We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service but much too expensive!”
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Avino
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Meggen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent service but much too expensive!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is our third visit in the last 5 years.
This time we upgraded to the suite belvedere.
The view and the service are perfect! But for such a high room rate, the room is badly maintained and not up to date. The Shower is in bad condition. The WLAN is very slow and sometimes not working.
The TV picture is very bad and there are only a few TV stations.
The Staff is outstanding! The breakfast is very good.
We had also dinner in the Rossellinis. The food and the service are excellent. The food is like everywhere in gourmet restaurants all over the world and so is the price. We had then 2 times dinner downtown Ravello (Capo di Cosimo) and so we had real good Italian food and feeling for 10% of the Rossellinis price!

Room Tip: For sure sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vegimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    60
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
84
442
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is one of the most luxurious, elegant places I have ever stayed. I first saw it on a tour of the Amalfi Coast and came back to stay. Pricey, but worth EVERY penny. So we opted for a room with "no view!" since who cares what the room it looks like at night/you are out and about all day?

Made to order breakfasts included, incredible views, incomparable staff. What more can I say? If we could get a month-discount rate I might move in!

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon/want a private lawn terrace, and have an unlimited budget, go for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinGalCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Palazzo Sasso all the way around was one of the best experiences I have ever had. My initial introduction was several months prior to arrival with an amazing concierge by the name of Antonio. I traveled to Italy with a girlfriend celebrating my birthday and Antonio ensured it was stellar from before we even arrived. The overall service and atmosphere was truly outstanding, the room and views were fantastic and I would go back there in a hearbeat! Not only did we get special treatment and took advantage of the gym which is outdoors overlooking the Amalfi Coast (not such a bad place to run on a treadmill), the spa, which was lovely, we dined at the restaurant where they were true professionals and ensured that my pre-birthday dinner was delicious and also paired with the perfect wines. PLUS I was also presented with a cake and a morning rose at breakfast, for the celebration. Hands down one of my best hotel and trips ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanQueen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is unquestionably the best place I have ever had the pleasure of spending three nights and not just because it's where my husband and I spent our honeymoon! It is truly spectacular with stunning views, a gorgeously chic interior and impeccable service- nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail made an incredible stay even more memorable. We only wish we could have stayed longer. My advice is, if you can afford to, book this hotel, you will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view, it is absolutely worth the money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Full of great small touches (sunning by the pool, the staff brought round cold flannels and mini lemon granitas; the old books left behind by other guests are put in to strategically placed wicker baskets with bookmarks added, and bookmarks are put in your own books; jars of sweets by the piano... I could go on) plus lovely views, heated swimming pool, good small spa (recommend a lymphatic drainage massage by Lucia) comfortable rooms with sheet, pillow, and toiletries menu!

Michelin starred restaurant and the bar is very good too.

Staff excellent. The only question is, can you afford it?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notretired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Intimate hotel with super deluxe service and welcoming attitude which delivers on the high price. Michelin starred chef also oversees casual restaurant with drop dead view and world's best seafood pasta (lemon flavored oil). New spa has beautiful Bagno Turko, heated pool over cliffs--what's not to like?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have just returned from Ravello and want to thank the Palazzo staff for taking such wonderful care of us. This hotel is first class all the way. My husband called ahead to surprise me with flowers and champagne and spoke with Antonio who made sure everything was in place upon our arrival. The amenities were great and little surprises awaited us each night, Including a sizable bottle of Lemoncello the last night. The location is excellent too. We enjoyed a day at Sasso by the Sea where the excellent service continued. Thank to the entire staff for making our anniversary so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Property: Palazzo Avino
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#1 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing