We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Avino
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at Palazzo Avino. Our first impression was fabulous. The view was breathtaking. From our room, the pool and the restaurants we could see the mountains and the beach. Our room, although not very big, was classy and had everything we needed. Service was mostly great - specially Vittorio, who helped us during breakfast, all the guys who worked at the beach.
However, we have some complaints:
1 - Walls are thin, so don't expect to sleep until late. You will certainly be awaken by your neighbors (our housekeeping).
2 - Although they have a 2 star Michelin restaurant, we were not impressed by the meal. Service was not the best. Just to give an example, the wine we chose arrived in the time when we were about to finish the appetizers (apparently, the sommelier forgot about it).

Room Tip: try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    63
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
89
463
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

All the reviews are true! The property is spectacular, the staff is amazing (especially Antonio), the town itself is the most charming place I have ever been! Yes- its expensive but worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It is hard not to be charmed by Ravello. Its ancient winding streets, buzzing village square, astonishing views and enchanting walled gardens should appeal to those of every generation from all walks of life. That our hotel, Palazzo Avino, was equally if not more noteworthy was something that were not expecting. As you step inside from a charming narrow backstreet the cliff side drops away in front of you giving way to the most spectacular view. Needless to say the staff were beyond charming and the bedrooms - even the smallest basic one that we opted for - were very pleasant. But if you're there in the summer you're not really going to spend that much time in your room. That is why the multiple terraces, each offering something slightly different, be it pool, spa, jacuzzi, bar or restaurant are what make this hotel. Each one is staffed by charming and attendent personnel and enjoys jaw dropping coast and ocean views. Whilst it's almost impossible to tear yourself away from the hotel, you must, to take advantage of its water fronting beach facility. A shuttle bus takes a certain number of guests down the windy cliff road each day delivering you into the capable hands of the hotel's private beach club. Loungers line a small flat area of cliff and warm sea waters lap almost at your feet. Swimming is magical and staff, again notably efficient. Loungers are comfortable with special pillows provided as head rests. Lunch can be taken up on a terrace with a wood fire oven serving the most delicious pizzas. Both the hotel and beach club lose the sun in the mid afternoon so be sure to make your way back to the 4th floor of the hotel to take in the last of the rays - it also has the best view and two hot tubs. We both wish we'd booked in to this magical hotel for longer and can't wait to return one day. Oh and remember to taste from the glass jars of sugared almonds in the lobby - each a slightly different flavour - heaven!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 571LondonCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I recently returned from a three night stay at the Palazzo and I have to say it really is the most fantastic hotel I have ever been to.

After a scary drive up (I am terrified of heights!) we were greeted by very friendly staff. I had previously arrange cigarettes to be in my room. I thought they had forgotten, but 5 mins later they were delivered. They made it clear that anything that was wanted would not be trouble.

The breakfasts are superb - everything is present nicely and the fresh scrambled eggs a delight! The staff are so attentive they even got to know our habits - i.e when we normally wanted our eggs, how we like our coffee etc, etc.

The pool area is stunning, and so is the spa. The staff at the pool are also very attentive and again knew what we wanted before we did! Before I could even get up and ask for a cushion one was placed under my head!

The food was again fantastic. I would highly recommend eating in the 2 Michelin starred restaurant - it isn't cheap, but one of the best meals of my life.

Go here - you won't forget it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights on the last leg of our honeymoon trip and I had been looking forward to it for ages, as it was recommended to us by someone who had stayed there the previous summer. What a beautiful place. The terrace bar and the pool are great, but rooftop jacuzzi area is amazing and seemed little used so we got it to ourselves a lot of the time. The clubhouse is fantastic, nothing better than being on the bathing platform and then popping up for a salad or pizza from the wood fired oven and a glass of wine.
Concierge service made trips to Pompeii and to the airport super easy via private car. A rather more pleasant way to travel than by local taxi - some scary driving on some seriously narrow roads!!!
Breakfast is worth a special mention, fantastic. Great fresh fruit and eggs to order.
On the slightly less positive note, I was slightly upset on arrival that, although we had advised them it was our honeymoon, they clearly hadn't noted it, or didn't mention it. The note in the room was addressed to my husband 'and guest.' Also our room was rather smaller than photos had led us to believe, and very thin walls meant we had the pleasure of not only listening to our own toilet constantly refilling throughout the night, but our neighbour's too! These things are all that stopped it getting a five for me. Stunning place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The re-named Palazzo Avino is probably one of the greatest hotels and resorts in the world. In my opinion, there is no other resort that offers the service, ambiance, view etc. I have traveled to many places hotels, and resorts and this is tops-

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Again returning for the 9th time with friends and the staff can not do enough for you.
Antonio, Jaquline, Mara, Vittorio, Gerardo et al are at your bek and call. food is over the top and the views are spectacular! I hope to return for number 10 next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
752 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Property: Palazzo Avino
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing