We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Flauto di Pan

Il Flauto di Pan
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$98 - US$141
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Within the historic walls of the Villa Cimbrone, we invite you to savor an enchanting culinary experience at "Il Flauto di Pan", our gourmet restaurant. A symphony of flavors, aromas and colors awaits you, bringing together the beauty, gastronomy and emotion of the Mediterranean. The Amalfi Coast's proud history provides inspiration for a menu that strikes harmony between renowned culinary traditions and the creative artistry of our award-winning chef and his own staff. The gourmet restaurant is only open in the evening. Max 35 seats. Reservation is required.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband & I and our two children dined here for my birthday. I was truly an amazing experience. We started with a cocktail on the balcony and then were seated at the best table in the restaurant. This was overlooking the coast. We were surrounded by about 5 waiters in black tie. In addition to our meal of entree, main and desert we received an additional starter, breads, additional desert and special desert for our children. The service was impeccable. I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JussieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    40
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally recommend it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend celebrated her birthday in June at the Flauto di Pan restaurant.
The restaurant has a stunning view, the starters are amazing, the wine is excellent and so it is the fish soup. Even better was the bloody mary that the very funny barman (I believe his name was Mattia), prepared for us along some other cocktails that we had before dinner. My girlfriend liked the cocktails so much that even asked for seconds and thirds while the guy was entertaining us with the history of the Villa Cimbrone. The waiter (I think Diego) did also a very good job.
We were a little bit disappointed about the fact that the maître didn’t speak any English which is unacceptable for such a high calibre restaurant.
Nevertheless, the whole experience was outstanding, we had a blast and finished the night satisfied and full.
Excellent food, excellent cocktails, amazing wines, great service, magnificent location with a breath-taking view

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StvCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Such a gorgeous view and restaurant. We had the 5 and 4 corse fixe price meals and they were very good. Creative...impeccable service. We would return.

Handicapped? I wouldn't try to get there (about 300 yards with many steps), though they evidently have some sort of cart that they use for luggage that they can load one person onto.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We was very much looking forward to our meal at Il Flauto di Pan. We booked a table for 2 a month in advance only to find after all the requirements of the restaurant, eg faxing over a credit card to confirm, the booking made little difference because they hadn't actually reserved us a table. However, they made space for us it was not on the lovely terrace overlooking the beautiful Amalfi coastline, it was inside with a view from a side window, seated on our own as everybody else was outside, so there was little atmosphere except for the sound of the chef shouting a few instructions.

We both decided on a small taster menu, I had fish, my husband had meat and we both had the matching wine selection. Both menus were very well presented and 'nice', not exceptional though. What was exceptional though was the glass of prosecco, which was cool, crisp and refreshing, this was probably my favourite part of the meal.

It's a shame because the view from Villa Cimbrone and Il Flauto di Pan is beautiful and well worth a visit, maybe just for a glass of prosecco though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CW9922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wasted trip. Great view - shame about the food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a shame. Treading rather pretentiously in the footsteps of The Trip we expected much. But after an uphill trek to surely the best view from any restaurant in the world, the food was a massive disappointment. The lobster starter consisted of a huge plate of salad and no lobster - eventually what little there was was found, underneath the many leaves and with some crunchy shell for good measure. The main of fillet of beef was also hidden under a mound of rocket - weird! Under-seasoned and very plain it had very little to warrant a good review, let alone a Michelin star. My wife's report was much the same despite her completely different selections. All we can think is that the Michelin inspector must have been in thrall to the vista (or plied with lemoncello). Take our advice and wander through the garden for a spectacular and literally breath-taking view but save your money for one of the many good value fish places on offer across the region.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyLitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore at Il Flauto di Pan, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mr. Litton
I thank you for your review regarding our restaurant and for appreciate at least, the stunning location and the amazing view.
I’m really sorry that you were not satisfied, but I feel obliged to inform you and all other readers, that our gourmet restaurant “Il Flauto di Pan” is open only in the evening.
This information is well known and appears on any guide and even also, to avoid any misunderstanding, you could have asked the Front Desk or people in charge.
At lunch, where you were our guest, the restaurant is available with a “Mediterranean Menu”, as due to business choice and guests’ requests (as for summer time weather), we serve more simple dishes, traditional and lightly as even as...price!
I understand your unfulfilled expectation, and invite you to come back during the evening to enjoy the magical atmosphere of “Il Flauto di Pan”.
Giorgio Vuilleumier
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Flauto di Pan also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Flauto di Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing