We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not Dine Here, but do stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cimbrone Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had Explored the Amalfi road and enjoed the small beautiful villages along. Ravello is spectacular and worth the drive . And so we walked about 10 minutes to get to the Hotel Cimbron in a chilly day in April. What an expensive disappointment.
Dishes were coming out cold unimaginative uncreative but mostly bland and tasteless!!!
with wine and deserts the bill come to about 300 euro.
a pizza in the town square would have been better...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dec3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a couple of days during easter in the wonderful suite 25. Villa Cimbrone is a extraordinary place, with the most beautiful surroundings you can find on the amalfi coast. A true luxury experience and high price tag, that needs something special to be worth it. Staff is friendly, rooms are cleaned all the time by invincible people that makes everything nice all the time. The room had a magnificent view and the surrounding garden is a romantic dream.

Villa Cimbrone also hosts a Gourmet restaurant were we dined for two nights in a row. First night was decent, with a great wine waiter with great knowledge of the region and perfect wine selection. Only real disappointment was a second fish dish that could only be called uninspired at best. Dull tasting fish sauce and tasteless fish. Breakfast is also being enjoyed in the restaurant. The selection is less than expected, and the first morning the supposed to be warm items such as bacon, sausages and eggs was totally cold... Nasty! This was not the case the second morning.

Dinner the second evening was uninspired from the very beginning. After the first bite of the starter first though was: " Do the chef taste his creations?". Unfortunately this was the case for the first dish as well, and after that we gave up and left the table. The wine was great though! ;-)

Gourmet food is supposed to be a tasty experience, with form, creativity and colour. Surprising your palette and showing great inspiration and boldness in food. This was flat, boring, tasteless and truly uninspired. So check with others before dining and adjust expectations. In town, you find great italian restaurants you can go to instead that serves tasty food with finesse.

There is a great little bar attached to the restaurant, Ivan there makes the best drinks and is very entertaining. He produced mojitos long drinks with his own unique twist with great pride.

Besides the un-worthy Gourmet food ( chef`s doing Gourmet can also have a off-day, but we still paid and would rather have had cereals for dinner!) Villa Cimbrone is a totally unique experience that my wife and I will recommend to anyone that wants to get away feel absolute exclusivity. The air, the garden, the view, the staff (besides the chef obviously) love what they are doing, and you can feel that all the way to the big smile and sense of absolute happiness the place will give you well worth your hard saved cash if you love this kind of special experiences and true peace. I kid you not: Even their air is better ;-)

You have one life - use it!

Room Tip: Few of the rooms has a balcony. Room 25 has, but also has a little harder entrance to the room, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morten_Stjernholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Whilst doing the preverbal sweep of Ravello and its environs,we were were informed by a restauranteur of the well known "treasure' that is the vIlla Cimbrone..
We came exploring, holding aloft the business card of our affable host as if it was a free pass into the grounds. Good try. If the lobby and reception are anything to go by,then the wow-factor is like cryptonit.
The tarrif, from 300 euros a room, precluded any dream of staying here, but management in truly Italian fashion apologised for having no vacancies and offered us the freedom to look around and consider booking the next time we would like to visit.
The house and garden is a paradise, combining Greek,Roman Moorish and Venetian elements in a carefully orchestrated style,which meld into a curious but enormously charming work of art. just standing on the grassy terrace overlooking the mesmerising dream of an ocean. i could only imagine what the view would have looked like from one's own terrace.
Ahhhh,dreams are a valuable enhancer of things beautiful,
Ps. the park is open to visitors until sunset,when it becomes the private preserve for the Villa Cimbrone. exclusive use of hotel guests. One can only dream as we ambled through the wonderland that is the gardens of

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I came accross Villa Cimbrone while I was touring the Amalfi Coast on a scooter... I ended up in Ravello and visited this beautiful villa. Had an elegant lunch in the garden of the villa surrounded by lemon trees, mountains and a view of the ocean. My wife had a grilled plate of 5 different fish and I had a steak, followed by lemon cake desert and limoncello. After lunch took a nice walk around the villa and enjoyed some amazing views of the coast. Highly recommend lunch here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for sharing your positive comment.

We are pleased to learn that you appreciated either the visit of the gardens and the lunch at Villa Cimbrone during your tour on the Amalfi Coast.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, we send you our best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We are so thankful our very good friends had recommended Villa Cimbrone to us!! It did not disappoint! The views were infinitesimally gorgeous as were the gardens & grounds and the entire property was idyllic. The sea view/vista from our room was breath taking! We will absolutely recommend this over and over again and hope to return ourselves. The breakfasts made it easy to plan our day, starting with great fare and the birthday dinner for our friend was 5 star. In fact, the service everyday by all of the staff was first class--be sure to get to know Lidia Lodato as she can help you find them (when you finally give up and call) and she will get you booked but start early!! There are only 19 rooms and brides love it for destination weddings--it is so romantically charged . :) The only challenge is just finding it but that is half the allure....it is perched up in the heavens of Ravello.

Thanks for making it the best part of our trip to Italy!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room at the Villa Cimbrone, especially if budget is not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoySS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish first of all to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Villa Cimbrone and that everything has met your expectations.

We forwarded your compliments to all our staff and look to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Villa Cimbrone to appreciate all its charm once again.

Best regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

beautiful view, one of the best place to look amalfi coast view.
with huge garden that you can walk around.
They feature gourmet restaurant which is michelin star.
it is hard to get reservation so remember to reserve it way in advance if you are interested to dine there.
you can also have beautiful wedding here as we were actually thinking of having wedding there.
only the problem is walk to this property...
It is really far from where you can drive.
so you have to park the car at the center of Ravello and you must just walk and its really not close and going up and down steps etc.
definitely not recommended for people who have bad foot or older.
But when you do get there, oh it is so worth it!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rurina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you found our property an excellent Hotel, where you had a nice stay, enjoying our cuisine and private garden.

The Villa Cimbrone Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the centre of Ravello and this is a feature that makes it a unique place where have the chance to forget the noises that are part of our routine.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Hotel, maybe for your wedding reception, in the near future.

Most Cordially,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lunch in the garden terrace is a delight. A walk around the gardens with its magnificent views followed by lunch is an experience not to be missed and is highly recommended.
The service was very professional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 581happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback which we very much appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed either the breathtaking view that only Villa Cimbrone can offer and your lunch at our “Mediterranean Restaurant”.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the very nearest future.

Kindest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cimbrone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cimbrone Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara, 26, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £321 - £642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cimbrone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cimbrone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing