We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was it the chefs day off ?”
Review of Il Flauto di Pan

Il Flauto di Pan
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$106 - US$153
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Within the historic walls of the Villa Cimbrone, we invite you to savor an enchanting culinary experience at "Il Flauto di Pan", our gourmet restaurant. A symphony of flavors, aromas and colors awaits you, bringing together the beauty, gastronomy and emotion of the Mediterranean. The Amalfi Coast's proud history provides inspiration for a menu that strikes harmony between renowned culinary traditions and the creative artistry of our award-winning chef and his own staff. The gourmet restaurant is only open in the evening. Max 35 seats. Reservation is required.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was it the chefs day off ?”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Staying elsewhere in Ravello we decided to visit Il Flaunto di Pan for a long leisurely Sunday lunch. After our long climb up to Villa Cimbrone we were all excited for what awaited. Sadly we were all very disappointed , of the three courses I had ,two were covered in the same generic sauce which was very heavy and drowned out all other flavours .Another member of my party had a different dish also covered in the exact same sauce ! We were pouring our own wine as although the staff were very pleasant the service was very poor. We have experienced some beautiful food whilst staying in Ravello but sadly not here. The food and service was certainly not conducive to a return visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore generale at Il Flauto di Pan, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mrs. Allison T,

We are always very sorry, when one of our Guests write a negative review as not satisfied.
We put all our efforts and passion to ensure that it never happens and I have to say that the enthusiastic reviews of our guests, are the confirmation that we do a good job!
Even so, we gladly accept even negative reviews, as those helps us to improve more and more.
This, however, when responding to the true and unfortunately, it is not your case!
It seems rather uncalled for, aimed to discrediting the restaurant and our work, for different reasons:
1) The restaurant “Il Flauto di Pan” is open only at dinner time, upon reservation. Certainly it is not the same place where you had your Sunday lunch!
2) At lunch time, we serve only fresh and light dishes without or with a minimal dressing (an attentive choice of selected olive oils and balsamic vinegars are provided on the table and the guests use them by their own. A variety of salads are provided from our organic garden here in the Villa, grilled fresh fish, selected meat, lamb chop with aromatic herbs, a selection of local cheeses, nothing, absolutely nothing of your described and reviewed dishes.

Come to visit us. You will remain surprised and .... fully satisfied.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    44
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The location is amazing”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The location is amazing. Very elegant and quite. The food is very good , we just loved everithing!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore at Il Flauto di Pan, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Allison Y

Thank you for taking the time to write a passionate feedback of your experience at “Il Flauto di Pan” restaurant. We are delighted to hear you comments about the location, the food and the service provided by our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Could not ask for a better spot in all of the world! I have been to Ravello many times and this was my first time here. Food and service are great but the view and ambiance are world class. I can not say enough about the feeling one gets when sitting here for dinner, if there is anything you do while you are here it is have dinner here. You will transport yourself to the top of the world!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annieferr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore generale at Il Flauto di Pan, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Annieferr,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a feedback of our restaurant "Il Flauto di Pan".!
It's always a pleasure to read when our guests have found themselves so well and have fully captured the atmosphere that you will enjoy.
We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Familyvacay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What a beautiful setting in Ravello! After quite a hike up the hill we arrived at this wonderful restaurant. Maybe one of the best bread services anywhere. An extensive wine list and excellent speciality cocktails. We thoroughly enjoyed this excellent dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randi691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore generale at Il Flauto di Pan, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear randi691,
thank you for taking the time to write a very kind feedback of your dining experience at our restaurant "Il Flauto di Pan". We are delighted to hear your comments about the magical location of Villa Cimbrone and Ravelllo, the food and the service. Waiting to welcoming you in the near future.
Giorgio Vuilleumier
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, wonderful service, very good food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One look and we knew this was the place for our last dinner on the Amalfi Coast. The view was breathtaking, the service was wonderfully warm and professional, and the food was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DYav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfly35, Direttore generale at Il Flauto di Pan, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear DYav,
thank you for taking the time to write a passionate feedback of your experience at "Il Flauto di Pan" restaurant. We are delighted to hear you comments about the location, the food and the our staff.
We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Flauto di Pan also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Flauto di Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing