We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress Factor Zero”
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Avino
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stress Factor Zero”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The Palazzo Sasso bookmarks that are distributed with the basket of novels poolside state their ethos is 'stress factor zero', and they are quite right. All the staff are superb and there is a very relaxed atmosphere - nothing is any trouble. Standards are of the highest order whether it be breakfast or the turn-down service. We visited Sasso-by-the-Sea twice during our stay, it is a pretty special place - the residents' own private villa on the Med with loungers, restaurant, snorkelling gear and shuttle bus. Of course, the place is expensive but then so is Italy and in particular the Amalfi Coast. At PS you really feel like you're getting what you pay for as it exudes exclusivity and quality of service. The hotel also go the extra mile, in our case we were given a bottles of wine and Limoncello during our stay. We found these in our room with fruit and biscuits left on other days. Our visit lasted a week and was a perfect start to our annual holiday. the only downside is that the next five star hotel (in Capri) was nowhere near up to the experience of Sasso. We travel a lot with work staying at top hotels and this place is right up there with the very best. And the view is pretty incredible too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    63
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
89
463
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I loved Sasso. Hotel was beautiful -grounds and public rooms - and service was absolutely impeccable. (Think someone coming around to clean your sunglasses as you laze by the beautiful pool overlooking the sea.) The food at both the terrace restaurant as well as the more formal Rosselini's was great. The rooms weren't big but were well appointed and charming. The views from all over the hotel (including the rooftop with jacuzzi) were unbeatable. And Sasso by the Sea where you can get shuttled down to their beach club and swim or kayak on the sea, and enioy drinks and/or lunch, was absolute heaven. Marilena down at Sasson by the Sea was lovely and sweet and all of the concierge/front desk folks under Antonio's management were wonderful and helpful. We will absolutely return to this hotel! In my opinion, nicer than Caruso next door for less cost so while pricey it is great value for the money. And Ravello was absolutely the most charming town on the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverlyotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Staying at the Palazzo Sasso was the fairytale end to our fantastic honeymoon in Italy. The hotel and grounds are absolutely stunning and even on our last day we still couldn't quite believe how incredible the view was, while we ate our breakfast.
The staff were all so lovely and made you feel very welcome and we felt made the effort to get to know you personally.
Our room although slightly small for the money was elegantly furnished and we loved how you could choose the type of sheets and pillows you wanted.
If you want to splurge on a hotel we couldn't recommend this highly enough, we absolutely loved our stay and will never forget it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emvowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We have been visiting this hotel since 1998 and each year never fails to suprise us ,with the highest quality of service,the dedication of the staff,you are truly looked after.The New Sasso by the Sea is luxury facility by the sea with its own mini restaurant and sun terraces.The Manager Aaron,Reception Antonio ,Chef Pinot,Restaurant Donnato along with their teams provide you with a seamless,stressless vacation. You must try a Martini from the huge selection on offer including some made with fish.This is an hotel of style and elegance and the whole team must be proud of their most recent Award of being the Best Hotel in Europe

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

After having this be our last major destination in a 2 week trip of Italy, I am SO thankful this was our last destination and hotel in my memory. There are not enough wonderful things I can say about this hotel. From the bottle of champagne as our "welcome gift" that was in our room with a hand written welcome card, to our little candies on our bed when they turned down the beds at night, to the bottle of Lemon Chello as our "goodbye gift". The choice of type of linen to make your beds in.....satin, linen, and cotton...OMG!! (tried linen but turns out we are still just a cotton family!) Choice of scented sprays on your sheets and Bvalgari shampoos and lotions, unbelievable!! The staff made you feel like royalty when you came down for breakfast and while they waited on you. All hotels should take customer service lessons from this hotel. Room and bathroom were lovely and spacious. The grounds....immaculate!! It would be terribly difficult to top this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetraveling0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The 3/5 rating is largely a function of the abysmal weather that we had during the week we stayed, although it was the poor weather that highlighted the weaknesses in the hotel itself.

Yes, the location is stunning- the hotel is perched atop a mountain in Ravello, with sweeping views down to the Mediterranean sea, 1000ft below, but……

The ‘superior king’ room we had was very small. The ‘seaview’ was clearly at the expense of the size and layout of the interior. A kingsize bed just about fitted but there was little storage space and we were constantly bumping in to each other.

The general noise levels in the hotel were high, with the stairwells carrying every single conversation people were having to all levels in the hotel. Combine this with the perpetual, annoying ‘muzak’ that was piped through loudspeakers in all parts of the hotel (inside and out), and it wasn’t the quietest place we’ve ever stayed in.

The room was reasonably well appointed but the TV was very sub-standard. This in itself wouldn’t have been a problem if the weather had been good enough to get out and about, but it rained heavily for 5 out of 7 days and even when it was sunny, there was always cloud and it was never particularly hot. (The hotel even ran out of umbrellas to give to guests on a few occasions.)

The facilities in the hotel (pool, sun decks etc.) were adequate but unremarkable but there were no quiet areas internally where you could go and read a book when it was raining, so you really were trapped in your (noisy) room. The only places to sit other than the bar, were outside which was impossible in the rain.

The staff tried their very best and on the whole were extremely friendly, helpful and polite.
But breakfast was an odd affair; a sort of ‘hybrid’ between waiter service and serve yourself buffet. The waiters watched you like hawks and as soon as the last mouthful of food was swallowed, they would rush over and remove and replace your plates and utensils. Obviously, they were trying to be helpful but it wasn’t the most relaxing way to start the day.

Overall, the food in the hotel was OK but not exceptional- and that extends to the restaurants in Ravello itself. It was nice to have food like octopus and langoustines that you can’t routinely get in the UK but none of the meals we had in Ravello blew us away, they were simply ‘OK’.

Finally, if you’re a couple expecting a quiet, romantic getaway then I’m afraid there are way too many kids holidaying with their parents in this hotel. We booked with Sovereign (Tui) and although their policy is not to allow children aged less than 12, the hotel did not have the same policy.

In summary: Palazzo Sasso is certainly a 5 star hotel in a nice location- but in no way an ‘exceptional’ 5 star hotel. If the weather had been sunny we might have given the hotel a 3.5 out 5 rating on Trip Advisor, but no more than that.

The truth is, if you want spectacular hotel grandeur (and quiet places to relax and unwind), we’d recommend Hotel Quinta da Bela Vista in Funchal, Madeira- although the weather will probably be as variable as Ravello!

If you want a 5 star luxury hotel with flawless Mediterranean sunshine and views to rival Palazzo Sasso, then Hotel Mystique in Santorini, Greece is the clear winner.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJCOFFEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lass from Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Thank you to Antonio, Donato and Marilena for our wonderful wedding day reception. We could not have asked for a more perfect day. You made it all seem easy and nothing was too much trouble. Hope to see you next May, when we will be returning with our friends for a reunion.
Alison and Gordon Steedman

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
752 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Property: Palazzo Avino
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#1 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing