you're expecting a gym and wifi). Simple but tasty breakfast spreads. But the best thing about this hotel's main wing is the view down the coast. We were in Room 50 which has its own terrace. Stunning. We spent a blissful 3 days here wishing we could stay longer.
One tip - if driving here, be careful with the width of your hire car. To reach the hotel and it's car park you need to navigate a very narrow archway which bears many scars. We had a Ford C-Max (Mini people carrier) and this only just got through.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Tough_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Hello,

We stayed in this hotel for the first two nights of our honemoon and were very disappointed. On arrival, we were told that the parking was 25 euros/day, despite the fact that no mention of this is made on the website.

Next, we were given a tiny room on two levels, with some sort of small sitting room at the ground floor and a room which could just about contain a double bed on the first floor (room 40). Not ideal by any means.

The breakfast was very poor - a few bits of bread, ham and cheese and a cake.

Lastly, and most annoyingly, our car was cratched whilst it was kept in the hotels parking lot- two nights in a row! The staff was appalling : no apologies were offered and management refused to offer us any sort of compensation for the inconvenience and stress caused. Finally, they said that they would look into it and call us back. We are still waiting for their call a month later....

That this place calls itself a 5 star hotel is a joke! Don't waste your time and money going there, there are many nicer hotels in Ravello.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASOParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I agree with other travelers. Great location. Lovely garden. Very clean, although a bit dated. Hanging laundry is unsightly. Will try to upload photos of it later. Who wants to stare up at big bras and trousers? Front desk staff very unhelpful. Purchased this hotel on LuxuryLink. I would not do it again. Was supposed to have a sea view room, they gave us a garden view. Supposed to have a wine tour, they kept telling me to ask 'tomorrow'. Took them until 6 at night one day to clean room. NO internet access, only a small, slow computer tucked in a closet. Best part was Pasquel in the restaurant. He was a delight. But the dinner menu is very limited, not something anyone would want to be stuck with for a 4 night holiday. There are better places to stay in Ravello.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillionMiles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 16, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £199 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...My family's dream...My own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing