We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Avino
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Probably one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been to. The grounds are spectacular, the views amazing and the staff could not be more accommodating . I absolutely loved everything about this hotel. It is a bit expensive but worth every penny. We were married here and can't wait to come back for our first anniversary.!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    59
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
82
433
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night, but will definitely stay longer next time we visit. The hotel is pristine. Gorgeous grounds, friendly and competent staff, and great amenities. They also provide access to a private beach club which was very nice. If you go to the beach club, I highly recommend the pizza. It was super yummy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've just returned from another superb stay at Palazzo Avino. It is great to see that nothing other than the name has changed since we were last there and it remains as beautiful and perfect as ever
All the staff were great and service is with a real smile and never any bother. Yes it is expensive, but worth every penny. You can spend a fortune somewhere else and it may never come near a stay at Palazzo Avino.
We had a lovely room, although smallish, with a beautiful view over the sea and mountains. As has been said though, you don't spend a lot of time in your room so the size is of little importance. The facilities are more so and the rooms have everything you could want.
The beach was a new feature for us and most enjoyable. The hotel's bus provides a terrific service there and back each day.
Location is magnificent and unforgettable. Ravello is a quieter sister of Amalfi and Positano and all the better for it. The gardens at Ruffolo and Cimbroni are attractive and peaceful and both offer amazing views.
We hope to return again soon....

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the sea, but even if you don't there are plenty of opportuni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a King room with an amazing view and the facilities were great. My wife stayed here the night before we got married. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and helped with our lost luggage. The pool is superb and the club house is an extra special touch, as the hotel will drive you down to their private beach club which also has stunning views. The breakfast and lunch is fantastic. Fantastic hotel and worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at Palazzo Avino. Our first impression was fabulous. The view was breathtaking. From our room, the pool and the restaurants we could see the mountains and the beach. Our room, although not very big, was classy and had everything we needed. Service was mostly great - specially Vittorio, who helped us during breakfast, all the guys who worked at the beach.
However, we have some complaints:
1 - Walls are thin, so don't expect to sleep until late. You will certainly be awaken by your neighbors (our housekeeping).
2 - Although they have a 2 star Michelin restaurant, we were not impressed by the meal. Service was not the best. Just to give an example, the wine we chose arrived in the time when we were about to finish the appetizers (apparently, the sommelier forgot about it).

Room Tip: try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

All the reviews are true! The property is spectacular, the staff is amazing (especially Antonio), the town itself is the most charming place I have ever been! Yes- its expensive but worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

It is hard not to be charmed by Ravello. Its ancient winding streets, buzzing village square, astonishing views and enchanting walled gardens should appeal to those of every generation from all walks of life. That our hotel, Palazzo Avino, was equally if not more noteworthy was something that were not expecting. As you step inside from a charming narrow backstreet the cliff side drops away in front of you giving way to the most spectacular view. Needless to say the staff were beyond charming and the bedrooms - even the smallest basic one that we opted for - were very pleasant. But if you're there in the summer you're not really going to spend that much time in your room. That is why the multiple terraces, each offering something slightly different, be it pool, spa, jacuzzi, bar or restaurant are what make this hotel. Each one is staffed by charming and attendent personnel and enjoys jaw dropping coast and ocean views. Whilst it's almost impossible to tear yourself away from the hotel, you must, to take advantage of its water fronting beach facility. A shuttle bus takes a certain number of guests down the windy cliff road each day delivering you into the capable hands of the hotel's private beach club. Loungers line a small flat area of cliff and warm sea waters lap almost at your feet. Swimming is magical and staff, again notably efficient. Loungers are comfortable with special pillows provided as head rests. Lunch can be taken up on a terrace with a wood fire oven serving the most delicious pizzas. Both the hotel and beach club lose the sun in the mid afternoon so be sure to make your way back to the 4th floor of the hotel to take in the last of the rays - it also has the best view and two hot tubs. We both wish we'd booked in to this magical hotel for longer and can't wait to return one day. Oh and remember to taste from the glass jars of sugared almonds in the lobby - each a slightly different flavour - heaven!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 571LondonCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.9 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Property: Palazzo Avino
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing