We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAGICAL, CHARMING, ENCHANTING”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MAGICAL, CHARMING, ENCHANTING”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We are eager to share with those of you who value wonderful experiences…Villa Maria
My wife and I have lived in Italy for many years and enjoy getting away once and a while to escape ‘reality.' We discovered Villa Maria some time ago while strolling along one of the many cobblestone paths of Ravello, after a summer concert. Attracted by the beautiful garden terrace, we popped our heads in and were impressed by its character and beauty. Many years later, the memory still lingered, we finally made our reservation and stepped into what has become one our most treasured memories. The experience Villa Maria offers in quality, service, elegance and cuisine is at the level of any top European Relais, but at an affordable price.

Villa Maria is a place suspended in time; a villa devoted to meeting the high standards of an Italian noble family. The current owners, with pride and great effort, successfully preserve this home with its enchanting atmosphere, solid wood banisters, ornate silvers, antique mirrors, amazing antique chandeliers and Vietri tiles, all of a workmanship that today no longer exists. The room numbers are more like #2, or room # 5, not 232 or 541! But you will hear nothing outside beyond soft music and birds in the garden; they have a great regard for their guests’ privacy.

Their staff is young, energetic and respectful; they are available to offer the modern services of the best international getaways, probably without helicopter services, but with the personal touch that makes all the difference. You feel that behind them is the guidance of an experienced, well structured family business and the personalized attention only a family run business can give. You are treated as though you have been invited by a wonderful family as a most prestigious guest, pampered and treated consistently with courtesy, and a desire to make your stay one of great pleasure.

The restaurant merits its own compliments. The cuisine is excellent, above any we have tried in Ravello. The chef is talented; the service superb. It is comparable to the best we’ve experienced on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesuvio32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    112
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
263
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

we were looking for somewhere to stay nr pompeii / versuvius with two of our sons aged 10 and 14. the villa maria is in the beautiful hilltop town of ravello on the amalfi coast. the hotel has magnificent views of the sea and mountains, visible from our rooms, the dining room and outside terrace. the owner and his staff are utterly charming and could not have been more helpful. there is a large kitchen garden next to the hotel that the owner, mr palumbo, showed us with justifiable pride. he picked some fresh fennel and prepared it for us himself as we played chess and enjoyed the view. we will definitely go back. TIP: parking it tricky in ravello, the hotel has a car park but make sure you hire something small as the streets are tight and narrow nearby.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My husband I were married in Ravello and held our reception at Villa Maria. We have returned every 5 years since to celebrate with friends and family. The villa accommodations are wonderful. It is elegant and relaxing- the rooms are beautifully appointed. The kitchen prepares food from the hotels organic garden. We held a party for 30 at the Villa Eva also owned by the gracious host Vincenzo Palumbo. Tina the event planner arranged all of our celebrations, and our friends and family said they felt like royalty.
The food is truly amazing and the warmth and dedication to excellence can not be matched.
It is heaven on Earth- don't miss the music series held at the Rufol gardens.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank xbcqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We spent 4 days at Villa Maria in Ravello and would absolutely recommend it to anyone wanting to get away and relax in sheer elegance. We can't wait to go back. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Ravello is the perfect setting as it sits atop the coast with majestic panoramic views. What we liked best is that Ravello does not attract the throngs of tourists and tour buses that one can find on the rest of the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My wife and I have been fortunate enough to visit Ravello and the Amalfi Coast from time to time over the past 12 years. We always stay at the Villa Maria. The staff is extremely pleasant and courteous and goes out of their way to be helpful. Mr. Palumbo, the owner, is a gracious host and takes pleasure in showing his guests the Villa Maria as well as his other properties, the Villa Eva and the Hotel Giordano. The setting of the Villa Maria is magnificent with views that make dining on the terrace or in the dining room all the more special. The food is wonderful with many of the vegetables grown in the Villa’s own garden. We have always found the rooms clean and bright with beautiful tile and marble. All in all we can’t imagine a trip to Italy without a relaxing stay in Ravello at the Villa Maria.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We were fortunate enough to spend some time in Ravello last summer. The restaurant at Villa Maria was highly recommended so we went there our second night in Ravello with our friends. Walking up the winding stone path we never expected to walk into such a beautiful villa. The restaurant has spectacular views of the water and the coast. The magnificent view however has to compete with the culinary delight. Faabulous, authentic fresh food from the region, presented beautifully and accompanied with delicious wine made the night truly special. We can honestly say it was our best dinner on the Amalfi coast. We are hoping to return to Ravello this summer and Villa Maria will be our first stop. The service was great and we had the added pleasure of meeting Mr. Palumbo who gave us some history of Ravello and Villa Maria. Ravello is a treasure on the Amalfi coast and Villa Maria is a jewel of a find.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Hey guys David Rocco here. I get lots of e-mails asking for recommendations on hotels in Italy so I thought I would post something here too. I have used Villa Maria many times as a location on my show David Rocco's Dolce Vita and have featured recipes from their restaurant in my cookbook. Villa Maria is an absolute MUST if you're going to Ravello as their rooms are gorgeous and have some of the best views in Ravello. The staff is very helpful and welcoming and the food is great. If you're just passing through Ravello definitely stop in for lunch or dinner on their terrace, their food is unmatched in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing