We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo”
Review of Il Flauto di Pan

Il Flauto di Pan
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$106 - US$153
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Within the historic walls of the Villa Cimbrone, we invite you to savor an enchanting culinary experience at "Il Flauto di Pan", our gourmet restaurant. A symphony of flavors, aromas and colors awaits you, bringing together the beauty, gastronomy and emotion of the Mediterranean. The Amalfi Coast's proud history provides inspiration for a menu that strikes harmony between renowned culinary traditions and the creative artistry of our award-winning chef and his own staff. The gourmet restaurant is only open in the evening. Max 35 seats. Reservation is required.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bellisimo”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Upon arriving twenty minutes early for our reservation expecting to grab a drink, it took that amount of time to be addressed with only one couple ahead of us. Arriving on the lighter side of sunset, we were lucky enough to grab a table on the balcony with the beautiful view of the Amalfi coast.

A book of a menu was offered by a very helpful member of staff who welcomed us to our table. The fouur course set meals were a little large for our usual tastes so we skipped to a simple two course selection (even though with apertifs we essentially had a four course meal).

For main our choices were Lamb ribs in a pistaccio coating and a venison steak in pastry, both of which wowed with teste and presentation.

This is a 5 starred michelin restaurant and well deserved. The food is only shown up by the views and despite it being a very windy evening, nothing felt more special for our honeymoon meal than sat on the highest point of Ravello with great food.

The wine selection is vast and there is a catalogue on offer. We went with the Pinot Grigio which was surprisingly cheaply priced at 36 euro a bottle but was a great match with the food.

Dessert was a trifle for my partner and a lemon cake but with a twist, served in a shape of art and tasting devine, the menu was nothing short of perfection.

Topped off with a coffee (to which we later realised we had only been served one) and the glowing setting of the moon, the total bill for a two course meal and bottle of wine was 165 euro. Set menus including taster wines were set at 85 euro per person.

Despite a rocky start, Il Flauto di Pan was nothing short of beautiful and will be very hard to beat for its views and food alike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    44
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fancy, but mostly tasteless food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The view, the service and the predinner drinks in the garden were all great. The food was more of a disappointment: the dishes looked smashing when they were served, but the food on them was practically tasteless. Cannot remember when I last had such a tasteless lamb chop or smoked fish - or a fish cake that looked and tasted like a sponge. I wonder how this restaurant got a Michelin star? Not even close to others I have been to.
Probably better to go there for lunch, have a simple and much less expensive dish - and enjoy the view and the garden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrietn127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“WHAT A VIEW”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

WE were fortunate to eat in this lovely restaurant and definitely had the best table in the house. The table with an arched window looking out to sea was truly amazing. The service was impeccable and the food was good. We decided to go for the small meat menu and the wines to match. They were very good although I would say that the wines were not the best of their category they certainly were well matched. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with plenty of space and privacy as everyone else opted for the terrace outside but it was so crowded outside. Inside we had the view and the feeling of being outside but also the space. A memorable visit to a lovely restaurant which I highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and here thought we have dinner here whilst we visited Ravello and based on the TA reviews expected great things.
The pre dinner cocktails were good and freshly made so a good start.
The view from the outside balcony table was very good with a splendid vista of the Med all around.
However the service was not good. We got water fairly promptly, but it took a further 50 minutes to place our drinks order! After waiting a but longer we had to ask to place our food order (now 60 minutes in). We also noticed others around hours looking at their watches.
As for the food - it was very nice and what you would expect for a michelin star restaurant however the poor service let the whole experience down which is a shame, especially given the high prices!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband & I and our two children dined here for my birthday. I was truly an amazing experience. We started with a cocktail on the balcony and then were seated at the best table in the restaurant. This was overlooking the coast. We were surrounded by about 5 waiters in black tie. In addition to our meal of entree, main and desert we received an additional starter, breads, additional desert and special desert for our children. The service was impeccable. I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JussieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Flauto di Pan also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Flauto di Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing