We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful places that I've ever stayed in my life!!!”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Villa Maria is owned by one of the nicest people you will meet in Italy! The Professore as everyone knows him is very friendly and kind and willing to hepl you in any way he can. A very spotless and clean hotel with the most beautiful breathtaking view of the ocean! I was there and it was snowing for the fist time in many years and then the sun came out and it was glorious! Would stay here every time I come to Italy!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for only three days and it was magic. The hotel was comfortable the restaurant spectacular and the staff excellent. Ravello was lovely and the Villa Cimbrone is well worth a visit and we'll be returning as soon as possible.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

we loved our trip to Ravello and had an amazing time at the hotel. The room was fantastic. The restaurant was the best meal we had in Italy and the staff were 100% courteous, helpful and accommodating. We are already planning our trip for next year and cant wait to stay for a longer time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The absolute highlight of our recent trip to Italy was a day spent in Ravello at the Hotel Giordano & Villa Maria Cooking School. Our host/owner and his chef Vincenzo could not have been more charming in showing us the many aspects of their beautiful location. Never mind that the day in mid-September was overcast & somewhat drizzly. Vincenzo showed us fresh organic tomatoes in the canning process, we sniffed the fabulous aroma of homemade limoncello in the works, & he had a wonderful lunch menu for 6 planned especially for us. But the real fun was in the cooking! Vincenzo was organized & knowledgeable in his preparation, he was gracious & entertaining in managing 6 mediocre home cooks & we had a bundle of fun -in addition to a really delicious meal. It truly was the best memory of our entire trip. Thank you CinCin & Vincenzo! Michael & Ann

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We were there for 6 nights. The people were lovely. The owner is very proud of everyone who works there and his heritage. All the food is from their own organic garden and orchard. The views are amazing. The little boutique while expensive stocks items worth looking over and the boutique assistant is ver y nice, even opening it specially for us. That's the good....
The not so good...it's way too high and steep climb to it. The beds are very hard and after six nights we were exhausted. However what really irked my husband and me was being charged for tea which we had to room service because there were no tea making facilities in the room. Maybe it's an Italian thing?
Overall a pleasant experience. Would we stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Fresh organic vegetables and herbs from the Villa's garden, hot skillets and fragrance of garlic, prawns, peppers, all in the summer kitchen. The torrential rain poured off the roof, and Chef charmed the five of us with his patience, knowledge, and expertise of all things local, followed by a desert of the most amazing cloud of arancio creme. A most perfect experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CapeCodPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at the Villa Maria for 7 nights it was a great experience. The staff were helpful and very welcoming. While staying there we attended the cooking school. It was the highlight of our trip. If you have the opportunity to go to the cooking school we highly recommend it.
The hotel is a great place to stay with great views and great breakfast.

Room Tip: 12ibis had a great view of the sea. Its has great natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaT60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.3 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £130 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing